We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A view you will never FORget - ATHENS” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A for Athens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A for Athens
Ranked #3 of 63 Athens B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Arona, Italy
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“A view you will never FORget - ATHENS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Whether this is your first visit to Athens or, as me, you have been there many times, you should definitely experience A for Athens. The position and the view are amazing. Go for the Acropolis view room on one of the higher floors, the view - day and night - is one to be remembered and cherished. I would not hesitate saying this must be the most stunning view of the whole of Athens. You can even see the Acropolis and the beautiful Monastiraki square while you shower, thanks to a cleverly designed window that, through your bedroom and main window, affords splendid views. The rooms are comfortable and nicely furnished with parquet flooring and wooden wardrobes. Abundant space to work, thanks to a wall-long desk. The price paid is well below the real value of this property. Breakfast are good and plentiful, served on the 6th floor cafeteria with - again - more fantastic views.

The Monastiraki metro station is literally by the hotel, making travelling from/to the airport and anywhere in Athens a breeze.

If you are a light sleeper, do not forget your ear plugs, as the square below is very noisy day and night and Greek drivers love their horns. Late and loud music also oozes from the hotel cafeteria that caters for locals as well, thanks to its views. The persistent flow of young crowds at all times of the day (and night) makes the only (and tiny) lift permanently busy, which is a problem if you are on a high floor or need to carry luggage. You supposedly get priority as a hotel guest, but this is difficult to manage, especially if you are heading downstairs from your room. Do not let these details turn you away from this hotel though. The view awaiting for you will repay all and any little inconvenience.

Room Tip: Go for an a Acropolis View room on one of the higher floors: the scene will take your breath away ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    322
    80
    31
    17
See reviews for
144
445
69
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

This was a great hotel for a one night stop over in Athens however I would have been happy to stay longer. Rooms large, new and clean and loved the view of the Acropolis from our window. Loved the roof top bar.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suzanne46Melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patras, Greece
Level Contributor
241 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is a small hotel in Monastiraki Square, really in the heart of Athens. I had a one night stay recently. The reception area is very small, but check-in was fast. There is only a small elevator with a maximum capacity of 3 people, so you must wait for several minutes to go upstair. Nevertheless, my room was large enough, simply decorated, facing directly in Acropolis. Really, an amazing view, especially in the evening and night! The bathroom was small in size, equipped with the very basic amenities. Breakfast room and bar was on the roof top (6th floor), with a terrible view on Monastiraki square and Acropolis. Breakfast was very good, much better than one could expect from a hotel of its category. In the evenings, this room serves as a bar, suitable to take a coffee or drink, watching the Acropolis in front of you. The staff was helpful and polite.
In conclusion, this small hotel is a very good option if you must stay in the city center, offering good guest rooms, amazing views, and polite service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in 3rd or 4th floor, with Acopolis view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vassilis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

A wonderful hotel with great location. It is a bit noisy in the evenings, but only as a result of it's awesome location. We paid the extra $10 for the "Double Room with Acropolis View" and would recommend others to do the same. The view is stunning and worth the small extra change.

Room Tip: We paid the extra $10 for the "Double Room with Acropolis View" and would recommend others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simzhewei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

The best view of the Acropolis if you get the big window room, but at least at the first floor, the noise from the street was enough not to let me sleep as good as i would expect. Very modern room (too modern for my taste to make it a bit cold) but it was a plus the bathroom that also had the Acropolis view. Breakfast on the 6th floor just perfect

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elita-stella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Apart from everything - nice breakfast, clean and spacious - it's the View and location - just perfect. We were on the 2nd floor bedroom overlookig the square - and the Acropolis. And at night...with the Acropolis lit up, sitting right there, outside my window. I could have (and practically did the first night) stayed up all night gazing at the beee-uuu-tiful scene.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Acropolis. It'll be a little costlier - but well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monica m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

This was a little boutique hotel we found via Booking.com and we were thrilled. Views to the Acropolis from bedroom window, easy walking distance to everything we wanted to see. Great rooftop bar for late afternoon drinks and a snack where hotel guests get preference. I must admit though, when the cab driver dropped us off we thought we were in the wrong place. Tiny little alley that was covered in graffiti but there was our little paradise two doors down. We had a great night there and would definitely recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EricaAptroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 336 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,965 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#13 of 336 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#5 of 336 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#15 of 336 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A for Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A for Athens

Property: A for Athens
Address: 2 - 4 Miaouli, Athens 105 54, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Psirri / Gazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — A for Athens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to give an A to the best of Athens. A for Athens is the new city design hotel in Athens. Located just across the Acropolis and above Monastiraki Square, A for Athens offers a truly unique viewing experience to the city’s most famous monument. The hotel is next to Monastiraki station, which serves for easy transportation to and from the Airport and Piraeus Port and sets all the city’s excitements in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Travelocity so you can book your A for Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a For Athens Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing