We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful service”
Review of Oroscopo

Oroscopo
Ranked #7 of 3,718 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $28
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Specialized in Modern Greek, Pizza & Pasta, tastes, at all times with the freshest ingredients being used and the passion for food in a combination with the wine list full by a variety of Greek labels, Oroscopo Restaurant can satisfy even the most demanding customer.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful service”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

After being in Greece for two weeks, this restaurant stands out as the absolute best, and we ended up going there twice in our six days in Athens. Both times we ordered two appetizers and two entrees, which were all good. At the first visit we got a delicious soup, a dessert, a small lemon sorbet, and a small glass of Greece liqour without paying for it. The second time we went, we got the same soup, and were told that they wanted to make us a dessert on the house. As they all looked delicious, we decided to try two, and we still didn't pay for them.

Even though it's a nice touch with the free soups and desserts, this was not the main reason we went twice. First of all, the food is of high standards, and all we had was tasteful and fresh. Second, all the waitors are extremely friendly and helpful, which compared with other restaurants in Athens makes Oroscopo stand out. Third, the prices are reasonable, with appatizers between 5-10 euros, and entrees between 10-15 euros. Both times we went, we ended up sitting there for several hours, and paid 70-80 euro.

The restaurant can be somewhat hard to find, we downloaded the Tripadvisor app for Athens, so that we had the address and location on a map for our taxi-driver. A taxi drive from Plaka was about 3.50.

If we are going back to Athens some day, we would definitely go back to Oroscopo.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChristineS_E2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikosA112, Marketing Manager at Oroscopo, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for having chosen the OROSCOPO restaurant to enjoy your lunch and for your recommendation. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and we are delighted to learn that your lunch with us was an enjoyable one and that it met with your expectations. Regarding your comment that the restaurant can be somewhat hard to find, it is more convenient to tell your taxi-driver that we are located in the square in fron of Caravel hotel, or you can go to Evangelismos metro station, which is 5 min. away. Once again allow us to express our appreciation for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,101
    295
    61
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Petersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow what great food and service”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The staff at the hotel we were staying at recommended this restaurant. It was so good the first night that we came back every night we stayed here. Great food, great staff and great prices…. I highly recommend this restaurant if you are in Athens. Go out of your way to come here well worth it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KalenatheKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikosA112, Marketing Manager at Oroscopo, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us after your recent visit at OROSCOPO restaurant. We were delighted that our food and service met your expectations and left you with a positive impression and that you enjoyed the time you spent in Oroscopo, so you came back every night you stayed here. It will be an absolute pleasure to be given the opportunity to welcome you back on a future visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, FL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a Great Place!!!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My husband and I had arrived mid-afternoon in Athens, got to our hotel, set out exploring. On the way back to our hotel, we stopped at Oroscopo (since I had seen so many good reviews about it). The owner came out and welcomed us making us feel very at home. We weren't ready to eat quite yet, just wanted to check the menu. A few hours later, we came back to Oroscopo and the owner's son seated us outside (it was a gorgeous night). He was extremely friendly and treated us as old friends. As we were eating our Greek salad, he came over to make sure everything was OK. I, being a true lover of Kalamata olives, whined that my husband has many more in his salad than mine. In less than a minute, the son's owner was back with a plate FULL of Kalamata olives. We all burst out laughing!! Then after a great dinner, I wanted to try a Greek beer some people at the next table were drinking, but my lack of sleep was catching up with my husband and he wanted to go back to the hotel. The owner overheard me and in seconds, I had a glass of the beer and he (the owner shared it with me). What great fun. AND, my husband wasn't allowed a sip. But the owner felt sorry for him and brought him a delicious little drink of something. I had to hug both owner and his son as we left. They made our short time in Athens unforgettable. A super big thanks to them both, if they read this.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kayshenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikosA112, Marketing Manager at Oroscopo, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for having chosen the OROSCOPO restaurant to enjoy your lunch and for your recommendation. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and we are delighted to learn that your lunch with us was an enjoyable one and that it met with your expectations. Once again allow us to express our appreciation for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Eat here!! Amazing service and great food!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Restaurant was nearby our hotel - blown away by the friendly service. Food (especially dessert) was delicious and excellent value. We would most definitely come back next time we visit Athens!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ebh91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikosA112, Marketing Manager at Oroscopo, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for writing your feedback after your recent visit at OROSCOPO restaurant. It puts a smile on our face when we read such positive comments, as it motivates us to keep exceeding our guests’ expectations. It will be an absolute pleasure to welcome you back when you are next in Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place to enjoy Greek food and hospitality”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Everything - the atmosphere, the free small soup as a start, the food we ordered and the free treat after lunch was excellent. The best was the staff- friendly and helpful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katytch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikosA112, Marketing Manager at Oroscopo, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us after your recent visit at OROSCOPO restaurant. We were delighted that our food and service met your expectations and left you with a positive impression. It will be an absolute pleasure to be given the opportunity to welcome you back on a future visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oroscopo also viewed

 

Been to Oroscopo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing