We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”
Review of New Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Hotel
Ranked #8 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Great Location, you can actually walk to anywhere in Athens. Room was very good except from the very small bathroom and the view to the opposite balcony. I assume that rooms facing fillelinon street will be much better in terms of view and natural light. Service was excellent. Breakfast quite good, but could have a wider variety. I would definitely recommend it for tourists as well as for business travelers.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SLDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,582)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

919 - 925 of 1,582 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

My wife an I spent just 1 night here stopping over in Athens for a night en route to the islands. The hotel is modern with a hip design. Our room was comfortable and had a nice balcony area. The staff was very helpful - they booked dinner for us at a nice restaurant that was within walking distance and which had great Parthenon bviews.

I was jet lagged and awoke at 4am. Even though the restaurant was closed the staff made me a cup of tea and brought me a newspaper to read in the lobby while my wife slept.

The cab ride to the port of Piraeus was quick - 15 mins on an early Sunday morning and cost 14 euro..

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mblaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at the New Hotel for one night. It was our last night in athens before going home. The hotel is in a good location, close to shops, restaurants and sights. The room was clean and the bed comfy. They did great use of the space and we loved the art work through out the hotel. Our only complaint is the format of the bath room. The door for the toilette also served at the door to the shower. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlemisstravel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

The team of New Hotel would like to thank you for choosing New Hotel during your stay in Athens as well as your kind words. It's appreciating comments like yours encourage us to offer our outmost to our valuable guests and keep up our motivation. We shall share your encouraging comments with the rest of our staff and it will be our pleasure to accommodate you again in the near future.
Kind regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed at the New Hotel for four nights in March 2013. The hotel is modern, clean, and comfortable, and very well situated in downtown Athens. The breakfast is plentiful and the food delicious; we also ate dinner in the hotel one night, and the food was very yummy. The complimentary WiFi worked great. The staff is helpful and attentive, and assisted us with making dinner reservations and other travel plans. Beware, however, that despite the double-paned glass and new construction the street noise is still very loud-- Athens is a busy city, traffic goes at all hours, and I had difficulty sleeping. I'm not sure other hotels in Athens can offer a more insulated sleep, however, and I would definitely recommend the New Hotel (with some earplugs).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer_Ballet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

My husband and I bookended our trip to Greece with stays in Athens. During our first stint, we stayed at New Hotel (feel free to compare with my review of The Athens Gate).

Put simply, we really loved this hotel. The location is great; the staff is fabulous; the rooms are clean and comfortable; and the food is tasty.

Pros:
-Free in-room WiFi
-Helpful bell service, with full explanation of all features of room
-Water and sweets available upon arrival
-Funky and cool art installations in the room
-Very comfortable beds
-Excellent location near Metro stops and key attractions
-Gym available
-Hotel staff ready to help at any time
-Delicious free breakfast
-Rooms with universal outlets (fits all international plugs)
-Very reasonable room rates
-Interesting Art Lounge with great views

Cons:
-Our room did not have a view of any of the sites.
-Breakfast service could be spotty. Some days, we were offered juice, others days not. Some days, we were offered non-buffet items, other days not. But, certainly nothing make or break about that.
-Drink prices in the Art Lounge are quite steep.

Takeaway: This would be our top choice of hotel were we to travel to Athens again. The service and experience were unparalleled.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room. Even though there was a family with very small children across the hall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stoobler-Houll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us your detailed review as well as your appreciative comments. It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed our services, location, design and accommodation. Our aim is to offer our valuable guests comfort and hospitality and we are glad that we passed on this warm feeling to during your stay with us at New Hotel. Once again we thank you and we would love to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The New Hotel is a great base from which to explore Athens. It is central, but not too near the very touristy Plaka area The hotel is modern, artistic and very cool. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms well-appointed and breakfast excellent. We couldn't fault it and if we return to Athens we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonRob1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing New Hotel during your vacation in Athens. On behalf of our team would like to thank you for your appreciative comments and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back upon your next visit in Athens.

Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

In the centre of Athens, just a few minutes away from Plaka and historical museum.Very nice room and great breakfast with fresh baked bread from the house! Excellent service and very friendly and capable staff, thank you very much Stefania!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank marijke t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 282 in Athens
1,748 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,286 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Metropolis
Electra Metropolis
#9 of 282 in Athens
616 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,464 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel

Address: 16 Filellinon | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 57, Greece (Formerly Olympic Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Athens
#2 Business Hotel in Athens
#5 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#7 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $189 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — New Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Filellinon Street, next to Constitution Square (Syntagma Square), this contemporary design hotel, is perfectly positioned for the sights of Athens, including the ruins of Plaka, the Acropolis and its museum, the stylish boutique shopping district of Kolonaki, and the bustling business zone. Situated in the former Olympic Palace Hotel, New Hotel encompasses the heritage of its past by using recycled parts of the old hotel and reinterpreted local materials to create a complete work of art, where outstanding interiors, unusual custom-made furniture and handmade fixtures make guests feel that they live and breathe in a major art installation. Offering an entirely NEW approach this 79-room and suites establishment, is one of the city’s finest examples of modernist architecture and the first ever hotel project of award designer duo, Fernando and Humberto Campana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Palace Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing