We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“New Hotel is an excellent choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Hotel
Ranked #9 of 336 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“New Hotel is an excellent choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012 via mobile

The new hotel was really a pleasant experience. The staff are helpful and cordial, English was good. Check in and out was easy. Breakfast was included and though it's a bit light on options, what is offered is tasty. The yogurt is fantastic as youd expect. The walls are decorated/made with wood reclaimed from the previous hotel on that spot, a nice touch. A sixth floor room was the right choice, street noise from Fillenos was not too bad and the view was pretty good. I found the water pressure in the shower lacking, but not exceptionally so. The small spa and workout room was ok as well. All modern equipment, etc. Really a nice few days in an attractive and clean hotel with a nice staff. Book with confidence.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dohadad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your taking to share with us your kind review. It is always our pleasure to receive such reviews and know that you had an excellent stay with us!
We will be happy to accommodate you again in the future!

Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    962
    338
    49
    13
    8
See reviews for
206
716
66
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

This hotel is a mixed bag, some things are really good and others are not:

- Room: Stayed on the 5th floor and the had a nice balcony with view of (Filopappos) hill and an orthodox church. That being said, the room cramped with the bathroom being part of the room which isn't very practical. The shower/handshower combo is also hard to operate.

- Staff: the staff at the reception / concierge was extremely cordial and helpful. They helped plan the tourist visits and also helped open the bag locks when the key was lost. The staff at breakfast is a different story - impolite and arrogant with a weird setup. The stark difference in the two attitudes surprising.

- Location: Very central though a few minutes walk from the Syntagma metro station. okay if you don't have much luggage to haul.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jmalkani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing New Hotel during your recent visit in Athens.
We will share your kind comments with the rest of our stuff and rest assure that we will remain at your assistance.
Be reassured that we will do our best to meet your needs and expectations at all times and we will be happy to accommodate you again in the future!
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binyamina, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

Short version: Everything was perfect: the room (studio) was very nice and clean, the bed was comfortable, the staff was very friendly, helpful and just great, the breakfast was very good and the location was perfect. We didn't use the metro at all.

Long version: We arrived at about 10AM. The hotel staff welcomed us by offering offering us some water and a comfortable place to sit. The manager was very nice and gave us room although it was very early. The breakfast is half buffet - half serviced (by the nicest people). It has a variety of pastries, cheese, breads, cereals, beverages (including freshly squeezed orange juice) and hot drinks. You can also order any kind of eggs with plenty side dishes. You can basically eat any style you want.
We also traveled with a baby and due to our late flight were offered a room to freshen-up in the evening when we came back for our luggage (free of charge). We didn't have time to accept the offer, although it was greatly appreciated. If we're ever in Athens again there's no doubt we'll come back to this great hotel. The room was very big and clean, house keeping visits the room twice a day. The hotel has an unusual modern interior design, both in the public areas and in the rooms. It's really does look new :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yaniv A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us your kind remarks. We are glad that our services added value on your holiday in Athens. The hotel team and myself would like to thank you for choosing New Hotel during your stay and we will be more than happy to accommodate you and your family again in the near future.
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

You could certainly stay at the New Hotel just for the décor. The designers did a great job in reusing materials from the old building. Very imaginative, indeed.

But the bottom line is that the New Hotel is a hotel. And not just any hotel, it’s a great hotel. The rooms are excellent. The beds are among the best hotel beds we have ever slept in. Let’s be honest, the main purpose of a hotel is good night’s sleep and that’s what you get at the New Hotel.

The service is impeccable. Staff are extremely helpful. The restaurant is absolutely great. The chef has found the right mix of traditional Greek fare and modern international cuisine. Wouldn’t be surprised if Michelin or GaultMillau decided to reward this restaurant in the not too distant future.

The hotel’s location is just perfect. Walk out the door and turn right. Turn right again into Kydathinaion street and keep strolling past the dozens of souvenir shops and innumerable tavernas and after ten to fifteen minutes you bump into the Akropolis. Keep walking past the Odeion of Irodou Attikou and after a ten minute climb you’re looking out over Athens from the mighty Parthenon. Syntagma Square is just three blocks away.

Our next time in Athens we will stay at the New Hotel again. Without a doubt.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kipara1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience during your stay in Athens. We believe in personalized service for each and every one of our guests. Receiving such positive comments as yours encourages us to offer our outmost .We will be delighted to accommodate you again in the near future!
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stumbled across this hotel without knowing what to expect, except that it was part of the Design group of hotels–an international network of unique and amazing niche hotels. My husband had previously stayed at another one of the Design hotels, in Stockholm. For me, the interior design was fun and exciting to be in. It's a wonderful reinvention of a traditional old hotel, and they really retained some of the features worthy of retaining such as the fabulous marble staircase that is in the centre of the building. Looking out our window in one direction you could see a snatch of the Acropolis and in the other direction the trees from the Royal Gardens. The service was excellent yet relaxed. The staff are perfectly co-ordinated with the interior design! I just love this place and would love to go and stay there again. Being so close to Syntagma Square was an advantage, and it is also a nice walk to Kolonaki and the Royal Gardens. Congratulations on a great hotel!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kayakloverSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review We are happy that New Hotel met your expectations regarding both service and location. We will be happy to accommodate you again in the future!

Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

What a great hotel, really lucky to have found it given I only booked the day before arrival! Great value for money (perhaps because I booked it so late), there could not have been a better choice for a weekend break.

Great location, just 5 mins walk from Sygatma metro, also very close to the Temple of Olympian Zeus and the new walkway that connects all the major sights. Ubertrendy inside, particularly the bar/restaurant, and one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in - great quality linen, wonderful mattress, black out electric blinds and good double glazing. Not the biggest choice for breakfast, but all to a very high standard. And above all the service is exceptional - from the waitress at breakfast, to reception at check in/out and the barman at night (€12 a cocktail so expensive but well well worth it!), the service was slick and hit just the right balance between professional yet informal.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScottieManch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your kind comments. It is always our pleasure to receive such reviews and know that you had an excellent stay with us! Our aim is to offer comfort and hospitality to all our guests and make New hotel a “home- away from- home” experience. We will be more than happy to accommodate you again in our Hotel in the future!
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite bay
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

My husband, 12 year old son and I just returned from a trip to Greece, which we took because our son is studying ancient Greece (in California). This hotel was fabulous! We could see the Acropolis by leaning out our balcony, our direct view was of an old and beautiful church and a park. We loved the modern bathroom and unusual modern touches. The breakfast was amazing, with fresh squeezed orange juice (my son had several glasses), pastries, homemade omelets to order, and delicious yogurts, fruits, etc. We walked to the Plaka and the Acropolis and ancient marketplace very easily. My son loved that there was a McDonald's between the Syntagma Metro (a few blocks away) and the hotel. This metro stop is a straight shot from the airport, which was very handy. The staff was incredibly helpful with renting a car and finding our way around, there was a nice computer/business room in the basement and also a fitness center. This is one of our favorite hotels anywhere!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Laurie922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
It is always our pleasure to receive such kind reviews making your stay memorable. We will be happy to accommodate you again in the future!
Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#13 of 336 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,694 reviews
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#6 of 336 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 336 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel

Property: New Hotel
Address: 16 Filellinon | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 57, Greece (Formerly Olympic Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Athens
#3 Business Hotel in Athens
#5 Family Hotel in Athens
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#8 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — New Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel is located 200 meters from Syntagma (Constitution) Square, the most central part of Athens, a center point to the daily activities of all Athenians. An ideal location to get the best of Athens, from ancient to modern times. New Hotel, a deluxe property totally designed (with exclusive furniture) by Campana brothers. 79 rooms & suites in total, featuring a strong and authentic Greek design concept within the rooms under the perception of the Campana brothers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your New Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Palace Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing