We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, convienent, affordable, clean, value for $”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Museum Hotel
Ranked #62 of 326 Hotels in Athens
tjackroselea
1 review
“Friendly, convienent, affordable, clean, value for $”
Reviewed August 30, 2009

The staff was excellent gave lots of information not on brochures. The breakfast was fantastic and included in the price of the room which not realizing it until then is a big bonus for the hotel and our pocket book. Not far from underground transportation that brings you to all the sights you want to see. If you are looking for a budget hotel that is clean and friendly then this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjackroselea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    410
    185
    30
    18
See reviews for
243
288
83
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio, USA
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2009

I want to send my deepest thanks for our nine night stay at your hotel. I can't praise this hotel and its staff enough. When my travel partner said pick anywhere in the world you want to go and I'll go, I ultimately decided on the birthplace of many events. We chose your hotel because it was a piece of home set in the most ancient of surroundings, without being too close to the city. To our delight we chose the right hotel.
Let me be more specific: the breakfast was well catered and looked after by the staff no matter what time travelers decided to wake, the front desk was super friendly and very insightful with maps/directions, the rooms were always clean with fresh towels, and no matter how demanding I was during my stay everything was taken care of by the front desk. When I asked for a fork, one was brought to me and when I was hungry at 4 o'clock when my travel partner wanted a late dinner, I was given an apple even when the kitchen was closed. I found these requests met with charm and service not found in other hotels. I especially appreciated George and Vasilis for their duty and work professionalism. Furthermore, Vasilis helped us confirm a hotel when we visited Santorini which was great peace of mind. And George, especially, is the best kept secret at your hotel, never missing a beat and utterly repeating himself to two Americans who knew where nothing was. On top of all the service, I felt very safe with the officers outside the hotel especially when I would run early in the morning. Having a park nearby was also a plus.
I have and will continue to tell friends and family about your hotel. My parents are going to Italy soon and wish to visit Greece, of which, I'm sure they will stay at your hotel.
Thanks again for such a wonderful and peaceful stay in such a busy city. We love Greece!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2009

Hotel is in a residential area. Make sure to follow the directions from the hotel to get there. If the Metro line is running from the airport, use it. Also the trolley looks like a bus that is attached to cables. Don't take the tram which looks a little like a bullet train. The free internet was nice. The breakfast was fine. The room was clean. The shower was small even for small people. Staff was polite. The Metro is about a 10 minute walk away.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Tx
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2009

In a city, hotels tend to be small and simple. This is no exception. The rooms are clean, breakfast was fine, staff was friendly. They have computers on site to use, which is nice if you need to make last minute plans.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2009

Room was spacious for 3, very clean From time to time you could hear other guests from the next room.

Breakfast was basic, so we had to eat the same food for 2 weeks.
Distant to the metro system was far, 20 minutes walk and along the way, there are some drug addicts or sex workers. Not safe for kids.

The hotel itself is good but location wise is bad.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mollycoddled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2009

I have stayed in this hotel many times during the last 4 years during trips to Athens. Great service, convenient location, decent breakfast for a 3 star hotel, and free internet. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeverendingVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2009

My husband and I, along with my brother and his wife, had a most enjoyable stay at this hotel from May 4 to 8. Because we were members of CAA we got a nice discout when we made the reservations on the Internet.

About those Internet reservations, make sure that you got the correct hotel name because there are 3 hotels under the same management and you can easily reserve for Zinon thinking that you got Museum. Because what is you see as pictures (or was like that in April when we made the reservations) are the Museum ones under Zinon name. Any way, we were lucky, because begining May the hotels were empty and we were able to correct our mistake and get two rooms into the lovely Museum, not without the help of all personnel of Best Western and the Manager. For what we are greately in debt!

Our stay was between the manifestations in Athens this spring, and the police was stationned near the hotel. But this was to our advantage because they were very friendly and helped us with the parking each evening. Otherwise, parking the car is a problem, the hotel does not have a private parking.

But what is most important for the hotel: the clean and nicely arranged rooms, the full equipped bathroom with hair blower and close-up mirror. We also used the free safe located in the room to keep the pasports and the extra money. You get also free wireless Internet in all rooms. So bring your iPod, laptop or smartphone.

The location of the hotel is behind the Museum of Archeology, a must when visiting Athens, what with the Agamemnon Thesaurus and the marvelous kuroii statues.

For those willing, there is a public bus station of the left side of the museum, where you can, for 5euros/person, go on the tour in Athens. You can get down at any important site during the tour, visit the site, go back to the bus station and continue the tour with the next bus. The ticket is good for 24 hours, so if you get on the 12 am bus, you can use the ticket next morning to finish the visit.

For those willing to walk, you have the Academia, the University and the Museum Schliman at 15 min distance.

The buffet at breakfast is more that the average, but you can go for all meals to a street near by for any kind of restaurant, cafee shop, desert shop, all with terasse and a marvelous ambiance. Just ask the hotel receptionist and he will be only happy to direct you.

The hotel also has a nice waiting area, with quiet tables and chairs were you can seat and plan the next trip with your friends and familly, while drinking orange jus or a coffee.

All in all, you cannot have a better quality/cost ratio than staying at Best Westen Museum while you are in Athens. ENJOY!

Tatiana and family

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dortat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Centrotel Hotel
#25 of 326 in Athens
1,180 reviews
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#26 of 326 in Athens
608 reviews
Victory Inn
#49 of 326 in Athens
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Katerina Hotel
#36 of 326 in Athens
471 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#31 of 326 in Athens
1,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Museum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Museum Hotel

Property: Best Western Museum Hotel
Address: 16, Bouboulinas Str, Athens 106 82, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Exarchia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#40 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Museum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Museum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Athens
Best Western Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing