We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel!”
Review of New Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
New Hotel
Ranked #11 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sofia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel!”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

The words are not enough to describe the wonderful experience I had when staying at this hotel. The design is really impressive. The staff is very friendly and polite. Everything is spotlessly clean not only the room but the other areas as well. As a previous reviewer mentioned the beds are indeed some of the best. The only downside I experienced was the soundproofing of the windows. As the hotel is on a busy road, the noise of the traffic could not be entirely ignored. I will definitely use the hotel regularly for my future trips to Athens.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SGVSofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure having you as our guest at New Hotel .The staff of New Hotel would like to thank you for your kind words. It was our pleasure to have you as a guest and we look forward to accommodate you again in the near future.
Yours Sincerely
Dimitris Valyrakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,002
    359
    53
    15
    10
See reviews for
212
743
68
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Germain-de-Longue-Chaume, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

hthe hotel is superb with classy furniture, top class staff and excellent food. above all, I sepnt 90 mns at the spa, back/neck massage+ facial with Tina and I think I've lost 10 years. Wonderful Tina has magic fingers and together with demalogica products makes your skin new and your body relax! you have to spend sometime there when you stop at Athenes

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sophie197478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind comments. It is our dedication to serve our guests in the best way possible and make their stay memorable. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time at New Sense wellness center and hope to have the pleasure to accommodate you again in the near future.
Yours Sincerely
Dimitris Valyrakis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas/Munich
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

This was one of the reasons why our Athens trip was a success. The hotel is new, the staff is excellent, the breakfast is just great (real great cappuccino, incredible croissants), the hotel is very well located. The price was like 350 EUR for 3 days, not soo cheap but worth it.... if the hotel is within your budget.. just go for it! I am happy we checked tripadvisor before this trip!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zuagroaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing New Hotel during your last visit in Athens as well as your kind comments. It will be our pleasure to welcome you again in the future.
We remain at your disposal.
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012 via mobile

The new hotel was really a pleasant experience. The staff are helpful and cordial, English was good. Check in and out was easy. Breakfast was included and though it's a bit light on options, what is offered is tasty. The yogurt is fantastic as youd expect. The walls are decorated/made with wood reclaimed from the previous hotel on that spot, a nice touch. A sixth floor room was the right choice, street noise from Fillenos was not too bad and the view was pretty good. I found the water pressure in the shower lacking, but not exceptionally so. The small spa and workout room was ok as well. All modern equipment, etc. Really a nice few days in an attractive and clean hotel with a nice staff. Book with confidence.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dohadad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your taking to share with us your kind review. It is always our pleasure to receive such reviews and know that you had an excellent stay with us!
We will be happy to accommodate you again in the future!

Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

This hotel is a mixed bag, some things are really good and others are not:

- Room: Stayed on the 5th floor and the had a nice balcony with view of (Filopappos) hill and an orthodox church. That being said, the room cramped with the bathroom being part of the room which isn't very practical. The shower/handshower combo is also hard to operate.

- Staff: the staff at the reception / concierge was extremely cordial and helpful. They helped plan the tourist visits and also helped open the bag locks when the key was lost. The staff at breakfast is a different story - impolite and arrogant with a weird setup. The stark difference in the two attitudes surprising.

- Location: Very central though a few minutes walk from the Syntagma metro station. okay if you don't have much luggage to haul.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jmalkani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing New Hotel during your recent visit in Athens.
We will share your kind comments with the rest of our stuff and rest assure that we will remain at your assistance.
Be reassured that we will do our best to meet your needs and expectations at all times and we will be happy to accommodate you again in the future!
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binyamina, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Short version: Everything was perfect: the room (studio) was very nice and clean, the bed was comfortable, the staff was very friendly, helpful and just great, the breakfast was very good and the location was perfect. We didn't use the metro at all.

Long version: We arrived at about 10AM. The hotel staff welcomed us by offering offering us some water and a comfortable place to sit. The manager was very nice and gave us room although it was very early. The breakfast is half buffet - half serviced (by the nicest people). It has a variety of pastries, cheese, breads, cereals, beverages (including freshly squeezed orange juice) and hot drinks. You can also order any kind of eggs with plenty side dishes. You can basically eat any style you want.
We also traveled with a baby and due to our late flight were offered a room to freshen-up in the evening when we came back for our luggage (free of charge). We didn't have time to accept the offer, although it was greatly appreciated. If we're ever in Athens again there's no doubt we'll come back to this great hotel. The room was very big and clean, house keeping visits the room twice a day. The hotel has an unusual modern interior design, both in the public areas and in the rooms. It's really does look new :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yaniv A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us your kind remarks. We are glad that our services added value on your holiday in Athens. The hotel team and myself would like to thank you for choosing New Hotel during your stay and we will be more than happy to accommodate you and your family again in the near future.
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

You could certainly stay at the New Hotel just for the décor. The designers did a great job in reusing materials from the old building. Very imaginative, indeed.

But the bottom line is that the New Hotel is a hotel. And not just any hotel, it’s a great hotel. The rooms are excellent. The beds are among the best hotel beds we have ever slept in. Let’s be honest, the main purpose of a hotel is good night’s sleep and that’s what you get at the New Hotel.

The service is impeccable. Staff are extremely helpful. The restaurant is absolutely great. The chef has found the right mix of traditional Greek fare and modern international cuisine. Wouldn’t be surprised if Michelin or GaultMillau decided to reward this restaurant in the not too distant future.

The hotel’s location is just perfect. Walk out the door and turn right. Turn right again into Kydathinaion street and keep strolling past the dozens of souvenir shops and innumerable tavernas and after ten to fifteen minutes you bump into the Akropolis. Keep walking past the Odeion of Irodou Attikou and after a ten minute climb you’re looking out over Athens from the mighty Parthenon. Syntagma Square is just three blocks away.

Our next time in Athens we will stay at the New Hotel again. Without a doubt.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kipara1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience during your stay in Athens. We believe in personalized service for each and every one of our guests. Receiving such positive comments as yours encourages us to offer our outmost .We will be delighted to accommodate you again in the near future!
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,905 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel

Property: New Hotel
Address: 16 Filellinon | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 57, Greece (Formerly Olympic Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Athens
#3 Business Hotel in Athens
#5 Family Hotel in Athens
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#9 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — New Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel is located 200 meters from Syntagma (Constitution) Square, the most central part of Athens, a center point to the daily activities of all Athenians. An ideal location to get the best of Athens, from ancient to modern times. New Hotel, a deluxe property totally designed (with exclusive furniture) by Campana brothers. 79 rooms & suites in total, featuring a strong and authentic Greek design concept within the rooms under the perception of the Campana brothers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Bookgreece.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your New Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Palace Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing