We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, Spacious Room, Great Service”
Review of A for Athens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
A for Athens
Ranked #3 of 79 Athens B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent Location, Spacious Room, Great Service”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at the Acropolis view room and it was quite spectacular. We were on the 1st floor so there was no issue of noise from the bar on the top floor. But we did feel that if we were on 4th or 5th floor, then it would have been just impossible to sleep. Luckily we got a great room.

The metro station - Monistriaki- is just 10 steps away. So if you are taking a taking flight - you can just hop on to the metro and you get there in 45 mins. The flee market and a lot of nice restaurants are just around the corner.

The bar on the top is excellent. We booked a corner table on the top floor and it was just mind blowing. The cocktails are nice. Must try!!! Service was prompt and good.

We called and booked directly with the hotel and got a 10 Euro discount on the price mentioned on Booking.com.

The lift is small and fits only 3 at a time. Which is a pain. But as we were on the 1st floor, we just took the stairs. But you do have priority to take the lift in case there is a queue.

Room Tip: We stayed at Room 13 on the first floor. There was no noise from the roof top bar and the view to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssuri81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    347
    83
    34
    20
See reviews for
153
480
76
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Best location close to everywhere great service very clean and it's wonderful would highly recommend this place to everyone. Close to shopping and close to sites close to food! Very convenient! Close to plaka as well. The reception guy is really helpful he showed us everywhere with a map and always said hello. Free wifi strong and reliable, good enough breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwholovestravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Very nice hotel at excellent location, easy to reach by metro especially if coming from the airport. It's located right at one of Athen's main squares and within walking distance to all major attractions and shopping streets. Really fantastic!
The hotel looks new and clean and its rooms are simple but well furnished.
The gentlemen at reception was extremely nice and helpful and generally everyone is very nice and friendly.
Wonderful terrace where to have breakfast with a spectacular view of the Acropolis.
Only bad points is the elevator. Small and always busy as the roof-top bar gets veeeery crowdy at night as one of Athen's preferred hang-outs. For this reason make sure not to book a room on the 5th floor or you won't sleep all night.
For the rest I can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This hotel was spotlessly clean and perfectly located for walking to the Acropolis and Parthenon. We had a room with a view of the Acropolis and it was such a great view that we left our curtains open all night. The room was spacious and so was the ensuite bathroom. The hotel has a fantastic rooftop bar, but get here early if you want a seat or table. The only downside to this hotel is that there is only 1 very small lift so patience is required and you need to allow time when your getting luggage down to check out.

We only had a 1 night stay in Athens and the hotel staff were really helpful with tips on the main attractions and how to get around. The tips were so good we didn't bother doing the hop-on-hop-off bus.

Room Tip: The Acropolis view rooms are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieGem010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dursley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed in an "Acropolis view room". This had unrivalled and fantastic panoramic views - we felt we got exactly what we paid for! The breakfast was superb and we got to enjoy the views again from the breakfast bar on the sixth floor. Overall we enjoyed our two night stay at this city hotel, and the amzing room helped us to end our holiday on a high.

Not the hotel's fault, but be aware that the hotel is on a lively square, and on both nights that we were there in Sept there was live music in the square making it difficult to sleep until 1am. We understand that frequently there can be events in this popular square, so be prepared to be flexible if you stay here.

As per other reviews the hotel only has a tiny lift and as there is a bar on the top floor there are usually queues for the lift. We always walked up to our room but this might not be convenient for everyone.

Room Tip: We paid extra for an Acropolis view room and had a massive window looking directly towards the Acrop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This was a really nice (albeit small) hotel that I recently stayed in. The rooms were clean and comfortable and nicely decorated and the location was great. However, I would NOT recommend this hotel if you're a light sleeper. In addition to the noise from the rooftop club (which many other reviewers note), the hallway floors are wood. You hear "clump, clump, clump" as everyone walks by. You also hear the elevator fire door slam shut every time someone gets on or off. Finally, at 3:00 a.m., two nights in a row, a bartender was slamming huge bags of ice outside our door, getting ready to carry them up to the club. I had paid more money to stay in a nice hotel and ensure a good night's sleep... unfortunately, that didn't happen at A for Athens. :-(

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teale187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I had read many trip reviews about this Hotel before I booked so I knew what to expect. This was the best position for a Hotel with the greatest view. I do think that it is all relative to what you are used to and what you classify as 3 star, 4 star, 5 star etc.

It is absolutely clean, new, fresh and most of all spacious compared to normal European standards. The bathrooms where huge compared to some on the Islands.

We stayed there for 3 nights on our arrival early September , then again for 2 nights after we had Island hopped and returned to Athens at the end of September.The staff were very polite and helpful. I had requested a room with a view on a lower floor due to the comments about the noise of the rooftop bar. I can honestly say that with the windows shut, we heard little from our rooms on the 3rd floor. I suppose we walked all day , so we crashed at night time.

A plus for us was that it was so close to Monastiraki metro station, ( you can see the Metro station in my night photo - it is the building with the arches and the lights directly across from the Hotel...you go down and down and down again , just like for the tube in London etc. ) so it was easy to get to from the Airport as well as easy from Piraeus as well. So you don't have to take a taxi. There are hundreds of restaurants and cafes in walking distant ( just in the street off the Monastiraki Square) and did we walk and eat and walk!!!

Apart from the nice bed and chair and table and bathroom with huge shower head ,the first room 31 , on the end, had a Juliette Balcony and a kitchenette and the second room 32 had a large bed, a couch and huge windows and bench and a window in the shower that you could see the Parthenon from. Both rooms were great.
The very nice breakfast is served on the 6th Floor which is a rooftop Terrace with the same wonderful view.....that turns into the Bar at night time.
Waiting for the tiny lift did not really affect us. You knew that you had a wait alittle. For that view and for the convenience of this Hotel, I was prepared to wait for anything.....you are on holidays - don't rush !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,273 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,240 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 326 in Athens
3,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 326 in Athens
3,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A for Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A for Athens

Property: A for Athens
Address: 2 - 4 Miaouli, Athens 105 54, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Psirri / Gazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — A for Athens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to give an A to the best of Athens. A for Athens is the new city design hotel in Athens. Located just across the Acropolis and above Monastiraki Square, A for Athens offers a truly unique viewing experience to the city’s most famous monument. The hotel is next to Monastiraki station, which serves for easy transportation to and from the Airport and Piraeus Port and sets all the city’s excitements in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your A for Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a For Athens Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing