We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool, calm base in central Athens”
Review of New Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
New Hotel
Ranked #8 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The New Hotel is a great base from which to explore Athens. It is central, but not too near the very touristy Plaka area The hotel is modern, artistic and very cool. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms well-appointed and breakfast excellent. We couldn't fault it and if we return to Athens we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonRob1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing New Hotel during your vacation in Athens. On behalf of our team would like to thank you for your appreciative comments and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back upon your next visit in Athens.

Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,570)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

916 - 922 of 1,570 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

In the centre of Athens, just a few minutes away from Plaka and historical museum.Very nice room and great breakfast with fresh baked bread from the house! Excellent service and very friendly and capable staff, thank you very much Stefania!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank marijke t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here in August and loved it. Great location--we walked almost everywhere, including to the main tourist sites (Acropolis, Plaka). Breakfast was delicious, and we enjoyed sitting on our balcony for evening cocktails. Room decor and the decor of the rest of the hotel was innovative, hip, and fun, without being too overwhelming. Gym was small but well equipped and maintained. Drinks on the rooftop were ridiculously expensive, although the view and ambiance were nice. Service was great all around, especially the front desk staff, who helped us with everything from taxis to where to buy a charger for our camera battery to where to find a good hat store. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ebwbikegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We just checked out of the New Hotel after a four-day stay in Athens. It did not disappoint. A lovely, modern clean hotel with a nice twist--the funky artwork in the rooms and the clever use of old materials from the old hotel in the design of the current space. The rooms were clean, pretty, well-appointed. The staff couldn't have been friendlier and more accommodating. Good location and a wonderful view of the Acroplis from the roof terrace. The breakfast was fine. A bit pricey but would certainly go back there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randall R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

From the moment we arrived in the New Hotel we were greeted with a big smile and lots of good advice... Rooms are clean and modern, very bright and of decent size, enough for a few days.
The staff is smiling and naturally helpful.
On top of all this, its location is perfect to wander around the city. Not to mention for taking a drink on the rooftop terrace...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LoloNoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

what can I complain about this place? really, nothing! it exceeded my expectations even after reading all the reviews online. I knew this was going to be a good place, but it took it to the next level. booked my two rooms directly from designhotels.com for 3 nights in Athens. got two standard rooms, during their promotion for 3 nights for 2 nights rate. let's break it down to why I gave it hands down number one.
Design: as a boutique hotel, they incorporated a lot of funky design concepts in their lobby, restaurants and rooms. the place was really clean and the products they give (shampoo, body wash etc) were all decent brands
Location: it was pretty centered to everything that we went to. we walked everywhere, didn't take any public transportations the three days we were there. everything was about 15 minutes walk away if you don't stop to look at things.
Service: the people at reception were very polite and helpful, if they didn't know the answer, they'd look it up for you. even the bell boy at the front was very polite and helpful, asked him a lot of questions when the reception people were busy.
Food: the hotel had complimentary buffet breakfast like no other! it's not your typical American hotel complimentary breakfast where they serve you fake eggs. this was a legit restaurant quality breakfast! they had a wide selection of self serve hot and cold food and also a menu to choose how you want your eggs. I basically tried everything as we were there for 3 nights, had scrambled eggs one day, had omelets another day and even their boiled eggs. they also have a rooftop restaurant, dinner requires reservations beforehand as we tried to walk in that weekend but was all booked out! so had a quick lunch at their rooftop before leaving Athens on our last day. their greek salad was AMAZING, the tomatoes, cheese and olives were so fresh. incomparable to the ones we eat in north America.
all in all, this was one of the best hotels I've stayed in Europe for that price. will definitely go back if I ever visit Athens again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katsaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was in Athens in May 2013. After reading lots of reviews of bedbugs, rude staff, and uncleanliness I was pretty nervous regarding my stay in Athens. I found the New Hotel to be extremely nice and the staff was very professional. My biggest complaint would be regarding the rooftop bar. My friend and I went up one night for after dinner drinks quite casually dressed and although we didn't see a dress code requirement (perhaps an oversite on our part) based on the snobbish looks the staff gave us we were clearly the "dumb Americans" they'd heard of.
However, except for that one episode, the rest of the stay was nice. It's within walking distance to a lot of the things you'd want to see in Athens and you can get a map from the front desk. The Plaka is just a few blocks away for easy shopping.
If you're willing to put out the money for a decent place but want to save some dollars don't buy the breakfast the hotel offers. There are several places withing walking distance and cheaper to get a quick meal.
All in all, a great stay, quite clean, very roomy. I'd stay there again!

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for the view of the parthenon. You can get great pics from the rooftop bar! If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#11 of 282 in Athens
3,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,931 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel

Address: 16 Filellinon | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 57, Greece (Formerly Olympic Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Athens
#2 Business Hotel in Athens
#3 Family Hotel in Athens
#5 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#7 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $171 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — New Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Filellinon Street, next to Constitution Square (Syntagma Square), this contemporary design hotel, is perfectly positioned for the sights of Athens, including the ruins of Plaka, the Acropolis and its museum, the stylish boutique shopping district of Kolonaki, and the bustling business zone. Situated in the former Olympic Palace Hotel, New Hotel encompasses the heritage of its past by using recycled parts of the old hotel and reinterpreted local materials to create a complete work of art, where outstanding interiors, unusual custom-made furniture and handmade fixtures make guests feel that they live and breathe in a major art installation. Offering an entirely NEW approach this 79-room and suites establishment, is one of the city’s finest examples of modernist architecture and the first ever hotel project of award designer duo, Fernando and Humberto Campana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Palace Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing