We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel near the Acropolis” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
New Hotel
Ranked #6 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel near the Acropolis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We booked this hotel for 8 nights based on the TripAdvisor recommendations. And it was one of the better hotels that we have enjoyed in our many travels. The lobby is not particularly impressive although the hotel does have unique design elements. But the staff is welcoming and helpful. We were upgraded to a studio room when we checked in. The room was spacious, the beds comfortable, the wood floors and woodpanelling (even in the shower) impressive, the air-conditioning fully functional... Many hotel gyms are substandard but the gym here was nice (and again, cool, which is important in Athens in summer). The breakfast buffet was good (although not quite up to what we typically see in Asian hotels). The terrace lounge has a great view of the Acropolis, although it's rather expensive. Chocolates every night with the turndown service and sweets and fruits always available in the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sojourn56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    987
    350
    51
    14
    9
See reviews for
209
728
67
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed two nights in this welcoming artistic boutique hotel. What a warm welcoming experience. This was the last two nights of our 3 week Mediterranean trip and we were very pleased with the warm inviting welcome ...we arrived early and were able to check in when we arrived. Check-in was comfortable and supportive in everyday. We were always met by friendly hotel staff each day and our room was fabulous.
Thank you New Hotel! We enjoyed our stay very much!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doris115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curacao
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Great location in Athens, walking distance to the old sites and historic locations. Next to a park and many restaurants. Excellent service from the front desk, really friendly and attentive people. The room was very nice and clean. Interior design is impressive. Got a tip for a terrace garden restaurant next to the acropolis, fantastic, must do in Athens.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sacha251276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

I cannot recommend the New Hotel enough for those visiting Athens. It is probably the best hotel I think I have ever stayed at.

Many others have commented on the decor so I wont go into that, but some of the other selling points include:
- Sound proof rooms: often difficult to get in hotels in European cities
- Great Central Location: 2-3 minute walk from main city square where bus goes directly to airport
- Fantastic breakfasts: the hotel actually has their own pastry chef
- Terrace: overlooking Acropolis and good for an evening drink
- Functional Gym: The best gym I have ever seen in a hotel with machines that actually work
- Staff: always really helpful and friendly
- Clean

I actually cannot think of any negatives regarding this hotel except for perhaps not having a pool although if you are only staying a few days you are likely to be too busy sight seeing anyway.

It's a shame there isn't a 'New Hotel' in every city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cass_Reece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
155 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

It does not get any better than this hotel -- I wish that it was in a city that I got to more often!
It's that good!
Staff are amazing, check in simple and friendly (one of the few instances in Greece where we felt welcome) rooms gorgeous and so well appointed and the location close to Plaka and The Acropolis was superb
Breakfast was lovely and imaginative
We had only one day in Athens and this hotel was the anchor for a magical day
Would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kerryharrismail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
213 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Easy stroll to the Acropolis/Plaka/Syntagma Square. Perfect location if you're going to explore Athens for a day or two. The room was really nice: new, clean, living space and bathroom, lovely balcony. Free wifi worked well. The breakfast was good. Not too exciting: a buffet with fried eggs if you wanted them. The staff we encountered were friendly, from the concierge to the waitstaff. The upstairs restaurant on the roof has a money maker view of the Acropolis. Definitely a great place to unwind. We did encounter a dud employee up there who acted like we were an imposition, but everyone else was so very nice...Finally, the hotel has a small spa. The massage I had was sublime. It was a perfect way to end the vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Great to experience a fresh and bold hotel in Athens. Regular visitor to the city and have been incredibly impressed by the decor, cleanliness and above all, service. It is among the best of any I have encountered in Europe. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pgvas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,805 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#4 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel

Property: New Hotel
Address: 16 Filellinon | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 57, Greece (Formerly Olympic Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Athens
#3 Business Hotel in Athens
#5 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#5 Family Hotel in Athens
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — New Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel is located 200 meters from Syntagma (Constitution) Square, the most central part of Athens, a center point to the daily activities of all Athenians. An ideal location to get the best of Athens, from ancient to modern times. New Hotel, a deluxe property totally designed (with exclusive furniture) by Campana brothers. 79 rooms & suites in total, featuring a strong and authentic Greek design concept within the rooms under the perception of the Campana brothers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your New Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Palace Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing