We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel”
Review of A for Athens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
A for Athens
Ranked #3 of 80 Athens B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were on the 2nd floor facing the Acropolis. Large and wonderfully spacious rooms. Breakfast and staff were amazing. However, the nightlife in the Syntagma Square was extremely loud, not good for a goodnights sleep !!!

Room Tip: Miss the view for a quiet room at the back of the hotel and enjoy the view with breakfast !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    349
    84
    34
    20
See reviews for
158
486
76
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The hotel is right on a square by a Metro station, so it's very easy to get to, but not too noisy (we were on the 4th floor). We had a wonderful view from our room, which was large, clean, and well designed. Breakfast was decent - obviously the view is one of the main draws, but the staff are friendly and helpful as well. One downside would be that the lift is very small (like many Athens hotel lifts?!) so it would be a bit of a pain if you were travelling with lots of luggage or a horde of children... Decent value for money.

Room Tip: Personally, rooms with the Acropolis view are worth it! Light sleepers may need ear plugs, but I th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsSmithBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel provides excellent value, with a convenient location close to the metro and an amazing view of the Parthenon.

The rooftop bar is very crowded and noisy, so you should ask for a room on a floor not too close to it. A part from this, everything was perfect.

The breakfast (excellent) is on a terrace overlooking the Parthenon-- best breakfast-view ever!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Wonderful view on the Acropolis (even from the shower cabin!), rather large and pleasant room, good bed, nice guy at the reception desk... I really enjoyed the stay at this hotel. Fashionable bar on the top floors with 360º view on Athens. The location is ideal, half-way between Gazi nightlife and Syntagma square.

I didn´t suffer at all from the noise, but I can't really tell as I was on the 3rd floor, I spent only 1 night on a Tuesday and went to bed around 4am. BUT the street (Ermou) is noisy and I wouldn't recommend a room on the 5th floor, just below the bar.

Very recommendable for night owls, not so much for families or those looking for a relaxing place (Athens is not relaxing anyway).

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frédéric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The hotel is in an excellent location. Both times we had a room looking towards Acropolis. Beautiful view. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms were a good size. The hotel is next to the metro from the airport or peraius and very close to the shopping and the archaeological sites. Ask for a room on the 2,3 or 4 floor. As it is in town on a popular square earplugs will definitely help. It is worth staying in this hotel. Particularly if you do not mind the noise

Caution: The second time we had a room on the 5th floor under the bar which is very popular. So it was noisy till 3 - 4 am. But we did get a discount when we complained.

I rate it 3 only because of the noise.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor to be avoided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller_eu_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holon, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The view is great, with best location, but with tons of young noisy youth who come endlessly for the bar.
Very expensive, compared to much better alternatives & cheaper where I stayed 100 meters away.
There are 3 tiny elevators but each one goes to another part of the hotel; accordingly, I used the stairs instead of waiting & waiting...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tavi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My partner & I stayed at this hotel for 1 night ( thank god) and after getting up to our room (41) with 2 separate trips in the worlds smallest elevator, we were pleasantly surprised at how big & modern our room was.

The location was very good as we caught the metro from the airport straight to the hotel (cost about 16 euros for 2 of us). The receptionist mentioned there was a rooftop bar where we could buy dinner and have a drink, so we went up there on the 6th floor and did exactly that with a most spectacular view, however little did we know that this roof top bar which was full of people, thumping music & musical chairs was going to continue throughout the entire night and into the morning. We had to be up at 5 30am the next day to catch a ferry across to Santorini, and even with ear plugs in, between the musical chairs & music coming from the rooftop bar, and the thumping bongo drums on the street across the hotel, we had about an hour sleep, if that.

On checking out early that morning, we complained about the racket to the male receptionist, who just smiled and said "yes, well it's a world famous bar", as if that made it ok.

Our advice, if you want sleep, do Not stay here!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle2782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,298 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,268 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 326 in Athens
3,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 326 in Athens
1,730 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#31 of 326 in Athens
1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A for Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A for Athens

Property: A for Athens
Address: 2 - 4 Miaouli, Athens 105 54, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Psirri / Gazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — A for Athens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to give an A to the best of Athens. A for Athens is the new city design hotel in Athens. Located just across the Acropolis and above Monastiraki Square, A for Athens offers a truly unique viewing experience to the city’s most famous monument. The hotel is next to Monastiraki station, which serves for easy transportation to and from the Airport and Piraeus Port and sets all the city’s excitements in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your A for Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a For Athens Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing