We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“zen”
Review of Avocado

Avocado
Ranked #25 of 3,971 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Plaka
Description: PLEASE NOTE : OPENING HOURS FROM 1st TO 31ST of AUGUST : MONDAY TO FRIDAY 12:00 - 19:00 AND CLOSED ON WEEKENDS. FROM FRIDAY 1st of SEPTEMBER WE ARE OPEN AS USUAL. LET LOVE IN, LET LOVE OUT" Avocado is a vegetarian-vegan restaurant in the center of Athens. We offer fresh, home-made international cuisine.
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“zen”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Minimalistic, zen environment, friendly staff and great food. Even though it is basically targeted to followers of the” healthy living” trend, it will not disappoint the non vegetarians. Dishes are multicultural and really tasty. Add good vibes to the mix, and you have a new instant hit in the center of Athens.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dimitris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,639 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,199
    328
    86
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“You don't have to be a vegetarian to LOVE this food!”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We ate here because our daughter who is a vegetarian likes to try the local vegetarian restaurants when we travel (she can order about anywhere but having a place where she can eat everything is a bonus). This place has such a great feel the moment you walk in. We are a family of seven and they made sure we had a place that was comfortable that could accommodate us all.

The food we had was spectacular...curry, paella, veg burger, pastas, guacamole, soup...superb! My husband and other daughter are huge carnivores and they loved their meal. The service was also fabulous and friendly. Easy to find.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food and fast friendly service”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This restaurant was our first stop for our stay in Athens. I'm not a vegetarian, but I really enjoyed eating here.

I was tired of picking restaurants at random and going to the sleezy tourist trap restaurants. I decided to find someplace highly recommended on trip advisor and I'm glad we found this place.

We were promptly seated despite not having reservations. I ordered the mushroom risotto and my girlfriend had the vegetarian paella. Both were delicious.

The food was served fast and the service was notably friendly compared to our experiences other places in Europe.

I'd highly recommend this restaurant. Even for the meat eaters.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dwinkler80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unassuming Outside; a delicious surprise inside”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We walked through the Plaka from our hotel passing the many outdoor tavernas and finally found nikis street and Avocado. We love Greek salads but were ready for something different tonight and with a #3 rating of 899 restaurants on Trip Advisor we couldn't go wrong. We had carrot juice and two of the specials - a delicious and unique salad called Greek Symphony and a cheesy penne pasta with avocado. Alas, we were too full to have the carrot cake that looked fantastic and heard others say was wonderful. Service was very good and friendly. Atmosphere was neat, modern, clean, well lighted place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bernie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved it so much, we ate there 3 times!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

First off, let me begin by saying that we love traditional Greek food, so it wasn't that we didn't have other delicious options to choose from. It's just that this place was so charming and the menu so creative and healthy that we kept coming back. The service was outstanding too. One night, when we stopped at the health food store next door for something we popped into Avocado after to inquire about directions to the restaurant we were headed to (one that our hotel concierge recommended) and our server from the previous day walked us all the way there. Several blocks! To another restaurant. When we went back to Avocado the next night for dinner and expressed our gratitude and surprise that he would guide us to the competition, he said "They're not competition. They're good, we're good. As long as we're good we know we will have good business, so we just keep doing our best." What a great attitude! And he was right. They ARE good. Very good! Delicious vegan options that we all enjoyed immensely. That's why we had to keep going back, to try the things we missed. Although it was hard not to order the same things again because we had enjoyed them so much the first time. Next time we're in Athens, Avocado will be our first stop - and probably our last on the way out too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MandyKTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avocado also viewed

 

Been to Avocado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing