We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel
Ranked #52 of 325 Hotels in Athens
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

The hotel is a 20 minutes walk to the centre, the plaka ,stop by Christianos for fantastic cakes and coffee. A taxi costs 5 euro to anywhere in athens, the area is quite safe, there is graffiti all over athens, so not to worry. The rooms are a good size, there was a small balcony but no views, athens is very crowded, the shower had good power, there was a safe , tv, a sofa and a desk, the air con was just ok. I could not get internet in the bedrooms, but very good in the bar area and the breakfast area. The room was spotlessly cleaned daily with clean towels.
Turn right at the hotel walk 10 minutes you are in Alexandra avenue, there is a large park, and turn left for the buses to the temple of Poseidon,costs 6.30 takes 2hours, don't do the tour.
The receptionists were the best, so helpful . Breakfast had the usual suspects, but the orange juice was really bad.( if the manager is reading this, would you drink it!!)
Excellent choice for the. Money.

Room Tip: The rooms to the front have the large balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank josepht305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    376
    171
    27
    14
See reviews for
216
271
73
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

The Hotel is located nearest to the National Archaeological Museum of Athens, in a narrow, quiet street. The personal is extremely friendly and helps to carry the luggage. The hotel has two elevators (not every Best Western has elevators, see London Chiswick). You have a special room with computers in the lowest floor, but also free WiFi in all rooms. Our room in one of the higher floors was not very large, but the sleeping quality of the bed magnificent. The breakfast is abundant. The cost-benefit-ratio is okay, and you find a parking garage nearby with a discount for hotel guests.

Room Tip: Ask the hotel management directly by mail as long as possible in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guenther H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire uk
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed twice in sept, start &finish of our holiday, first visit we had a lovely room on the 6th floor with a very large balcony and in hindsight wish we reserved it for our return visit two weeks later as room on return was a lot smaller and no real balcony just got a chair on it , bar that everything else very good, breakfast was more than expected and all fresh and plentiful.I must comment 're the staff the reception staff were all very helpful and polite and gave, us good advice 're taxis and sightseeing and local restaurants., and also the staff were most helpful in helping us to sort out online check in for our return flight home.would stay again in we visit athens again.

Room Tip: 6th floor front of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank duckiederby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here while in beautiful Athens and the hotel was fine. The air conditioning worked great which was important in July. My only complaint was the distance of the walk to the nearest metro station. It was probably about 10 blocks away. Overall it was OK for the amount it cost!

Room Tip: Triple room had plenty of space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RandyN6415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

On one of my business trips in Sept 2013 took up a room in Best Western Museum Hotel in Athens. The hotel is located near the central area of Athens & is about 10 min walk from the Omonia metro station. However the area isn't great to walk around alone specially after evening hours. The rooms are very small & service quality is poor. Breakfast wasn't great either. The check in was smooth & they guy at front desk was very helpful. Not for lone women travellers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank SumitChhajer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pythagorion, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip advisor. We value our guests’ feedback because is the main factor that our service planning is based on in our continuous effort to achieve good quality services.
I would like to apologize if we did not meet your expectations.

In reference to your comments I would like to inform you that:

We are indeed sorry and surprised to learn that you found our breakfast inadequate.
Most of our guests actually commend us on the freshness and variety of our breakfast buffet which is served fresh every morning and consists of :
Milk, filter coffee, tea in different tastes, various herbs, hot chocolate, meat slices (2 kinds) bacon, sausages, cheese slices, 2 kinds of juice, mini croissants , tomatoes & cucumber slices, boiled eggs, omelet, toast bread, 2 kinds of bread (rye and normal) , cereals ( 3 kinds), chocolate praline spread in portions, butter in portions, preserved fruit ( peach).

We are cooperating also at the promotion of the Greek breakfast campaign and we offer in addition :
Seasonal fruits, traditional feta cheese, Greek fresh yogurt , Greek green & black olives , mini cheese pies, traditional jam from Peloponnese region( 3 tastes- strawberry, apricot , apple) , Greek preserved sweets (2 tastes- grape and sour cherry), traditional pure honey from Peloponnese region ( plain and with saffron) , tsoureki ( sweet Greek bread).

We would highly appreciate it if you could suggest us according to the stars of our hotel and the rate paid what we could offer in addition in order to have your expectations met.

Our single rooms vary from 12 – 14 sq. metres according to the Tourist law in reference to the three star hotels.

Further to the area of the hotel it is not on a busy street and that might have caused you feeling of insecure.
But the area is safe and is considered like a working – class neighborhood with inexpensive good quality tavernas & cafes around. The Polytechnical University and the National Archaeological Museum is right across the street as well as the Ministry of Culture.

We thank you again for sharing your comments and we remain at your full service and disposal at any time.

With best regards,
Korahai Margarita
Best Western Hotel Museum***
Tel.: + 30 210 3805611
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel was an oasis for me after a hard trip. Everything worked: wifi in the room, hot water, TV. Room and bathroom spotlessly clean and quite nice. Breakfast was very varied, with cereal, vegetables, sausages, for all tastes. Bookshelf in the cafe in case you need something to read. The staff was extremely nice and helpful (let me see three different rooms, all were nice but some noisier). It's a ten minute walk from the metro station and about a half hour walk from tourist areas. The neighborhood looks scary with graffiti but the graffiti is all political not obscene, on the walls of the next door college, and I was told categorically that it's not dangerous to walk there at night.
The only con is there's almost no shelf space; I kept most of my clothing in my suitcase.

Room Tip: A room on the museum side is a bit quieter, but the noisier rooms have double glazing. Some rooms ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janiefar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pythagorion, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at the Best Western Museum Hotel.
Your kind words are highly motivating and we're delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you and we hope to have you back with us on future visits to Athens.

With best regards,
Korahai Margarita
Reservations Dept‘
Best Western Hotel Museum***
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. We read the reviews about the area and our cab driver warned us to be careful when we walked around the area, like others we saw someone doing drugs during the day. We walked to a nearby convenience store to buy some food/drinks during the day, but didn't feel comfortable venturing out at night. The front desk staff and breakfast staff provided excellent service. They helped take the bags to the elevator on arrival and departure. We felt like ordering Dominos pizza and they placed the order for us. Nothing appeared to be too much for staff, all very polite, friendly and informative. We really enjoyed the variety of food on the breakfast buffet. Our cab driver said "The location doesn't do the hotel justice" and that probably sums it up well. The interior and the rooms were nicely decorated and the wifi worked well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smt_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Centrotel Hotel
#21 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Athens Lotus Hotel
#49 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#35 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
Victory Inn
#26 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#19 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel
Address: 16 Bouboulinas (Moussio), Athens 106 82, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Exarchia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#40 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Athens
Best Western Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing