We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are always trade offs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Pythagorion Hotel
Ranked #72 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Saratoga Springs, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“There are always trade offs”
Reviewed July 27, 2011

This is one of those properties that you get what you pay for. Since we weren't intending to spend time in a hotel, it fit the basic basics of a place to stay. Some background to consider: The air conditioning was pretty pitiful, the room looked on another building that was in pretty poor shape, the elevator was sporadic. Staff certainly tried hard to please the guests. Especially liked having the business center so we could print out boarding passes. The neighborhood this is located in is definitely in transition. By day, it seems just okay. Later afternoon & evening, it can creep you out with the type of people who are populating the general Omonia Square area. While a free breakfast is offered, it is the type associated with packaged tours, not the customized, homemade fare you'll find around the country.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dapinca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    240
    134
    32
    16
See reviews for
112
237
59
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

If you can look pass what the outside neighborhood look like, then you shouldn't have any problems with this hotel. Every last one of there receptionist was wonderful and knowledgable on any info you needed to know. They where very helpful on anything you needed. We stayed a full week in that hotel only thing they need to work on is the breakfast, not really good selection. Compared to other hotels we stayed while traveling, we where a little disappointed.

Hotel has good location for the metro and laundry service around corner.

When we arrive to the Hotel i had to ask the receptionist to speak w/cab driver that didnt speak english, that he was trying to gouge us for money. The receptionist spoke with cab driver, words where going back and forth, i couldnt understand but cab driver walked out with money he orginally asked for. Just wish hotel was in a better neighborhood.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony room, its for smokers, but if you don't mind then ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LGriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

I traveled to Greece solo (female) this past month and chose this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews. I was not disappointed at all. The room was very clean, bed comfortable, and the front desk staff was very helpful. Most importantly, my 3am wakeup call was on time. My room was located on the 2nd floor (used a very small elevator) and faced an ally (was very quiet). I didn't hear any noises from other rooms. I was in the hotel before dusk so I coudn't comment on whether the area seemed unsafe during the night. I had no problems exploring the area during the day and was given great advice on where to eat. This is great value for money and seemed centrally located to everything (I literally walked everywhere). There are free computers to use in the lobby and you can even print boarding passes. I think if you bring your own computer and wire, it's available in the room (I didn't travel with a computer). The hotel is a definate recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dxbwxgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

I like Best Westerns in Europe they are almost always decent, this one was no exception.
We arrived at 9 a.m. and front desk made no bones about giving us a room straight away. We were only here for one night to connect with a flight from the islands, and although the hotel was nice, my apologies if I offend anyone by this, but Athens was the armpitt of Europe!
Front desk asked what we wanted to do today and then referenced maps and spots to eat. The room was clean and smelled fresh. Had a little fridge, extra linens, soaps etc... Breakfast room was big and had great breakfast for a European standard, since generally it's a quick croissant on the go. The hallways were clean too. We had a balcony and could see the street below. The web site tells you the hotel has a shuttle but it doesn't.
A few things about Athens for your info. There is a flat rate fee from the airport in any taxi of 35 euro one way. On the way back the driver we had tried to rip us off by 10 euro, b/c we talked prices before getting in, my husband ran back into the hotel to double check this, sure enough, it should have been only 35 and the taxi driver, tried to make it like he made an error with his english. He spoke better english than my husband! Lesson is agree prices before you go anywhere! You could take the metro from the airport too, but we were a little concerned about being robbed, every web site we read before leaving suggested to be concerned about pickpockets and thieves.
We met a lady in the lobby who told us she saw three people robbed the day before and warned about leaving all your valuables in the safe in the hotel. She was right. Leave everything you have in the hotel safe, passport, necklace, earings, put your camera in your pocket, take a credit card with you in your pocket, put some small cash into your pocket and be aware if you are in a crowd. My husband is a police officer and although we still enjoyed the sights, he said there's nothing wrong with being proactively safe! We too saw people robbed, one dude rode off down a crowded market street on his motorbike with a ladies purse! Incredible really. It was a dirty city too, nothing clean except for the monuments and ruins. If it wasn't a monument of some sort, it was defaced by grafiti and filth. Really quite unfortunate. The taxi driver who took us to the hotel said that the hotel was a good one but the area was not and that if we needed to go anywhere at night time to take a taxi door to door and not to walk. He said to be careful. Add his warnings to that of what we had already read and that of the lady in the hotel, we thought great where have we come!
We are actually glad that we put Athens on our map for a night for our connection becasue now we will not waste time here on our next trip to Europe as we know what to expect.
Good hotel, bad area

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellashella38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

This hotel is worth the money though its only 3 stars. Very nice reception and chris if i'm not mistaken, the evening receptionist is very very helpful and friendly. Would like to be back at this hotel. Great breakfast. Very nice Greek yogurt. Close to the metro omonia staion, strategic place in central athens.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shane90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Rooms were very clean and everything was in working order. Not fancy, very simple outdated decor, however, the price reflected this as well. Staff was extremely friendly and polite. breakfast was nothing fancy, but served it purpose. If you are not used to city living, the area in which the hotel is can be somewhat shaddy at night ( after 11pm)

Room Tip: you can try to bargain with the hotel rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debthedriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Station
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

I would recommend this hotel, but, the signal for wifi in room was too weak, had to use their lobby, or use their PC (others also used it). Nice clean room, breakfast good, comfortable beds, tiny showers but nice hot water, nothing fancy. Neighborhood OK, would not want to walk around at night by myself but daytime fine, reminds me of NYC, or Seattle neighborhoods. Staff was helpful, our room had no view but at least 2 windows for some fresh air. We did a walking tour and the h op on hop off bus tour, nice for kids. The hotel was nice and quiet. Nice place to crash after touring around all day.

Room Tip: maybe as k them for a nice view?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3rtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pythagorion, Manager at Best Western Pythagorion Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for your nice comments following your recent stay at the Best Western Pythagorion Hotel.

We value our guests’ comments and feedback since they give us the opportunity to improve our services.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by the room wifi connection.

We were exceptionally experiencing technical problems with the internet service provider and the technical team of our hotel was constantly working 48hours on it trying to find an alternative.

The wifi internet connection apart from the fact that it is provided free of charge is something that most of our guests actually commend us on for its speed.
Our hotels were among the first in Athens offering wi-fi high speed connection on complimentary basis.

In rare cases of technical problems we still offer internet corner connection and another wifi access in the lobby area in our effort to accomodate the needs of our geusts.
Unfortunately, the damage caused at the room wifi the specific period was not depended only on our control and this is the reason why it wasn't immediately fixed.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip advisor and we do hope to see you again in our hotel meanwhile, we remain at your full service and disposal.

Sincerely,

Emmanuel Kardamis
Reservation Manager
BEST WESTERN Pythagorion Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Exarchia
Best Western Museum Hotel
Best Western Museum Hotel
#60 of 326 in Athens
878 reviews
Katerina Hotel
#35 of 326 in Athens
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Hotel Athens
#86 of 326 in Athens
615 reviews
Victory Inn
#43 of 326 in Athens
297 reviews
Delphi Art Hotel
#87 of 326 in Athens
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pythagorion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pythagorion Hotel

Property: Best Western Pythagorion Hotel
Address: 28 Agiou Konstandinou Street, Athens 104 37, Greece (Formerly BEST WESTERN Pythagorion Hotel)
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#54 Family Hotel in Athens
#60 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Pythagorion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Best Western Pythagorion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Athens
Athens Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing