We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultra-Modern and Convenient”
Review of New Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
New Hotel
Ranked #11 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Ultra-Modern and Convenient”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The New Hotel is quite nice and an easy walk to the Plaka and the sites in Athens. The rooms are modern, interesting and comfortable and clean (wood floors and surfaces). The balconies are pointless (at least on the lower floors) because the busy street outside makes them unusable. However, the rooms are sound-proofed so that you really do not notice the traffic - unless you have the doors open. The service was quite good (although we thought that we had arranged a ride from the airport, which did not show up -- but this was no big deal because the taxis at the airport are convenient). Some of the functional art is not all that functional -- the chairs in the room are not really chairs that you can actually use, but I guess the thought there is that no one really uses the chairs in a hotel room. All in all, we enjoyed are stay there and would recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregandRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
On behalf of our staff thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay New Hotel and left you with good memories. Please accept our sincere apologies for your inconvenience occurred by the non-show taxi as per your request and thank you for your understanding. It will be our pleasure to accommodate you again on your next visit in Athens.

Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,002
    359
    53
    15
    10
See reviews for
212
743
68
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

New Hotel is really a great place to stay in Athens!! It's conveniently located in the centre; Acropolis, Plaka restaurants, shops are all in walking distance. The staff is attentionate. We left the day of the protests and were all the time kept informed. Breakfast is absolutely delicious and so are the little cakes welcoming you at the reception! Travellers' comments help us make up our choice for this hotel and we were not disappointed.

Room Tip: We even got a room on a side street (which is quieter) following to my preference request before arr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IsaCora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing New Hotel during your stay in Athens. We are pleased to hear from our guests such kind comments concerning our accommodation and services. We always do our best in order to meet our valuable guests’ expectations and needs. It will be our pleasure to welcome you at New Hotel on your next visit to Athens.
Kind regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2012

My husband and I recently spent 2 nights in the New Hotel in Athens. The staff could not have been nicer. The "included breakfast" was delicious and the breads are exceptional. The best thing about the hotel though was the staff. Everyone treated us with kindness and did their best to insure we had a pleasant stay. While stopping in for a late night coffee we happened to mention to the hostess Fotini that we were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary this trip. Within minutes we were brought flutes of a wonderful Moscato and 2 special dessert cakes decorated to celebrate our anniversary. I highly recommend this Hotel and if you stop by be sure to say hello to Fotini from us.

Room Tip: Try to get as high up as possible. The rooms have lovely balconies, but there is a lot of street no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katme51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed our accommodation and services while you were celebrating your 40th wedding anniversary. Our aim is to offer comfort and hospitality to our guests and make your stay an unforgettable experience. We will share your kind comments and mentions with our colleague Fotini and the rest of our staff and we will be more than happy to welcome you again at New Hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
127 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I read about the New Hotel at Travel & Leisure and asked my wife to book us there. She fighted until the previous day to move to another, better known hotel. When I finally checked TA I confirm I was not wrong.
Well, she was not disappointed. We took a very nice junior suite, very trendy, ample and comfortable.
But must important was the service the hotel provided us even without asking. Taxi to go to the airport, breakfast boxes, suggestions of restaurants. The ladies at the reception were all the time one step ahead and believe it was appreciated by us.
A very stylish modern hotel with great location near Plaka, as soon as we come back to Athens we shall return.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank enriquedemarchena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind comments. Such positive words of appreciation are the best reward for us and motivate us to keep improving. We shall share your encouraging comments with the rest of our staff. It is our pleasure to accommodate you again in the near future.
Kind regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We loved the New Hotel, it is a brilliant location and the staff are just amazing. We arrived the day before the protests and the staff always kept us informed and we always felt safe.

The hotel has an amazing vibe and those little extras that make your stay memorable.

What can we say, a little oasis in the heart of Athens.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ausegunns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing New Hotel during your stay in Athens. The staff of New Hotel would like to thank you for your kind words. It was our pleasure to have you as a guest and we look forward to accommodate you again in the near future.
Kind regards
Hotel Manager
Dimitris Valyrakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 6 nights last week. It was the most memorable stay we had for a very long time. We went there to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary, I am very happy we chose this particular hotel. We could not fault it in any way. The decor was modern & trndy, service with a smile everywhere in the hotel with a personal touch, nothing was too much for them, everyone speaks perfect English. They could not do enough for us. Breakfast has excellent variety, all fresh & really delicious. The hotel has a 24 hour business center with computers & printer that the guests can use for free. The hotel is situated right in the centre of Athens, could not be in a better position, most attractions are withing walking distance. We did not need to use a taxi or public transport not even once. It is also surrounded by very good Greek restaurants. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Athens and to anyone looking for a nice holiday. It is called NEW hotel and it will stay new because it has a unique pleasant atmosphere.

Room Tip: We chose a room with a balcony & city view. It was very pleasant to sit in the balcony & hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NADIA N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us such a detailed review. It gives us great pleasure to receive such comments and to know that you enjoyed your 40th wedding anniversary at New Hotel. Our aim is to offer comfort and hospitality to our guests and make your accommodation an unforgettable experience. Reviews such as yours motivated us to offer our outmost to our valuable guests. The hotel team and myself would like to thank you and we will be more than happy to accommodate you again on your next visit to Athens.

Kind Regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This place is my new favorite hotel. It's very trendy and the design is super cool. The staff is very nice, the rooms are very clean (hotel is very new), and the breakfast is pretty good. Little perks like business center (for printing out boarding passes) and a small gym make this a great home base for any visit. And then there's the room. We had a superior room which had a huge shower (2 full size showers with 2 heads on opposite ends in one room). The design was nice and each room was slightly different. It was a very relaxing and comforable home away from home after a long day in Athens. It is missing any iconic views (unless you stick your head out the window and down the street to see the Acropolis), but the hotel is so beautiful, that was okay. The location is perfect with it being 1 block from Syntagma Square, the central square and many many restaurants and shops within walking distance. Oh, and most comfortable beds EVER.

Room Tip: As for rooms, the higher the better to get above street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us such a detailed review. Our aim is to offer comfort and hospitality to all our guests and we are glad that we passed on this warm “New” feeling. We will share your kind comments with the rest of our stuff and we will be happy to accommodate you again in the future!
Kind regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,905 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel

Property: New Hotel
Address: 16 Filellinon | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 57, Greece (Formerly Olympic Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Athens
#3 Business Hotel in Athens
#5 Family Hotel in Athens
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#9 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — New Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel is located 200 meters from Syntagma (Constitution) Square, the most central part of Athens, a center point to the daily activities of all Athenians. An ideal location to get the best of Athens, from ancient to modern times. New Hotel, a deluxe property totally designed (with exclusive furniture) by Campana brothers. 79 rooms & suites in total, featuring a strong and authentic Greek design concept within the rooms under the perception of the Campana brothers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your New Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Palace Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing