We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ONLY MISSING A POOL IF YOU GO IN SUMMER”
Review of New Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
New Hotel
Ranked #12 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“ONLY MISSING A POOL IF YOU GO IN SUMMER”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

If the pool is not important for you go for it. Good location, extremly nice staff specially the porter what a nice friendly and helpful person. Design is very interesting but as all new construction it has issues. The fake wood in the room floors is tolerable but in the walls inside the showers doesnt work . Overall fantastic design, very clever. Loved the integrated shades on the wall. Details on comom ares everywhere, very chic. The cactus display at the entrace is welcoming. Breakfast setting is elegant , easy and deliciouse food very well presented. Just perfect specially for the value. Go for it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TATE58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,042
    377
    57
    16
    12
See reviews for
231
773
70
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kiryat Tivon, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Rooms are nice, but different, so each room has its own decoration and arrangement.
Well-maintained, clean, helpful staff.
Breakfast - when ordering from a menu, it was slow and not cost-effective.
Over-designed - in our room, the shower door was also the restroom door, so when having a shower, the restrooms are open. The shower-head has a "modern" design - not as convenient as the good-old traditional shower-head. The chair in the room was not designed for 1h-2h sitting in front of a laptop.
Location is really convenient - 2 minutes walk from the Syntagma square, 10 minutes walk to Plaka area or Monastiraki.
Warmly recommended.

Room Tip: Studio rooms should be preferred over the junior. The rooms on the east might get very hot in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shai R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing New Hotel during your stay in Athens. On behalf of our team would like to thank you for your appreciative comments regarding our location, services and staff. Regarding your breakfast experience, please allow us to mention that our aim is to offer freshly cooked food and this is why all of our hot items are ordered and cooked a la minuite. Our aim is to offer our guests comfort and hospitality during their stay and make New Hotel a pleasant experience. We thank you once again for your kind review and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington,UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Just spent 1 night in this hotel on an Athens stopover. We had a 6th floor room which was beautiful and had a small balcony we could sit out on. From the side of it you could see the Acropolis in the distance. The whole hotel was immaculate and every member of staff was so friendly and helpful. The young lady on reception even apologised for answering a phone call in Greek! It was Greece after all I think she was perfectly entitled to speak her native language. Drinks in the rooftop bar were expensive but the view at night of the Acropolis was lovely. Buffet breakfast was more than adequate. We would definitely stay here again as we love the feel and the quirky furniture.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EAB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is a high quality, professionally managed hotel in every sense. The staff are attentive to every detail and the property is in perfect shape. The art-based decor is stylish, urban, and contemporary and the room amenities were the best we encountered in Greece. The breakfast was terrific with tons of freshly prepared options and good table service. Add in the fact that it's just a few short blocks to Syntagma Square and you'd be hard pressed to find a better hotel in Athens.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

It wasn,t really a discovery with its high rating, but we discovered a beautiful space that made us smile, a warm and welcoming staff that made us feel at home, a bar that made us want to come back every day, a breakfast thal left us full for the day , and an amazingly convenient location.

Helpful?
Thank derm_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you so much for sharing with us such a kind review and we are delighted that your experience during your stay at New was a pleasant discovery. Our aim is to offer our valuable guests comfort and hospitality and we are glad that we passed on this warm “NEW” feeling to during your stay with us at New Hotel. Once again we thank you and we would love to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel in Athens is fabulous! Nice, friendly people that work there, clean, spacious rooms, & an amazing breakfast!! We spent 2 nights here and loved it- it was close to lots of restaurants & site seeing close by!
The style of the hotel is neat- all the old wood, different looking chairs & wall art- its beautiful! The roof top restaurant was fabulous! Amazing views of the city & delicious food & wine!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The location was great, even though the entrance was actually not on the main road (which got our taxi driver confused). On the main street, you should be able to see New restaurant or such. The rooms, I believe, have different themes - we had the one with photographs. The room was fairly spacious - we had 2 balconies facing different sides, which meant windows/doors were floor to ceiling glass, allowing for great view and light. To block out the light though, they had shutters, operated electronically, to not be disturbed by the light, which was a great idea. The entire place is very modern, and can tell had architects tough - bathroom has the door doubling up between the shower and the 'bathroom', which is glass, so is quite 'intimate' as a whole. THe only thing, and this was not to do with the hotel as you'll get this anywhere in Athens, was that on Sunday morning, church bells ring from early (first bell around 7:30AM?), which does disturb sleep but all churches apparently ring these bells so not to be helped. Given that it's on a main street, noise level wasn't as bad - we were on the third floor and south protection was there. The bar on the top floor was great - there are no seemingly taller buildings in Athens so was refreshing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing New hotel during your stay in Athens. Our aim is to offer comfort and hospitality to our valuable guests and make your stay at New a pleasant one. The hotel team and myself would like to thank you and it will be our pleasure to accommodate you again in the near future !

Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 326 in Athens
3,076 reviews
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Electra Metropolis Athens
#10 of 326 in Athens
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 326 in Athens
3,795 reviews
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel

Property: New Hotel
Address: 16 Filellinon | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 57, Greece (Formerly Olympic Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Athens
#3 Business Hotel in Athens
#5 Family Hotel in Athens
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#10 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — New Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel is located 200 meters from Syntagma (Constitution) Square, the most central part of Athens, a center point to the daily activities of all Athenians. An ideal location to get the best of Athens, from ancient to modern times. New Hotel, a deluxe property totally designed (with exclusive furniture) by Campana brothers. 79 rooms & suites in total, featuring a strong and authentic Greek design concept within the rooms under the perception of the Campana brothers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Bookgreece.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your New Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Palace Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing