We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Design at business time”
Review of New Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Hotel
Ranked #9 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I arrived to this hotel by chance. After a litte trouble Reguarding my serration I got very nice junior suite thanks to the efficiency of Paulina, the receptionist. The design of he hotel is very delighted, rooms are very nice, quite and well equipped. The restaurant is overpriced but food quality is excellent. I'll be in this hotel again during my next business trips to Athens. Btw the location is right in the heart of Athens, avoid it during strikes, revolution and black block activities.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simone B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind comments. It is always our pleasure to receive such reviews and know that you had an excellent stay with us!
We will be happy to accommodate you again in the near future!
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,532)
There are newer reviews for New Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,167 - 1,173 of 1,532 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2012

Overall, the hotel is decently priced and in a good location. It's a short walk to the Metro Station in Syntagma Square, and about a 20 minute walk to most of the major attractions in Plaka. The staff is friendly and helpful and the breakfast buffet is good.

The New Hotel is one of the most interesting designs I have ever seen in a hotel. Very cool and worth checking out the lobby, even if you don't stay there. Our room was very comfortable and we liked its art installation - blown-up antique Athens postcards. We didn't have a balcony, but many of the rooms in the hotel do.

Our one complaint was that the internet connection in our room was unreliable. We also noticed that our TV was not working, but otherwise we were very happy with our choice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 7HeatherS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2012

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience during your stay at New Hotel. We consider your comments valuable and we would like to let you know that we already took the appropriate actions as far as the internet is concerned. We are looking forward to welcome you back at New Hotel.
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We arrived early in the morning, they just checked if any rooms are available and welcomed us in. Fresh fruits, water and desserts at reception. Very friendly staff. No one asks you to fill out a form etc, they just print it out and ask for a signature only. Beautifully designed rooms, every single piece in the room is in line with the design and concept. Perfect breakfast. They even close your curtains for you for the night, to make your sleep more comfortable. I'd definitely recommend this hotel to all travelers.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BurceGultekin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing New Hotel during your stay in Athens.Receiving such comments as yours encourages us to offer our outmost and increase our efforts. We will be delighted to accommodate you again in the near future!

Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

So New, So Chic, So Groovy, So Savvy, I was blown away with the design, how clever. Spend time really looking at the decor it is amazing, The Location is fantastic close to the Plaka which I loved. So much shopping and cafes/restaurants. The New Hotel is so comfortable in every way, interaction with the staff is so easy they are really relaxed and so professional and fun. As a solo traveller it was a real breeze to stay at the New Hotel. The evil eye gift was a lovely touch and every time I look at my evil eye that now sits on my mantel at home I think of the New Hotel and really look forward to visiting again. The Clairns amenities were definitely fit for this travel Princess along with the comfy bathrobes and slippers. Free Wi-Fi worked well.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelPrincessJojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for talking the time to share with us your kind words. Our aim is to offer comfort and hospitality to all our guests and make New Hotel a “home-away-from-home” experience. The hotel team and myself would like to thank you once more and we will be more than happy to accommodate you again on your next visit to Athens.
Yours Sincerely
Dimitris Valyrakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

A very modern hotel with beautiful rooms. The decor of the room was wonderful with greek evil eyes on the walls, chic bathroom and really comfy bed. The service was exceptional. The staff was very attentive, even the bell hop spent time describing the decor of the place to us and explaining the designers work. Our only regret was that we there for only one night and arrived late and had to leave early in the morning. But not before experiencing their amazing breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank partho22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

It is always a pleasure to receive such kind comments during your last visit in Athens. We are glad that you had a great stay with us and would love to accommodate you again on your next visit .
Yours Sincerely
Dimitris Valyrakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

The words are not enough to describe the wonderful experience I had when staying at this hotel. The design is really impressive. The staff is very friendly and polite. Everything is spotlessly clean not only the room but the other areas as well. As a previous reviewer mentioned the beds are indeed some of the best. The only downside I experienced was the soundproofing of the windows. As the hotel is on a busy road, the noise of the traffic could not be entirely ignored. I will definitely use the hotel regularly for my future trips to Athens.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SGVSofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure having you as our guest at New Hotel .The staff of New Hotel would like to thank you for your kind words. It was our pleasure to have you as a guest and we look forward to accommodate you again in the near future.
Yours Sincerely
Dimitris Valyrakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

hthe hotel is superb with classy furniture, top class staff and excellent food. above all, I sepnt 90 mns at the spa, back/neck massage+ facial with Tina and I think I've lost 10 years. Wonderful Tina has magic fingers and together with demalogica products makes your skin new and your body relax! you have to spend sometime there when you stop at Athenes

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sophie197478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind comments. It is our dedication to serve our guests in the best way possible and make their stay memorable. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time at New Sense wellness center and hope to have the pleasure to accommodate you again in the near future.
Yours Sincerely
Dimitris Valyrakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,142 reviews
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,836 reviews
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel

Address: 16 Filellinon | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 57, Greece (Formerly Olympic Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Athens
#2 Business Hotel in Athens
#3 Family Hotel in Athens
#5 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#8 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $177 - $2,424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — New Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel is located 200 meters from Syntagma (Constitution) Square, the most central part of Athens, a center point to the daily activities of all Athenians. An ideal location to get the best of Athens, from ancient to modern times. New Hotel, a deluxe property totally designed (with exclusive furniture) by Campana brothers. 79 rooms & suites in total, featuring a strong and authentic Greek design concept within the rooms under the perception of the Campana brothers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Palace Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing