We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City Centre but quiet and comfy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Hotel
Ranked #6 of 333 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Abeche, Chad
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“City Centre but quiet and comfy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

The electric shutters block out nearly all the noise and light and the bed was comfy. I'd stay there again if I was returning to Athens. Can't say anything bad about this place. Lycee cocktail very nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissAussieAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your kind comments. We are glad that you enjoyed our hospitality and bedding experience. Once again we thank you and we would love to welcome you back on your next visit in Athens.
Kind regards
Hotel Manager
Dimitris Valyrakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    985
    349
    51
    14
    9
See reviews for
209
726
67
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Great quiet location at the city center, spectacular design from the Cambana brothers, fabulous restaurant, super breakfast, natural bright Athenian light in all rooms, excellent service and great value for money at 160 euros. This was our second "break away from home" stay in this jem of a hotel in one year, leaving the kids at home (in Athens!) and spending a relaxing & rejuvenating 24 hours at NEW. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms with the postcards theme and also looking over the church across the street are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seta Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for choosing New Hotel once more for your “brake away from home relaxation”. Our aim is to offer comfort and hospitality to all our guests and we are glad that we passed on this warm “New” feeling. We shall share your appreciative comments with our team. We hope to have the pleasure to have you as our guest at our restaurant The New Art Lounge on the seventh floor where you can enjoy the breathtaking view of Athens along with our chefs’ finest choices.
Kind regards
Hotel Manager
Dimitris Valyrakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
89 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

In the very center of the city, this hotel with a surprising design is a very good address! The service is excellent, with a very nice staff, the rooms are very comfortable, with a lot of natural light. The view from my room was very nice, including a view on the Acropolis from my bathroom! The fitness room is medium sized but very well equiped.
The only thing that makes me note this hotel "very good" and not "excellent" is that my room had windows on the street and the soundproofing could have been better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FredK1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing New Hotel during your stay in Athens. We are glad that you enjoyed our hospitality, location and services. We shall share your appreciative comments with our team. We hope to have the pleasure to have you as our guest in the near future.
Kind regards
Hotel Manager
Dimitris Valyrakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

This hotel is fabulous, its location, the staff the quirky boutique settings could not have been better. Indeed the pictures on the internet do not do it justice. The breakfast was excellent and the dining staff and reception staff could not have done enough for us. There was six in our party and everyone loved it! Very highly recommended.

There is a rooftop bar which is another feature which has excellent views!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJM349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
We highly appreciate both yours and your friends’ kind comments. It will give us great pleasure to accommodate you again in the near future and introduce you to our Art Lounge on the 7th floor where you can enjoy both great views and delicacies from our New menu.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Our stay at the New Hotel was October 2012.
We usually stay at another Hotel in Athens when we go twice annually. This time we decided to stay at the New Hotel. Prior to making a reservation we communicated with the reservation staff to arrange for the car service to pick us up at the airport, as well as, a better description of the hotel room that we wanted. Their response was immediate, and helpful in making a decision.

We arrived at the airport around 8 in the morning, and the car service was there. Checking-in was efficient and seamless.

The hotel is beautifully appointed, and very modern in its decor. It is centrally located and in walking distance to many of the historical sites.

I love the ecologically sensitivity to the rooms. I had a corner studio with a beautiful view of the Russian Church. The bedding was one of the most comfortable bed I have stayed in except for the Willard Hotel in Washington D.C.

The daily breakfast was delicious, with the fresh baked croissants.

The staff provided exceptional service.

Overall, this is a great hotel, and we will be staying there again June 2013.

Room Tip: Corner studios are sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JAGreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind preference towards New Hotel. It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed our hospitality, services as well as our bedding experience. Our aim is to offer comfort and hospitality to all our guests and we are glad that we passed on this warm “New” feeling. We shall share your encouraging comments with the rest of our staff and we will be more than happy to have you as our guest on your next visit in Athens.
Kind regards
Hotel Manager
Dimitris Valyrakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

The location of the hotel is perfect even for families with kids. The sightseeing bus is 3 minutes away , the National Gardens are across the street, Plaka district a short walk away. The rooms are very nice decorated as well as the restaurant. The food is excellent and the stuff really helpful.

Room Tip: we had a suite on the 6th floor that was not as quiet as expected but for the location of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonaCiutacu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your kind review. It is appreciating comments like yours that encourage us to offer our outmost to our valuable guests and keep up our motivation. The hotel team and myself would like to thank you and it will be our pleasure to accommodate you again in the near future !
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed at NEW Hotel on our recent visit to Athens. This boutique hotel is truly exceptional, not to mention much less expensive than many of the more traditional, high-end hotels in town (we booked the 3 nights for 2 package).

Details we enjoyed included: one of the best hotel breakfast buffets (even one of our tour guides mentioned it!), very well-appointed rooms, snacks in the lobby, a gym with the latest fitness equipment and all the little details one could want (personal note from concierge, free snacks and water in the room daily, nice soaps and shampoos, etc.). Most importantly, the staff was amazing. The gentleman at the front desk even packed a ‘to go’ breakfast for us on the morning of our departure since we had such an early flight! Can’t recommend this hotel more highly…stop wasting time on Trip Advisor and book it now!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing New Hotel during your holiday in Athens as well as your kind comments. We are glad that you have enjoyed our hospitality, our location and our homemade breakfast at New Taste. The hotel team and myself would like to thank you and we will be more than happy to accommodate you again in the near future. Please feel free to visit our website at any time for more information on our cultural packages.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 333 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,797 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#4 of 333 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#9 of 333 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel

Property: New Hotel
Address: 16 Filellinon | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 57, Greece (Formerly Olympic Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Athens
#3 Business Hotel in Athens
#5 Family Hotel in Athens
#5 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — New Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel is located 200 meters from Syntagma (Constitution) Square, the most central part of Athens, a center point to the daily activities of all Athenians. An ideal location to get the best of Athens, from ancient to modern times. New Hotel, a deluxe property totally designed (with exclusive furniture) by Campana brothers. 79 rooms & suites in total, featuring a strong and authentic Greek design concept within the rooms under the perception of the Campana brothers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone and Jetsetter so you can book your New Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Palace Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing