We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of New Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
New Hotel
Ranked #8 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 20, 2012

A very modern hotel with beautiful rooms. The decor of the room was wonderful with greek evil eyes on the walls, chic bathroom and really comfy bed. The service was exceptional. The staff was very attentive, even the bell hop spent time describing the decor of the place to us and explaining the designers work. Our only regret was that we there for only one night and arrived late and had to leave early in the morning. But not before experiencing their amazing breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank partho22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

It is always a pleasure to receive such kind comments during your last visit in Athens. We are glad that you had a great stay with us and would love to accommodate you again on your next visit .
Yours Sincerely
Dimitris Valyrakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,206 - 1,212 of 1,572 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2012

The words are not enough to describe the wonderful experience I had when staying at this hotel. The design is really impressive. The staff is very friendly and polite. Everything is spotlessly clean not only the room but the other areas as well. As a previous reviewer mentioned the beds are indeed some of the best. The only downside I experienced was the soundproofing of the windows. As the hotel is on a busy road, the noise of the traffic could not be entirely ignored. I will definitely use the hotel regularly for my future trips to Athens.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SGVSofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure having you as our guest at New Hotel .The staff of New Hotel would like to thank you for your kind words. It was our pleasure to have you as a guest and we look forward to accommodate you again in the near future.
Yours Sincerely
Dimitris Valyrakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

hthe hotel is superb with classy furniture, top class staff and excellent food. above all, I sepnt 90 mns at the spa, back/neck massage+ facial with Tina and I think I've lost 10 years. Wonderful Tina has magic fingers and together with demalogica products makes your skin new and your body relax! you have to spend sometime there when you stop at Athenes

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sophie197478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind comments. It is our dedication to serve our guests in the best way possible and make their stay memorable. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time at New Sense wellness center and hope to have the pleasure to accommodate you again in the near future.
Yours Sincerely
Dimitris Valyrakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

This was one of the reasons why our Athens trip was a success. The hotel is new, the staff is excellent, the breakfast is just great (real great cappuccino, incredible croissants), the hotel is very well located. The price was like 350 EUR for 3 days, not soo cheap but worth it.... if the hotel is within your budget.. just go for it! I am happy we checked tripadvisor before this trip!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank zuagroaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing New Hotel during your last visit in Athens as well as your kind comments. It will be our pleasure to welcome you again in the future.
We remain at your disposal.
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012 via mobile

The new hotel was really a pleasant experience. The staff are helpful and cordial, English was good. Check in and out was easy. Breakfast was included and though it's a bit light on options, what is offered is tasty. The yogurt is fantastic as youd expect. The walls are decorated/made with wood reclaimed from the previous hotel on that spot, a nice touch. A sixth floor room was the right choice, street noise from Fillenos was not too bad and the view was pretty good. I found the water pressure in the shower lacking, but not exceptionally so. The small spa and workout room was ok as well. All modern equipment, etc. Really a nice few days in an attractive and clean hotel with a nice staff. Book with confidence.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dohadad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your taking to share with us your kind review. It is always our pleasure to receive such reviews and know that you had an excellent stay with us!
We will be happy to accommodate you again in the future!

Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

This hotel is a mixed bag, some things are really good and others are not:

- Room: Stayed on the 5th floor and the had a nice balcony with view of (Filopappos) hill and an orthodox church. That being said, the room cramped with the bathroom being part of the room which isn't very practical. The shower/handshower combo is also hard to operate.

- Staff: the staff at the reception / concierge was extremely cordial and helpful. They helped plan the tourist visits and also helped open the bag locks when the key was lost. The staff at breakfast is a different story - impolite and arrogant with a weird setup. The stark difference in the two attitudes surprising.

- Location: Very central though a few minutes walk from the Syntagma metro station. okay if you don't have much luggage to haul.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank jmalkani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing New Hotel during your recent visit in Athens.
We will share your kind comments with the rest of our stuff and rest assure that we will remain at your assistance.
Be reassured that we will do our best to meet your needs and expectations at all times and we will be happy to accommodate you again in the future!
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Short version: Everything was perfect: the room (studio) was very nice and clean, the bed was comfortable, the staff was very friendly, helpful and just great, the breakfast was very good and the location was perfect. We didn't use the metro at all.

Long version: We arrived at about 10AM. The hotel staff welcomed us by offering offering us some water and a comfortable place to sit. The manager was very nice and gave us room although it was very early. The breakfast is half buffet - half serviced (by the nicest people). It has a variety of pastries, cheese, breads, cereals, beverages (including freshly squeezed orange juice) and hot drinks. You can also order any kind of eggs with plenty side dishes. You can basically eat any style you want.
We also traveled with a baby and due to our late flight were offered a room to freshen-up in the evening when we came back for our luggage (free of charge). We didn't have time to accept the offer, although it was greatly appreciated. If we're ever in Athens again there's no doubt we'll come back to this great hotel. The room was very big and clean, house keeping visits the room twice a day. The hotel has an unusual modern interior design, both in the public areas and in the rooms. It's really does look new :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yaniv A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us your kind remarks. We are glad that our services added value on your holiday in Athens. The hotel team and myself would like to thank you for choosing New Hotel during your stay and we will be more than happy to accommodate you and your family again in the near future.
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#11 of 282 in Athens
3,263 reviews
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 282 in Athens
1,742 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,941 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel

Address: 16 Filellinon | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 57, Greece (Formerly Olympic Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Athens
#2 Business Hotel in Athens
#3 Family Hotel in Athens
#5 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#7 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $176 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — New Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Filellinon Street, next to Constitution Square (Syntagma Square), this contemporary design hotel, is perfectly positioned for the sights of Athens, including the ruins of Plaka, the Acropolis and its museum, the stylish boutique shopping district of Kolonaki, and the bustling business zone. Situated in the former Olympic Palace Hotel, New Hotel encompasses the heritage of its past by using recycled parts of the old hotel and reinterpreted local materials to create a complete work of art, where outstanding interiors, unusual custom-made furniture and handmade fixtures make guests feel that they live and breathe in a major art installation. Offering an entirely NEW approach this 79-room and suites establishment, is one of the city’s finest examples of modernist architecture and the first ever hotel project of award designer duo, Fernando and Humberto Campana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your New Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Palace Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing