We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected treat”

Athens Tours Greece
Ranked #12 of 152 Transportation in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Browse our Athens tours and Greece tours, book one of our private tours in Athens and other cities in Greece. If you're arriving on a cruise ship enjoy our shore excursions in Athens (Piraeus) or Greece and if you are in Athens for a day or few days we have organized for you exciting sightseeing tours! Athens Tours Greece team is ready to assist you in any of your needs! Join us today and remember... Don't just visit Greece... Experience it!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unexpected treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

We didn't realize how nice it would be to have the tour. Must do! There were stops at the original modern Olympic Stadium plus just a great overview of the city.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mariannb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony O, Manager at Athens Tours Greece, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear mariannb, On behalf of our team thank you for choosing Athens Tour Greece for your tour. We hope to see you soon in one of our private tours to experience more of Greece!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    26
    4
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

We booked the tour for our shore excursion. The booking process is quick and easy. With all the good review, we expect something special but a bit disappointed. First the pick up point was confusing, we docked at Terminal B, as according to the instruction we have to go to Terminal A but it will require quite a fair bit of walking, we call them to clarify, finally find the van in our terminal. The driver was nice and welcome. Helen was our guide, she was very friendly at first, probably she was a teacher before (may be), she love to talk about the history of Greece and spend a lot of time talking, making there was no time to go around and take photo, so we didn't follow her around on the Acropolis, she wasn't happy. The next stop in the Museum, we decided to follow her as she wasn't happy before, as usual she talking and talking......in one spot she will spend more than 15 min there (even the young kids in our group feel bored). We won't mind she talk but please talk briefly, if we want to know the history, we search the internet. Finally we only have about 45min for lunch and get some souvenir, we don't even have time to visit Temple of Olympian Zeus which is nearby. After that only stop by the Hill and Tomb of the Unknown soldier to take pictures and then the rest of the tour is just driving pass.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 818Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony O, Manager at Athens Tours Greece, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear 818Julie,

I am very surprised of your review. Even at the time you wrote this review you did not bother reading the meeting instructions. We never instructed to you to walk from terminal B to terminal A. There were 16 people ( 6 couples and a family) in the minibus. Why nobody had a problem with the meeting instruction? Please read bellow one more time the meeting instructions, instruction you can read on our website as well as on your voucher witch is the same for all of our clients:
'MEETING INSTRUCTIONS: If you are arriving on a cruise ship there are two cruise terminals on the port of Piraeus, called terminal A and terminal B. If your ship arrives at terminal A or terminal B, please disembark and walk outside the main gate, where our driver will be waiting for you holding a sign with "Semi Private Shore Excursion" on it. If your ship arrives at terminal B (also known as Kanelos terminal), and the main gate is closed, then and ONLY then you will need to take the shuttle bus to terminal A (two minutes ride), where our driver will be waiting for you holding a sign with "Semi Private Shore Excursion" on it.'
As for the guide, helen had to follow a schedule. If clients follow their own scheduled, then this causes problems to the rest of the group, and will just loose time waiting for the others.
You could book a private tour just for you if you wanted this kind of service. The guide must guide you to archaeological sites and museum because the tour is about history too. If she would not give you the history of the sites and museum then the rest of the group would complain.
Also please think that you have visited a historical place, that the worlds ancient history comes from!
I would be very pleased to tell us what would you expecting to see or to do! This could help us maybe to create a second Semi private shore excursion witch of course would be approved from our clients, because this is the way we create tours. Working together with our tour experts and the help and ASSISTANCE of our clients.
I remain at your desposal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aviano, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Day in Athens!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

We arrived via the Cruise ship Jade. We booked an excursion last year on the same cruise and saw only half as much this year with Athens Tour Greece! Alex picked us up on time, was flexible on what we wanted to see, but he had a plan to get us to see the most sites during the time we had. He also took us to lunch at a local place with excellent Greek food. Although it took some extra time leaving the tourist areas, the food and price was excellent! Highly recommend spending a few extra dollars to have you private driver/vehicle to see the sites. Have fun!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank teschaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony O, Manager at Athens Tours Greece, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear teschaff, On behalf of Alex and our team thank you for choosing Athens Tour Greece for your tour in Greece!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Out of your History Book!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Athens is a beautiful chapter of History! What's more - it makes all your studies come alive. When you are there, the way the Local Guides explain, the episodes take place in your mind all over again. The Acropolis, the Olympic Stadium are only a few to mention. Don't miss the museum when visiting Acropolis! Evenings are pleasant and the shopping fun. It is advisable to visit one of the local Taverns to get the feel of the city and dancing with the locals can be a sweet memory!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 309TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony O, Manager at Athens Tours Greece, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear 309TRIP, I am happy you have enjoyed your tour with us. On behalf of our team thank you for choosing Athens Tour Greece for your tour in Greece!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delphi Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

We had a great day with our tour guide. He told us the history of the battle at the hot gates, and we visited the site. We watched a video about delphi and drove through stunning areas in Greece. We had an afternoon at Delphi. It was a good trip, and we learned a lot. Our 2-year old was there and had a good time as well. Thanks for the great day.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CLPARIS87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony O, Manager at Athens Tours Greece, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear CLPARIS87, on behalf of our team we thank you for choosing Athens Tour Greece for you tours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Athens Tours Greece also viewed

 

Been to Athens Tours Greece? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing