We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“I liked it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Pythagorion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Pythagorion Hotel
Ranked #61 of 335 Hotels in Athens
London, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“I liked it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Due to the transit strikes, I arrived late in the evening. Kostas was very helpful at the front desk. The room was great, although I had a room facing a back alley - not really scenic but at least very quiet. The three key elements that I look for in a hotel were met: plenty of hot water, strong wifi signal and good beds. When the wifi signal dropped off a couple of days into my stay, the front desk relocated me on the top floor with a large patio and a nice view of the Acropolis.

The rooms were spacious, clean and up to date.

Breakfast was quite good with meats, cheeses, yogurt and honey, eggs, juice toasts and coffee.

Geographically, the location is good but you must keep your wits about you when walking especially at night in the area. Although the area is well lit, I did witness a purse snatching in the square across the street and drug use is frequent and open. Not to worry though, because the hotel seemed very secure. There is a police station just up the street, but that seems to have little impact.

A 20 minute walk from the hotel, down Athina street takes you to the Acropolis through a very vibrant area.

Room Tip: Seventh floor has the strongest wifi signal - I walked around with my netbook checking out the floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dcm997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    196
    107
    27
    13
See reviews for
90
194
46
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

Glad we only stayed in Athens for two nights. We were warned by multiple taxi drivers that we should not walk around the hotel's neighboring streets after dark. One driver even pointed to the street adjacent to the hotel and said "many drugs over there." The hotel itself is average, our room just fit us three slim girls with luggage. This seems on par with other hotels in Europe that I've stayed in. On the plus side, the bathroom looked new and clean and we had a small balcony. If you choose to walk to the Plaka area, its only like 15 minutes (even in the daytime, we were nervous when we accidentally stumbled onto the side streets). The breakfast was almost a waste of time- yogurt, bread, cheese, olives, sad looking french toast. The reception desk was minimally helpful regarding alternative transit options during the strike. Overall, it did its job as a hotel but don't expect too much.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lc913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
62 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Overall, a good value.

Pros: Rooms were clean, with in-room safe. Basic breakfast (yogurt, fruit, breads, cold cuts, cheese, olives (!), and minimal hot food (French toast, sausages). 5 minute slightly uphill walk to Omonia metro. An additional 10 minutes to excellent National Archaeological Museum. Front desk can book tours (recommend all day cruise to Hydra, Poros, Aegina for 99 euro inc. lunch). Had room in the back, so no view to speak of, but quiet. In-room wifi worked well. There are also 2 computers / 1 printer in the lobby for guest use.

Cons: Shower was weird as it was mounted on the side wall, so pointed towards the floor (!) Area surrounding is not the best, but there were always people and traffic, so never felt unsafe, even returning at night. There are depressed (read: druggie) areas all over Athens (check out the very open drug area right next to the National Archaeological Museum!), so the Omonia area was not really a problem.

Omonia metro has lots of exits. Make sure to wander around until you find the Konstantinou exit. Otherwise, when you exit, take the street that has Hondos Department Store on the right and Zara to the left, walk downhill about 5 minutes, past the National Theatre (not widely used, so many ppl didn't know it as a landmark). Metro from airport is 8 euro and requires one change of train. If arriving during non-peak hours, it's doable. Otherwise, take the Express Bus to Syntagma and a cab from there (it's 1.5km) to avoid schlepping luggage through the metro.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jt10s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I rate this Hotel as very good as the Hotel itself is very good. We only stayed 1 night but we were immediately impressed with the Hotel. Our room was huge and well equipped and we instantly really liked it. The Hotel itself is fantastic, and its extremely unfair to the Hotel that its not in a nice area. Although it's location is handy as its close to the metro to get you easily to all the things you need to see in Athens, it seems all the peasants of society hang out in this area which makes it feel a bit dodgy. We didn't feel unsafe as such but we could tell we had hit the dodgy end of town and this opinion is shared by others we spoke to and overheard on the Metro.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Puppiespaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

During our stay, the staff were very helpful. It was very convenient in terms of location. the subway was withing walking distance and whatever you ask to the staff members, they are ready to give the information you are looking for. the balcony was good as well. The car park close to the hotel, called "silk oil" was also good because all the workers there were very friendly, too. The price for such a place was very reasonable as well.

Room Tip: the room is large and there is free internet access; the balcony offers an opportunity to get some f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank triadpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
157 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

My travel agent booked this hotel with a transfer thru Delta travel. The transfer was not there. I saw a guy from same company and he called. They had no idea about me. I had a voucher. 2 hrs later. The hotel is in a area that I could see activity that is not in the best interest of tourist. I saw drug buying activity up the street from hotel. A lady had her purse ripped off. They sneak up from behind and grab. This place was close to a center with a lot of stores and rest and Metro. I used Metro to get to Acropolis and other areas. I was warned of pickpockets on Metro. I did not use during rush hour. Hotel offers free internet service as others have mentioned. The lady during the day was very helpful in offering suggestions to you. I had a inside room so no view.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hrcalso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

As a solo female traveler in Athens, I can not speak more highly of this hotel. First of all, it was clean in terms of room (which had a balcony), lobby, staircases, elevator, and breakfast room. The free use of computers and printer in the lobby, was a huge bonus (many hotels charge up to 4 Euros per 30 min, which is outrageous). The reception staff was 100% helpful and friendly. They went out of their way to find maps, make phone calls and provide information about getting around in the city and even outside of the city. My trip to a beach in Sounioun was simple and enjoyable due to this help in providing information. For the most part, one can save money by being able to walk to the Acropolis and surrounding areas of tourist interest and not have to take transit and get a fabulous workout, while doing so. Plus, you can see and stumble upon so much more when you walk. However, if walking is an issue, the Ommonia metro station is a 5 min. walk and takes you right to the areas of interest. And yes, it is true what they say about the neighbourhood, which extends down Athina street toward Monastiraki, there are some very "interesting" and sometimes creepy men wandering the streets in the evening, but I walked alone, and at night too. If you avoid interaction or eye contact with these individuals and keep a strong, fearless attitude, you will be just fine, it's really no different than any other major city and some of its neighbourhoods. And as for pick pockets, well they are found in just about every major city in the world, so once again, being vigilant is all that it takes really. The one thing that I can definitely comment on, is the prices. The prices in Greece on everything (except gas) are really reasonable compared to other Euro countries and meals, shopping, and transit were very inexpensive. People in Athens in general were friendly, helpful, and many spoke English. The restaurant service was exceptional compared to other places I visited. There is so much to see in the Acropolis area alone, that my 6 day stay could easily have been extended. Plus, whether on foot, or by transit, reaching other nearby areas of interest were easily accessible from the hotel. In general, going with the idea that nothing is perfect, nor does it need to be, the slow elevator, or the non-frigid A/C in the room, were really of little consequence in the grand scheme of things, unless you were planning to spend your day in the actual hotel room IN ATHENS!!! But who does that??? Anyway, I do highly recommend this very reasonably-priced, friendly hotel for its location, cleanliness and amenities and would stay there again in a heartbeat. Thank you staff for your help in making my visit a memorable one. One happy visitor from Canada :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Exarchia
BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel
BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel
#57 of 335 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 702 reviews
Victory Inn
#22 of 335 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Centrotel Hotel
#18 of 335 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Katerina Hotel
#32 of 335 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 361 reviews
Marina Hotel Athens
#82 of 335 in Athens
3.5 of 5 stars 394 reviews
Evripides Hotel
#55 of 335 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Pythagorion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Pythagorion Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Pythagorion Hotel
Address: 28 Agiou Konstadinou, Athens 104 37, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#54 Family Hotel in Athens
#60 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Pythagorion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Pythagorion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Athens
Athens Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing