We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best Acropolis view”
Review of A for Athens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
A for Athens
Ranked #3 of 72 Athens B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“The best Acropolis view”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The best view of the Acropolis if you get the big window room, but at least at the first floor, the noise from the street was enough not to let me sleep as good as i would expect. Very modern room (too modern for my taste to make it a bit cold) but it was a plus the bathroom that also had the Acropolis view. Breakfast on the 6th floor just perfect

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elita-stella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    341
    81
    34
    19
See reviews for
151
468
75
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Apart from everything - nice breakfast, clean and spacious - it's the View and location - just perfect. We were on the 2nd floor bedroom overlookig the square - and the Acropolis. And at night...with the Acropolis lit up, sitting right there, outside my window. I could have (and practically did the first night) stayed up all night gazing at the beee-uuu-tiful scene.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Acropolis. It'll be a little costlier - but well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monica m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This was a little boutique hotel we found via Booking.com and we were thrilled. Views to the Acropolis from bedroom window, easy walking distance to everything we wanted to see. Great rooftop bar for late afternoon drinks and a snack where hotel guests get preference. I must admit though, when the cab driver dropped us off we thought we were in the wrong place. Tiny little alley that was covered in graffiti but there was our little paradise two doors down. We had a great night there and would definitely recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EricaAptroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Views, location, and a nicely appointed and spotlessly clean room. We had a magnificent view, even from the window in our bathroom! Staff was very helpful and engaging. Breakfast was very good on the rooftop while gazing at the acropolis. Only issue is the small elevator shared by the crowds of young people headed for the rooftop bar. If you have mobility issues or can't do the oddly shaped stairs in a pinch, this might not be for you.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pennie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Myers, FL and Milford, PA
Level Contributor
109 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The large windows in my room revealed a spectacular view of a plaza and the Acropolis! Windows open 2 ways allowing for fresh air altho' it was unusually hot and humid while I was there so the very efficient air conditioning was a great relief!

The host at the desk is very helpful and speaks very good english!! He tried to explain the politics there as there was a mini strike while we were there and a full strike the day after we left. He also helped with the internet, there are 2 modern machines for use in the lobby and free internet in the B & B.

The rooms have beautiful lighting including a very unique night light. Shower is first class with hand held and rain style shower heads. Bring a washcloth if you want one, most places in Europe do not provide them.

The beds are very comfortable as are the pillows, a must for me.

We checked in early and we offered breakfast as we waited for our rooms. The breakfast room, on the 6th floor has the same incredible view and is full of locals and visitors at night when it serves light food to the young night lifers with a full bar! That creates a bit of a problem as there is a small elevator that hold 3 people and there is generally a line. Guest are supposed to get priority and the desk attendant helps but it is a bit uncomfortable.

With that in mind a room on the 3rd floor worked well 3 flights up for breakfast and 3 down to go out!

It is a bit noisy with the location on a main street and a plaza across the street but I slept well with the curtains closed once I was able to give up the view!

At 141 euro a night it is a steal if only for the view! That includes a very nice breakfast with fresh fruit, lovely Greek yogurt, dried fruits and nuts, cheeses, ham, turkey, salami, olives, croissants bot plain and filled, squares of omlette , bacon sweet cake with honey, coffee, cereal. The only think I did not like were the juices.

Doubt I will be back in Athens after 2 trips there but I would stay at A for Athens if I do go.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a view! And book ahead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilyontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Great location overlooking Monasteraki Square, and the Acropolis above it. Walking distance to so many sights, close to flea markets, shopping and streets of restaurants. next doorto the Metro station.
Good wifi connection provided free.
Tasty but simple breakfast at the rooftop restaurant.
Staff very helpful and accommodating, particularly Vangelis.
Big comfortable beds.
The passing parade of Monasteraki provides endless entertainment.
Lots of people heading for the rooftop bar will queue for the tiny lift, but the reception clerk always ensures hotel guests are at the front of the queue.

Some people may find this location a bit noisy with music and hubbub in Monasteraki and traffic noise in Ermou Street, but the windows seal out most of the noise; we loved being in the thick of things and were not disturbed by the sounds of the city.

Room Tip: Not sure if there are any rooms facing the other way, but all rooms on the Monasteraki Square side h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiddleAgedHippies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

I love this hotel, but first, two caveats: 1. Monasteraki Square is across the road and is a popular meeting point for people wanting to stroll, listen to music and dine out; 2. the hotel has a popular bar on the top floor. So, it can be noisy late at night. That said, the staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are modern and comfortable, and the picture window view of the Akropolis is priceless. Buffet breakfast is good. Free wifi works well and is reasonably fast. Reception will give you lots of useful advice for sightseeing and dining out. There is an entrance to the Metro right beside the hotel. We stayed at this hotel on 3 separate occasions.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank PleagleTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,184 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#34 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,920 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A for Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A for Athens

Property: A for Athens
Address: 2 - 4 Miaouli, Athens 105 54, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Psirri / Gazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — A for Athens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to give an A to the best of Athens. A for Athens is the new city design hotel in Athens. Located just across the Acropolis and above Monastiraki Square, A for Athens offers a truly unique viewing experience to the city’s most famous monument. The hotel is next to Monastiraki station, which serves for easy transportation to and from the Airport and Piraeus Port and sets all the city’s excitements in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your A for Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a For Athens Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing