We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smart hotel, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Royal Olympic Hotel
Ranked #61 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Smart hotel, good value”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Impressed with this hotel, we stayed in mid february and had 2 adjoining rooms. The rooms were well decorated, spacious and had a good balcony view. The wifi worked perfectly. Breakfast was good with amazing views. Would stay here again. Very good value for a 5* hotel.

Shame about the drilling every morning at 9am

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SearleDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,026
    1,054
    535
    211
    137
See reviews for
495
1,443
115
331
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I really wanted to like this place. Now, I really regret staying there. We picked it because of the outstanding view of the Temple of Zeus, and that view is absolutely beautiful And we stayed in the Panorama Room with the balcony, so that part was wonderful.

We were there for four days. Where to start. The room smelled. The linens were old. Hotel bedspreads are never truly clean, I guess, but it was hard to convince myself that this one was ok to be physically located in the same place I planned to sleep. The glasses were dirty. There were no washcloths or hand towels in the bathroom. We asked for both, got hand towels, never did get washcloths. The minibar had drinks in it that were half gone, and the cap stuck back on. I also suspect that some of the clear liquids in the minibar had been used and replaced with water and the cap stuck back on. The air conditioner did not work. We asked several times for it to be fixed, only to be finally told upon checkout that they did not run the AC this time of year. Someone entered our room even when the "do not disturb" sign was out. One night there was a wedding upstairs, and the music vibrated our entire room way into the night. And the door to upstairs was just feet from our door, so it slammed all night. (fire door, btw, so it was a big slam) And if it didn't slam shut, sometimes it just stayed open, making the music 3 times louder.We complained about midnight, and were offered to move to another room. Seriously? Just have someone at least stay by the door, keep it from slamming , and keep it shut.

And here is the biggest part of all. Athens is cheap. The citizens are broke, so nothing is expensive. You can have a fabulous dinner for 50 euros. Cab ride across town 3 euros. THIS PLACE WAS 400 EUROS A NIGHT. For that price, this place should have been equivalent to the Plaza.

In closing, the breakfast was acceptable and the view was stunning. Would I stay there again? Not on your life.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed here in march, 2014
very well presented hotel that screamed class!! Staff are friendly, cleaners always active keeping the place flawless!!! It is pricey, but very worth it.
Overall very happy the view from the restaurant is amazing and breakfast is out standing!!

IF YOU CAN AFFORD TO, STAY HERE!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kpett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Great location high prices and minimum service. The location is the only thing that made it worth the money. If booking through a booking agency ensure you get the transfer or else the hotel says take a taxi both ways. Beds are hard as a rock. The staff not very helpful except for the doorman. The food is mediocre but high priced. The free wifi is 3 hours or 1 24 hour block. Overall I would not stay here again!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Miranda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaca
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We visited Athens after long time, staying there for couple of days before cruise from Piraeus!
Wanted to choose a hotel with excellent location near center, and with being different from today's minimal style of interior design and architecture combining the rich history of the city with the great intellectual life which came through the centuries!
Royal Olympic meets all our expectations! Great location, very unique interesting aristocratic decoration, every corner of the hotel was carefully decorated with different furniture which makes you feel living in palace! Just opposite the Temple of Olympian Zeus, very near the Parthenon and Acropolis museum - very easy to move around the historical center of the city, near Zappeion and "Vasilikos Kipos" (National Gardens), few steps away from charming walking area of Plaka! Rooms very comfortable (i called a day before arrival and asked double bed and room in higher floor - a very polite woman from stuff immediately arranged both my requests), the furniture amazing, nothing modern there (but with all the technology someone needs today). Breakfast was excellent, with good variety of food and all very fresh. Quiet library for people who want to have a contact with the richest in intellectual aspect city in the world. And of course, as many people mentioned, the breathtaking view from the last floor restaurant,which people have to visit and enjoy day and night, gives the completion for the wonderful Royal Olympic! Only small suggestion for improvement, complimentary wi-fi is offered in many hotels lately.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyprexpens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Originally posted a review on the site through we booked but looking at some of the mixed reviews below I thought I should repeat it here in fairness to the hotel. Stayed 4 nights, including a weekend, in January 2014 with my wife. I was on business for first 2 days.
We were upgraded at the same price but the window in the room would not close. The porter quickly brought new keys and moved our luggage to the new room which was high quality and comfortable. The dining room - limited menu, beautiful food - has an unimpeded view of the Parthenon on one side and overlooks Hadrian’s Gate and the Roman Temple of Zeus on another. Close walking distance to everything you would want to see as a tourist, except Piraeus! Small niggles: cleaners saw no need to replace soap or toiletries, including shoe cleaners used and thrown away; wifi was diabolical the first evening but perfect after that; breakfast would benefit from hot food being kept warm and perhaps a bowl of fresh fruit salad. So closer to a 4.5 than a 5. We would certainly stay there again and not bother to evaluate alternatives. Compared to other European cities, remarkably cheap, which may reflect the season and the current state of the Greek economy. Don’t wait for their economy to recover or the weather to become stinking hot!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Euroalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crawley down
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

a lovely hotel, great staff, near to a metro station and great breakfast. the room had a balcony, it was a bit dated, but very clean, a really comfortable bed a very quite. the rest of the hotel is very nice too, very 5 star looking. the breakfast offers a huge choice and all very nicely cooked, fresh bread, we loved it. the biggest plus is the roof top terrace, over looking the zeus temple with fantastic views of the acropolis . the nearest metro station is funnily enough acropolis, and is only a few minutes walk away, even with suitcases. it only takes 40 minutes or so from the airport directly, apart from a last minute metro change for one station. the staff are great, very friendly and smiling. i can't fault it at all really. stay here, the city is well worth visiting.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnboycrawleydown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,920 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,169 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,184 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Divani Palace Acropolis
Divani Palace Acropolis
#70 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Olympic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Olympic Hotel

Property: Royal Olympic Hotel
Address: 28-34 Diakou Athanassiou, Athens 117 43, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#43 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Olympic Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Olympic is a newly fully refurbished 5* hotel located just in the centre of Athens, at a walking distance from all major archaeological sites, points of interest and public transports of the city, and within easy reach to/from the airport. The 264 rooms, and especially the unique Athenian Panorama rooms with a breathtaking view over the temple of Zeus and other major sites of the city, the 18 state of the art meeting rooms, the roof garden restaurant & bar lying in front of the Acropolis, temple of Zeus and Lycabettus Hill, the swimming pool, create a luxurious and warm environment where personal touch, service and attention to every single detail are very well looked after.Should it be for leisure, corporate or MICE travelers, the Royal Olympic offers a unique and authentic Athenian experience that will remain unforgettable to each guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Royal Olympic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Olympic Athens
Hotel Royal Olympic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing