We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll repeat!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Museum Hotel
Ranked #58 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Getafe, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We'll repeat!”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

At 10-15 minutes walk from the touristic area. It's not located in the finest streets of Athens but we had no sense of insecurity and the hotel is excellent!. Large and clean rooms. Correct breakfast. Very attentive staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    392
    177
    28
    17
See reviews for
227
279
79
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Positives First. The hotel was clean and the front desk helpful. Welcomed us on our honeymoon with a bottle of champagne in the room (though I had no note so had to go down and clarify if it was a gift or if we would be charged). Behind the National Arch Museum, so conveniently located to bust stops and restaurants. The lively area of Exharia is a few blocks up and is full of dining and drinking choices. About 800 meters from Omonia Square, so well connected.
The room by itself was okay, clean but small (which seems to be the phenomenon across Greece). Bathroom was a good size and so was the balcony. Toilteries were good. Breakfast was really good and had plenty of options, but note that if you are staying more than three days it can get repetitive.

A note about the area. Its not the plaCe to feel the safest, feels a little run-down and ghettoish at times. Its not very well lit and doesnt have the best crowd. Exharia is a big drug ghetto and at night hundreds of college kids and other drug users get together here. Would not advise this location for families and people with small kids.The hotel by itself is quite secure, but its the area which could have people worried

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor, you will feel safer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lavanya83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

The hotel is conveniently located on the street adjacent to the National Archaeological Museum. The rooms were nice and the staff was very attentive. However please note that an extra bed in the triple sharing option is a sofa bed. They have a free 24 hr orange juice service which was an added bonus after a long day of walking. There a lot of eating joints nearby for a relaxed evening out.The nearest major metro is almost a 10-15 mins walk from the hotel but you can take a bus to it. The breakfast provided is good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viaggia2ree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Large family room and bathroom. Couldn't get the air con to work so I don't know who comfortable it would be in the heat of the summer. Staff "George" at the front desk was very helpful. Clean and tidy. Breakfast nothing to write home about.

Perfect location for the museum and also the "Hop On/Hop Off" buses that are around.

We arrived in the early evening and walked around Athens and walked to the Old Town and saw the Parthenon at night (about a 20 min. walk). Felt safe.

Room Tip: We stayed in the newer part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DualCitizenTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Overall this hotel is a value for money choice. A really nice centre Hotel. With a nice neighbourhood that lets you see Athens inside out. i recommend this hotel either for couples, friends or family. i travelled as a business traveller and the free WiFi was better than my expectation. Super.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Quite disappointed with the hotel. Firstly I was shocked at how ghetto the area was where myself and my partner did not feel safe. And judging by the pictures on the site would never think the area was so run down. Our door kept jamming making it difficult to open and in the likelihood of a fire that would not have been good. The room smelt old and dusty. There was a drain in the bathroom making the whole room smell. Plus on my last day there I got bitten quite badly by mosquitos, so really they should have mosquito nets put up. I guess the only I good thing I could comment on was the breakfast which was decent. Will not plan to stay there again :(

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pythagorion, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Best Western Museum Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

We have read with great concern your comments following your stay at Best Western Museum.

Your feedback and suggestions are very much appreciated since they are the main factors that our service planning is based on in our daily effort to achieve good quality services.
Since your review is anonymous we cannot locate at which room you stayed at in order to check the malfunctions you are describing.

We are indeed surprised of what you have written because the cleanliness of our rooms is something that our guests commend us about with very flattering words. At the reception we provide anti mosquito repellents and if you have asked for one we would have definitely delivered one in your room.

Since we give serious consideration to constructive suggestions that enable us to review our services we would be pleased to hear from you directly in order to discuss these comments in greater detail . Please contact us at sales@hotelsofathens.com

Further to the hotel location that you are referring to we would like to inform you that:

The hotel is about a 10-minute walk from Omonia Square metro stop in the very center of Athens. The area isn’t a ghetto and it is very safe.

It is a residential and working class neighbourhood with lots of inexpensive restaurants, cafes, shops and a lively cafe life at the Exarchia Sq. nearby.

The area is also occupied by students and academics due to the proximity of the Polytechnic University.

The hotel is just around the corner from the most important Museum of Greece : the National Archaeological Museum and a next to the Ministry of Culture.


Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and we remain at your full service and disposal.

Sincerely,
Korahai Margarita
Reservation Manager
BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Hotel was easy to get to once we arrived at the airport. I travelled with my mum who is over 60 and the hotel is in a great location central to all the sights in Athens. We stayed for 6 nights and also had B-fast included which was excellent as well as a lot of choice. Hotel staff were helpful and also helped us book all our excursions from the hotel. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 823Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Centrotel Hotel
#25 of 326 in Athens
1,166 reviews
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#26 of 326 in Athens
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victory Inn
#33 of 326 in Athens
291 reviews
Katerina Hotel
#36 of 326 in Athens
446 reviews
Athens Lotus Hotel
#52 of 326 in Athens
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Museum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Museum Hotel

Property: Best Western Museum Hotel
Address: 16, Bouboulinas Str, Athens 106 82, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Exarchia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#40 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Museum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Bookgreece.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Museum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Athens
Best Western Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing