We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location !”
Review of New Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
New Hotel
Ranked #12 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Curacao
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location !”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Great location in Athens, walking distance to the old sites and historic locations. Next to a park and many restaurants. Excellent service from the front desk, really friendly and attentive people. The room was very nice and clean. Interior design is impressive. Got a tip for a terrace garden restaurant next to the acropolis, fantastic, must do in Athens.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sacha251276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,043
    377
    58
    16
    12
See reviews for
232
773
70
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I cannot recommend the New Hotel enough for those visiting Athens. It is probably the best hotel I think I have ever stayed at.

Many others have commented on the decor so I wont go into that, but some of the other selling points include:
- Sound proof rooms: often difficult to get in hotels in European cities
- Great Central Location: 2-3 minute walk from main city square where bus goes directly to airport
- Fantastic breakfasts: the hotel actually has their own pastry chef
- Terrace: overlooking Acropolis and good for an evening drink
- Functional Gym: The best gym I have ever seen in a hotel with machines that actually work
- Staff: always really helpful and friendly
- Clean

I actually cannot think of any negatives regarding this hotel except for perhaps not having a pool although if you are only staying a few days you are likely to be too busy sight seeing anyway.

It's a shame there isn't a 'New Hotel' in every city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cass_Reece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

It does not get any better than this hotel -- I wish that it was in a city that I got to more often!
It's that good!
Staff are amazing, check in simple and friendly (one of the few instances in Greece where we felt welcome) rooms gorgeous and so well appointed and the location close to Plaka and The Acropolis was superb
Breakfast was lovely and imaginative
We had only one day in Athens and this hotel was the anchor for a magical day
Would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerryharrismail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Easy stroll to the Acropolis/Plaka/Syntagma Square. Perfect location if you're going to explore Athens for a day or two. The room was really nice: new, clean, living space and bathroom, lovely balcony. Free wifi worked well. The breakfast was good. Not too exciting: a buffet with fried eggs if you wanted them. The staff we encountered were friendly, from the concierge to the waitstaff. The upstairs restaurant on the roof has a money maker view of the Acropolis. Definitely a great place to unwind. We did encounter a dud employee up there who acted like we were an imposition, but everyone else was so very nice...Finally, the hotel has a small spa. The massage I had was sublime. It was a perfect way to end the vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Great to experience a fresh and bold hotel in Athens. Regular visitor to the city and have been incredibly impressed by the decor, cleanliness and above all, service. It is among the best of any I have encountered in Europe. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pgvas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SG
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I stayed in Athens for 5 nights and I think selecting New Hotel was one of the best decisions ever. The hotel was centrally located near Syntagma metro station and the shopping district. The hotel was well furnished with contemporary interiors, room was clean and inviting. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast were sumptuous.

The "rooftop lounge" - Art Lounge has a nice evening view of Athens.

If you are in Athens, I would highly recommend New Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bittercool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is almost comparable to 5 star hotel rooms expect the size is slightly small. The rooms are unique with amazing interiors. The location is perfect, near to all the tourist places in athens. Violeta Pappa at the reception is so much helpful and nice. The hotel is very very good. They booked the taxi for us to pick us from the port. In all ways the hotel is super. Acropolis and shopping streets of kolonaki and ermou street is just 5 min walk.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnuragJain128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 326 in Athens
3,082 reviews
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Electra Metropolis Athens
#10 of 326 in Athens
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 326 in Athens
3,795 reviews
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel

Property: New Hotel
Address: 16 Filellinon | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 57, Greece (Formerly Olympic Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Athens
#3 Business Hotel in Athens
#5 Family Hotel in Athens
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#10 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — New Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel is located 200 meters from Syntagma (Constitution) Square, the most central part of Athens, a center point to the daily activities of all Athenians. An ideal location to get the best of Athens, from ancient to modern times. New Hotel, a deluxe property totally designed (with exclusive furniture) by Campana brothers. 79 rooms & suites in total, featuring a strong and authentic Greek design concept within the rooms under the perception of the Campana brothers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Bookgreece.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your New Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Palace Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing