We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View of Acropolis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Olympic Hotel
Ranked #66 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The staff is nice, breakfast is very good, and great rooftop restaurant with spectacular views of Athens and the Acropolis, short walk to the Plaka for restaurants, tavernas and shops. Super location, near to Syntagma square, Plaka and Acropolis...

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harmoniaist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,476 - 1,482 of 3,269 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2014

When we arrive at the hotel, we got an upgrade of our room and we were very happy about it.
The room was very large, with soundproof windows, nice marble bathroom, Bulgari toiletries, beautiful carpet etc.
We came with car, but we never used it, since the hotel has a very good location, near to Sintagma square, Acropolis etc.

Room Tip: Choose a room of acropolis view, it is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aurora_Boreallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Stayed in thus hotel in January 2014 with my wife. The hotel is more like a 4 stars (5 stars is a big exhageration). The staff is nice, breakfast is very good, and the view from the restaurant is amazing. However, the best thing is the location.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soaresss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Highly recommend this property. Clean and well appointed. Lovely pool. Great rooftop restaurant with spectacular views of Athens and the Acropolis, Short walk to the Plaka for restaurants and shops. Good food. Super location. Would look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harrietlyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

great location and view from restaurant but they failed to place a childs bed in our room and we arrived very late so just shared- they also didnt supply the correct amount of towels - all very basic failures when you need to rely upon the 5 stars!! when upon checkout we were fully charged for the extra bed i queried it and got nowhere!! so we paid 60 euro for a very uncomfortable stay and had no reply to a call and an email to the manager as i was advised to do by the receptionist. so they are basically refusing to accept that we were conned. shame as other staff- not on the desk were nice . we travel lots and to Greece lots and didnt expect this.

Room Tip: watch out for the trippy up carpet outside room 555
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky-white1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

As a rule, this is not the sort of hotel I prefer. (I usually stay where "locals" stay.) In this case, I was there for professional reasons with someone else picking up the tab (since they are a Greek enterprise, they got a sizable discount, too--about half the posted rate).

On the plus side: unbelievable, breathtaking, post-card perfect view from the rooftop terrace where breakfast and dinner are served. The waitstaff were extremely responsive to my special request at 6 am (before breakfast is served) for my own 2 liter pot of hot water (I carry my own herbal tea). The breakfast buffet is also fabulous. If you plan to eat there, be sure you get a room rate that includes breakfast; otherwise it is 25 Euro per person.

If you are the thrifty sort, you probably don't stay in this kind of hotel to begin with but here's a tip, anyway. You can have a large late-ish breakfast (they stop serving at 10) and then grab souvlaki (2 - 3 Euro) at a take-away stand for a mid-afternoon lunch before whatever your plans are for dinner. (The dinner at the hotel was quite expensive. Though the food was good, you were really paying for the incredible view. I don't recommend it.)

Also positive: the location: a 5 minute walk to the Acropolis museum (don't miss it!) and a metro stop; less than 10 minutes from Syntagma Square (heart of "downtown" and where there's often a lot of interesting things going on. For instance, across the street from the square is the Parliament building where there's a daily photogenic changing of the guard dressed in traditional costumes).

On the average side: I'm sure there were more expensive, bigger rooms (and rooms with a view). The one we had was small--not much space beside what was needed for the bed and essential furniture--and we looked over the pool. Take note: Greek beds tend to be harder than most Americans are accustomed to. You can put a couple of blankets under the bottom sheet.

On the negative side: though the "business lounge" was open 24 hours, it contained two computers and a printer/copier. The printer/copier didn't work about half the time I was there and the (very willing but uninformed) main desk staff did not know how to fix it. (On one occasion, another hotel guest figured it out. At another time, the desk staff made copies for me that I could not make for myself.)

If your idea of a fun way to travel is to stay in a place full of relatively well-off tourists, this will be fine. And if you have the money to spring for a room with a view similar to the rooftop, it will be better than fine.

Room Tip: I don't know which rooms have the view, but they will certainly tell you (and charge you accordi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

The rooftop bar/restaurant has an amazing view of the acropolis, especially at night. The rest of my experience at this hotel was definitely 3 stars or less. We had a 3-person room which was set-up in a completely dysfunctional way. There was one mirror, in the bathroom, on a sink that was too small to place anything. Then, there were no outlets in the bathroom (with the only mirror) to plug in any appliances. There was a desk but no dresser. There were only 3 other plugs in the entire room making it very difficult to charge a cell phone. The breakfast buffet is only available for 3 hours each morning (7-10). We arrived at 1015 and everything was gone. Dinner at the restaurant was expensive and very average. We did like the pool area, although there weren't enough lounge chairs for us. The location of the hotel is near the Plaka and the hotel seemed to be clean but this is NOT a 5-star hotel by any means. Go to the rooftop bar for a drink but look elsewhere for a good room.

Room Tip: Go to Electra Palace or Athens Gate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa78780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,941 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#11 of 282 in Athens
3,263 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Olympic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Olympic Hotel

Address: 28-34 Diakou Athanassiou, Athens 117 43, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#42 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $111 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Olympic Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Olympic is a newly fully refurbished 5* hotel located just in the centre of Athens, at a walking distance from all major archaeological sites, points of interest and public transports of the city, and within easy reach to/from the airport. The 264 rooms, and especially the unique Athenian Panorama rooms with a breathtaking view over the temple of Zeus and other major sites of the city, the 18 state of the art meeting rooms, the roof garden restaurant & bar lying in front of the Acropolis, temple of Zeus and Lycabettus Hill, the swimming pool, create a luxurious and warm environment where personal touch, service and attention to every single detail are very well looked after.Should it be for leisure, corporate or MICE travelers, the Royal Olympic offers a unique and authentic Athenian experience that will remain unforgettable to each guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Olympic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Olympic Athens
Hotel Royal Olympic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing