We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”
Review of New Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
New Hotel
Ranked #10 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Highly recommend this hotel. Fantastic service and loved the decor. Remanance of the old hotel built in the 1960's was incorporated. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinyTraveler79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,015
    367
    54
    15
    10
See reviews for
215
757
68
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

This hotel has some really different and fun styling which you can see the moment you walk in the lobby. We wanted a more modern hotel, and all of the funky styling is not exactly our taste, but we did get a modern, clean hotel walking distance to the main hot spots. There is free WiFi and it's only a block or so walk to the hop on hop off buses which is the best way to tour this city. There are lots of restaurants also within close walking distance. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The only part we didn't love was the breakfast, but I think that was more our choice of food versus bad food.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FAVRTE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to share with us your comments. We are glad that you have enjoyed your vacation in Athens as well as our services and location. New taste restaurant offers the finest fresh homemade bread and viennoiserie as well as choices of a variety of eggs and accompaniments upon request. We would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back to New hotel on your next visit in Athens.
Kind regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
191 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

You must go to this hotel if you're staying in Athens! What a gem...

Reason #1- Stylish, unique, modern, clean hotel. Like no other hotel I've seen before!
Reason #2 - Best breakfast. Ever!! This place serves breakfast out of a restaurant, this is no mere buffet! Top shelf pastries out of the oven straight to your plate. Eggs made however you want them, made to order. Coffee, lattes, espresso, whatever you want!
Reason #3 - Location! Walking distance of most "tourist" areas of Athens, including Parthenon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jfbibeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear Guest,
It is always our pleasure to receive such kind reviews and know that you had an excellent stay with us!. Such positive reviews are very encouraging and motivate us to keep improving! We will be delighted to accommodate you again in the near future!

Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

It is no accident that this establishment (in 2012) its rated as the top hotel in Athens. Sometimes words are not enough to describe hospitality and service...New Hotel is just that! Strategically located in the wonderful neighbourhood of Fillelinon, all essential tourist sights are within walking distance: Monument of Unknown Soldier; Temple of Zeus, Agora and of course Acropolis. Syntagma Metro station is a mere 5 minutes away.

Comfort in the hotel and rooms is unrivalled. And the actual rooms, well I will leave that as a surprise...the interior deco was masterminded by world-renowned designers! Politeness is a key feature throughout this institution: reception, catering and room service. I was extremely impressed with the knowledge and patience of the consierge staff. As alluded to by earlier reviewers, breakfast is an experience itself.

Having travelled all continents and stayed in some of the most reputable hotels in the world, I would say that New Hotel is definitely in my Top-5. Try for yourself.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisShailos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind comments. Such positive reviews of appreciation are the best reward for us and motivate us to keep improving our efforts offering the outmost to our valuable guests.
We shall share your encouraging comments with the rest of our staff.
We hope to have the pleasure to accommodate you again on your next visit in Athens.
Kind regards
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

Read reviews on tripadvisor and met all and exceeded them.

Well located in athens. Great breakfast with homemade scrumptious pastries , rooms exceptionally comfortable including most comfortable bed I've slept in! Attention to detail amazing and exceptionsl service from staff members who care. Small touches that make a difference.

Will highly reccomend. Well done.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krigdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your kind comments. Our aim is offer comfort and hospitality to all our guests and make your experience at New Hotel enjoyable. We would be delighted to accommodate you again on your next visit in Athens.
Yours Sincerely
Dimitris Valyrakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

What an amazing experience...great hotel, cool story on it's renovation...really well done...very current...terrific restaurant...wonderful staff.... Can't get better.

Room Tip: There is a quiet side to the hotel if u prefer
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience during your stay at New Hotel. We appreciate your kind comments and we will be more than happy to accommodate you again on your next visit in Athens.

Yours Sincerely
Dimitris Valyrakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Level Contributor
53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

A different hotel in Athens, in a good sense or rather in a great sense. I think it is the best of its category in the city. Friendly and helpful personel, positive faces, great facilities and location. But for me its highlight is the restaurant!!!!!!!!! Every single time is an experience! I love especially the bread and oil combination they serve as a pre-apetizer!!! You can trust the chef's combinations, freshness of materials and service in this restaurant.
I would strongly suggest to the hotel management to promote this beautiful restaurant via their website etc more!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giota K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our Chef, Mr. Steven Frost, and our staff, i would like to thank you for your kind comments! You have described in full, our desire to offer our guests quality signature meals with the freshest of products, in a stylish and relaxing environment!
We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in New Hotel and New Taste Restaurant in the near future!

Yours Sincerely
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 326 in Athens
2,973 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Electra Metropolis Athens
#11 of 326 in Athens
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 326 in Athens
3,238 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 326 in Athens
1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel

Property: New Hotel
Address: 16 Filellinon | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 57, Greece (Formerly Olympic Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Athens
#3 Business Hotel in Athens
#5 Family Hotel in Athens
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#8 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — New Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel is located 200 meters from Syntagma (Constitution) Square, the most central part of Athens, a center point to the daily activities of all Athenians. An ideal location to get the best of Athens, from ancient to modern times. New Hotel, a deluxe property totally designed (with exclusive furniture) by Campana brothers. 79 rooms & suites in total, featuring a strong and authentic Greek design concept within the rooms under the perception of the Campana brothers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your New Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Palace Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing