We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, clean hotel; good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Museum Hotel
Ranked #61 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Stayed here 1 night (May 30, 2011). Hotel was clean, good, buffet breakfast; nice & friendly hotel staff. Was 7 minute walk to metro (convenient to get to Akropoli metro stop). Next door to National Archaeological Museum. The business center was open 24 hours, and had use of computer and/or internet.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lacalif11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (945)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

459 - 465 of 945 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2011

Lovely hotel. Modern, clean, comfortable, helpful and efficient staff. We had a spacious family room with a great bathroom (one of the best bathrooms I've had in Greece) with a large balcony. The AirCon was perfect, we all three had a great night's sleep, as it is in a quiet street. Breakfast was good with a lot of choice, inc eggs and bacon. The free computer/internet was also helpful.
However, for our purposes it was just a fraction off the beaten track. It is a ten minute stroll from OMONIA SQ, which normally would be great, but with the METRO not running properly at the moment, ie no trains between Monastiraki and Omonia or Victoria, it involved a lot more walking than we had envisaged. Not that we mind walkiing, but we only had a day and a lot to see and ended up wishing we had gone back to AMALIA hotel, right on the corner of Syntagma and more in the heart of things.
But if you want to see the MUSEUM, then this is perfect as it is literally a stones throw away. Alas, we ran out of time and didn't make it.
Although the Best West is in a quiet residential street, we still found junkies shooting up just a few metres down the road. As a couple, we didn't feel threatened, but Im not totally sure I would have wanted to be there alone after midnight.. Funnily enough, I felt safer at the AMALIA, right on the main corner of Syntagma, as it is a busy well lit street.
I can't fault this hotel, it was good value and if we wanted a more leisurely 2/3 day stay in Athens it would be perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

the hotel is located in city centre. just a couple of minutes from metrostation. the rooms are small but very clean. breakfast was good and for greek standard very opulent. the staff was very friendly and so helpfull as we had to cancel one night of our stay due to the generall strike. they did not charge the night and even provided us with superb information on how to get best to piraeus as one of the metrostations is under construction. i would recomand this hotel anytime.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ardsmair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

Booked this hotel first in a package deal and read the reviews later. Got scared with the reviews about the location and activities around the hotel. Communicated with the hotel and got assurance from Emanuele, BW Manager. Well our stay couldn't have been any better. Yes the surrounding area is a bit shady, Yes you will see open use of drugs and yes you need to be careful at night but it's not any different from any big city downtown of US. Like every where else you have to play safe. Once inside the hotel, it was a different world. A very hospitable staff who will go out of their way to help you out. Rooms are not hue but are clean, modern and neatly decorated. bathrooms are spacious with all the amenities. Breakfast was not lavish but included all the essentials.We had a problem with the door lock and our room was changed the very next day. Our luggage was stored during our trip to islands for no charge. The main downtown area is 20 min walk or < 5Euro taxi ride. We always preferred taxis at night and will recommend the same.
Please ignore the location as you will have minimal interactions with the surroundings and you will spend most of your time in downtown area. we traveled with young children and had no problems.
The hotel was every penny worth and is highly recommended. Mohiuddin & family

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emkube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

This was a returned to Athens after 40 years and I am pleased to say that I made a right choice of the hotel. Upon arrival the manager asked us if we had been charged correctly for the taxi from the airport.

Checking in was quick and easy. We had booked two rooms and both were spacious, clean and reasonably furnished. The TV had a wide selection of channels however, the reception for BBC and CNN was not very clear – could be tuning issue.

The clerk at the front desk provided a map to the city and suggested places for eating and shopping. The hotel is well situated for visiting the museums and places of interest and can be reached by walking, although access to public transport and taxis is easy.

The breakfast was plentiful and included choice of continental and hot items. I thoroughly enjoyed the fresh oranges.

The Hotel has a bar area where one can get free orange squash. The Bar is an ideal place for meeting, chatting and playing board games or cards.

My overall assessment is this hotel is clean, well located and provides value for money. The staff at the desk and the manager are very helpful and friendly. The lady at the Bar who also manages the breakfast could learn to smile.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank safarisurfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

The Hotel was realy good and nice, in good price. We enjoy staying in that Hotel .

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anton2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

This was an awesome hotel. What mad it great was the outstanding service! The frontdesk representative took very good care of us!! They were very friendly and above and beyond helpful. We stayed there for nearly a week and a half and they took great care of us - even helped booked our tours and get info. on our travel plans by boat and air to other parts of Greece. You can tell that they hired the right people. If you come across George especially, you will be in great hands!! The rooms are clean and breakfast is pretty good too. It's not too far from the metro station (about 10 minutes walk). Also, it's close to the city center so it was about 3 to max 5 euro to get in a cab to get to/from the hotel. Not a big deal at all. Our recommendation is here is that if you're traveling with kids, then the location isn't the greatest place b/c of the demonstrations going on. But if it's just adults, you're fine. Great value here.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nangmua504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Centrotel Hotel
#20 of 282 in Athens
1,208 reviews
Victory Inn
#62 of 282 in Athens
305 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Metropolis
Hotel Metropolis
#53 of 282 in Athens
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Athens Lotus Hotel
#55 of 282 in Athens
926 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#22 of 282 in Athens
1,421 reviews
Pythagorion Hotel
#73 of 282 in Athens
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Museum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Museum Hotel

Address: 16, Bouboulinas Str, Athens 106 82, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Exarchia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#34 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $48 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Museum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Museum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Athens
Best Western Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing