We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel near sites”
Review of New Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
New Hotel
Ranked #9 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here recently for three nights on our honeymoon. Good central location to see the sites. Amazing pastries and fresh OJ in morning. Bed was very comfortable. Only issue we had was they put us in the handicap room which had a sink that was 2 feet off the ground. When we asked for another room they immediately gave us a different room. Hotel has a cool vibe.

Room Tip: Avoid handicap room.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing with us your kind review. It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed our homemade breakfast at our restaurant New Taste. Once again we thank you and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back to New Hotel.!
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,535)
There are newer reviews for New Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

970 - 976 of 1,535 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

With a very close location to center (2min walk from Syndagma square), New Hotel is a real artistic hotel with a a very delicious morning buffet and a superb kitchen/chef (try the Tuna stake)

It is very much recommended, with a fair view at the Acropolis, the hotel is clean, neat, staff are very much helpful, fluent in English, internet connection is fair enough, I definitely enjoyed the room with its special touch design,

I definitely appreciate the hotel’s value and recognition for his past thru the modern design, the hotel in brand NEW now.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing New hotel during your stay in Athens. We are glad that you enjoyed our location, services and hospitality. On behalf of our team we thank you and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Kind regards
Hotel Manager
Dimitris Valyrakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

This is a fantastic place to stay in Athens. Locations is great - walking distance to main attractions.

Staff are friendly and helpful.

Breakfast and lunch were awesome. Cocktails were great especially on the rooftop bar. We never had dinner there but I'm sure its great.

Rooms are a bit small (not unusual for Europe). Room is well arranged so we didn't feel cramped.

Overall style/design is contemporary and funky....really cool vibe.

The only negatives (I think I'm being picky now) are no coffee maker in room and no pool.

HIGHLY recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandJ27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for sharing with us your detailed review as well as your kind comments. It gives us great satisfaction to know that you enjoyed our homemade breakfast, lunch and exotic cocktails at both our restaurants. On behalf of our team we thank you and we would love to welcome you back upon your next visit in Athens.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the New Hotel for four nights and enjoyed the ambience of the design of this unique hotel. The room was great and the details of a traveler's needs while on the road had been thoughtfully designed into the room. The reading lights by the bed were fabulous. The bed was so comfortable and although Athens is a noisy city, the room was quiet. We were on the sixth floor and could hear furniture being moved on the rooftop lounge area (floor 7), but it was not a problem as it did not last for long. The breakfasts were among the best we have had anywhere and the fresh squeezed orange juice was delicious. The room had only two minor issues: the bathroom shower leaked water onto the wood floor and the room did not have coffee/tea making equipment. I was sick the first two days of the trip and the hotel provided a hot water pot so that I could make tea during the day - they were very efficient and the hotel was immaculately clean. A wonderful hotel so close to Syntagma Square!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing with us your kind review. It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed our bedding experience ,hospitality and our homemade breakfast at our restaurant New Taste. On behalf of our team we would like to thank you for your kind words and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Kind regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed 5 nights and loved this hotel. The contemporary design is both fun and substantial and even better than in the photos. We had a little trouble getting oriented from the Metro stop at Syntagma on arrival but after that the location was perfect for walking south, west and east and close to the Metro to go north. The breakfasts were the best of those in our 3 hotels in Greece and the one dinner we had (grilled calamari) was also excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful. Oddly enough, the housekeeping did not know about replacing glasses from the drawer containing wine glasses and highball glasses. And some water tended to leak out of the shower floor. We liked the tall "ladder back" chair as a clothes valet. All in all, we highly recommend New Hotel.

Room Tip: Room 604 (Studio room with queen bed) was perfect. The view out over the church and the park was ide...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phoebe059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing New hotel during your vacation in Athens. We are glad that you enjoyed our homemade breakfast at our restaurant New Taste as well as our services and hospitality. On behalf of our team we thank you and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back in Athens in the near future.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We loved our three night visit in May depsite a shaky start. We arrived just before 10 pm following some 16 hours of travel from the western US. Despite my request (via an exchange of prior emails) for an especially quiet room while we were trying to overcome jet lag, it turns out they were going to put us on a low floor near the front where garbage is collected early in the morning. When I showed my great disappointment, the front desk asked us to wait about a half an hour and they would improve the room. So, despite being awfully tired, we agreed and went into the restaurant for a late bite and a glass of wine...the food surprised us: it was excellent and beautifully presented, and we loved the atmosphere in the dining room. Breakfasts were outstanding too.
The room was worth the wait: we were upgraded from a Superior to a double Superior on a higher floor, where we could see the Acropolis from the balcony. And it was quiet!!!
We loved the rooftop bar and lounge and thought the artwork and decor throughout was modern.creative and interesting and original--nothing cookie cutter or generic.
And the concierge staff was excellent--helpful, playful and accurate.
We also highly recommend Tingo--although we paid early, it alerted us to a great two day sale at the hotel, which reduced the price of our rooms quite a bit--so we had amazing value on top of comfort and chic surroundings.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does NOT face the busy street. Higher is also better.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaliGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing New Hotel during your vacation in Athens. We are glad that our team could meet up with your requests and made your accommodation a pleasant experience. It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed our restaurant New Taste both during breakfast and dinning. We are happy that you had the opportunity to visit our rooftop restaurant Art Lounge and enjoyed both our Art and the breathtaking view of Athens. Thank you and we would love to welcome you back upon your next vacation in Athens.
Kind regards
Hotel Manager
Dimitris Valyrakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in the new hotel. The location is unbeatable, very close to all the sights and also 3 min from Syntagma square where you can catch the metro.
The breakfast is fantastic-very good breads and croissants and the staff is very friendly!
The rooms are lovely and very clean, we stayed in the postcard room.
We will definitely be back! Keep up your great work! Eistai foveroi kai sas eyxaristoumai poly!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us such a detailed review. It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed our hospitality as well as our traditional homemade breakfast at our restaurant New Taste. We will share your kind words with the rest of our staff and we will be happy to accommodate you again in the future!
Σας ευχαριστούμε πολύ
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,151 reviews
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,846 reviews
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel

Address: 16 Filellinon | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 57, Greece (Formerly Olympic Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Athens
#2 Business Hotel in Athens
#3 Family Hotel in Athens
#5 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#8 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $139 - $2,788 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — New Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel is located 200 meters from Syntagma (Constitution) Square, the most central part of Athens, a center point to the daily activities of all Athenians. An ideal location to get the best of Athens, from ancient to modern times. New Hotel, a deluxe property totally designed (with exclusive furniture) by Campana brothers. 79 rooms & suites in total, featuring a strong and authentic Greek design concept within the rooms under the perception of the Campana brothers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Palace Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing