We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“If the price is right, it's worth considering” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Pythagorion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Pythagorion Hotel
Ranked #63 of 337 Hotels in Athens
San Diego, CA, USA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“If the price is right, it's worth considering”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed here one night in October, paying about 30% of what we had paid for a night at a different hotel (Athens Gate) at the start of our trip. Yes, you get less here in terms of the view and the state of the accommodations and, especially, in terms of the breakfast. But do you get 70% less? No way. Our room here was functional and pretty pleasant, and the location is still pretty darn central and is convenient to the Metro as well. Overall, not a bad night's sleep at all. It offers you a different view of Athens, a very central, somewhat gritty city view of Athens, so it makes for a contrast from the more touristy Plaka district. The difference might help round out impressions of Athens for you.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    200
    111
    29
    13
See reviews for
91
201
47
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Due to the transit strikes, I arrived late in the evening. Kostas was very helpful at the front desk. The room was great, although I had a room facing a back alley - not really scenic but at least very quiet. The three key elements that I look for in a hotel were met: plenty of hot water, strong wifi signal and good beds. When the wifi signal dropped off a couple of days into my stay, the front desk relocated me on the top floor with a large patio and a nice view of the Acropolis.

The rooms were spacious, clean and up to date.

Breakfast was quite good with meats, cheeses, yogurt and honey, eggs, juice toasts and coffee.

Geographically, the location is good but you must keep your wits about you when walking especially at night in the area. Although the area is well lit, I did witness a purse snatching in the square across the street and drug use is frequent and open. Not to worry though, because the hotel seemed very secure. There is a police station just up the street, but that seems to have little impact.

A 20 minute walk from the hotel, down Athina street takes you to the Acropolis through a very vibrant area.

Room Tip: Seventh floor has the strongest wifi signal - I walked around with my netbook checking out the floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dcm997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

Glad we only stayed in Athens for two nights. We were warned by multiple taxi drivers that we should not walk around the hotel's neighboring streets after dark. One driver even pointed to the street adjacent to the hotel and said "many drugs over there." The hotel itself is average, our room just fit us three slim girls with luggage. This seems on par with other hotels in Europe that I've stayed in. On the plus side, the bathroom looked new and clean and we had a small balcony. If you choose to walk to the Plaka area, its only like 15 minutes (even in the daytime, we were nervous when we accidentally stumbled onto the side streets). The breakfast was almost a waste of time- yogurt, bread, cheese, olives, sad looking french toast. The reception desk was minimally helpful regarding alternative transit options during the strike. Overall, it did its job as a hotel but don't expect too much.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lc913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
62 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Overall, a good value.

Pros: Rooms were clean, with in-room safe. Basic breakfast (yogurt, fruit, breads, cold cuts, cheese, olives (!), and minimal hot food (French toast, sausages). 5 minute slightly uphill walk to Omonia metro. An additional 10 minutes to excellent National Archaeological Museum. Front desk can book tours (recommend all day cruise to Hydra, Poros, Aegina for 99 euro inc. lunch). Had room in the back, so no view to speak of, but quiet. In-room wifi worked well. There are also 2 computers / 1 printer in the lobby for guest use.

Cons: Shower was weird as it was mounted on the side wall, so pointed towards the floor (!) Area surrounding is not the best, but there were always people and traffic, so never felt unsafe, even returning at night. There are depressed (read: druggie) areas all over Athens (check out the very open drug area right next to the National Archaeological Museum!), so the Omonia area was not really a problem.

Omonia metro has lots of exits. Make sure to wander around until you find the Konstantinou exit. Otherwise, when you exit, take the street that has Hondos Department Store on the right and Zara to the left, walk downhill about 5 minutes, past the National Theatre (not widely used, so many ppl didn't know it as a landmark). Metro from airport is 8 euro and requires one change of train. If arriving during non-peak hours, it's doable. Otherwise, take the Express Bus to Syntagma and a cab from there (it's 1.5km) to avoid schlepping luggage through the metro.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jt10s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I rate this Hotel as very good as the Hotel itself is very good. We only stayed 1 night but we were immediately impressed with the Hotel. Our room was huge and well equipped and we instantly really liked it. The Hotel itself is fantastic, and its extremely unfair to the Hotel that its not in a nice area. Although it's location is handy as its close to the metro to get you easily to all the things you need to see in Athens, it seems all the peasants of society hang out in this area which makes it feel a bit dodgy. We didn't feel unsafe as such but we could tell we had hit the dodgy end of town and this opinion is shared by others we spoke to and overheard on the Metro.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Puppiespaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

During our stay, the staff were very helpful. It was very convenient in terms of location. the subway was withing walking distance and whatever you ask to the staff members, they are ready to give the information you are looking for. the balcony was good as well. The car park close to the hotel, called "silk oil" was also good because all the workers there were very friendly, too. The price for such a place was very reasonable as well.

Room Tip: the room is large and there is free internet access; the balcony offers an opportunity to get some f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank triadpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
157 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

My travel agent booked this hotel with a transfer thru Delta travel. The transfer was not there. I saw a guy from same company and he called. They had no idea about me. I had a voucher. 2 hrs later. The hotel is in a area that I could see activity that is not in the best interest of tourist. I saw drug buying activity up the street from hotel. A lady had her purse ripped off. They sneak up from behind and grab. This place was close to a center with a lot of stores and rest and Metro. I used Metro to get to Acropolis and other areas. I was warned of pickpockets on Metro. I did not use during rush hour. Hotel offers free internet service as others have mentioned. The lady during the day was very helpful in offering suggestions to you. I had a inside room so no view.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hrcalso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Exarchia
BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel
BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel
#52 of 337 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 748 reviews
Victory Inn
#25 of 337 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Katerina Hotel
#33 of 337 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrotel Hotel
#22 of 337 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 1,097 reviews
Marina Hotel Athens
#80 of 337 in Athens
3.5 of 5 stars 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Pythagorion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Pythagorion Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Pythagorion Hotel
Address: 28 Agiou Konstadinou, Athens 104 37, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#54 Family Hotel in Athens
#60 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Pythagorion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your BEST WESTERN Pythagorion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Athens
Athens Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing