We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Royal Olympic Hotel
Ranked #59 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We would have probably booked a small boutique hotel, but our South African friends picked it and we went a long with them.
We stayed for three days,there was not one surly face, nobody aloof, it was friendly smiles all the way. Everything we requested when booking was provided, double bed, next door to our friends, room with a balcony. The bed was very comfortable. The roof terrace/bar with its spectacular views was the ideal place for drinks before going out for the evening
.All round an excellent choice.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the pool with a little balcony which I would recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,025
    1,049
    535
    208
    137
See reviews for
492
1,440
115
331
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stay at this hotel between our connection flights. That's was really awesome - very nice room, clean, pretty furnished and has absolutely, space-like silence. Location is just amazing - almost all that you can see in Athens is located in front of you. Also there is no problem with transportation because the metro station located almost near the hotel. In conclusion that was no problem at all. Highly recommended for trips and getaways.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vsevolod S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This hotel is absolutely gorgeous with probably the most comfortable beds of any hotel I have ever stayed in. The view is spectacular from the bedrooms and the bathroom so having a bath is incredible (we did stay in the panoramic room so probably had an even better view). On the negative side, the restaurant doesn't have any vegetarian food at all and every dish is ridiculously expensive ($40 for a steak for my husband!)

I would also advise people to be very very careful when venturing outside of the hotel - Athens is very run down and the street that the hotel is on is particularly bad - there are pavement slabs missing which sadly I didn't see and I fell over one - I ended up spending 3 hours in the local A&E department (which incidentally is fabulous and very efficient) and am now the proud owner of a broken ankle and a plaster cast up to my knee.

The hotel however were very helpful and allowed us to to stay in our room for a whole day extra without charging us and even provided room service for breakfast without charging us too - so the hotel itself can't actually be faulted at all - however I very much doubt I will be going back to Athens in a hurry!

Room Tip: the panoramic room is exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ningning02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Royal Olympic. The hotel is very central to all the sights. The rooftop restaurant has a great view of the Temple of Zeus and of the Akropolis. Breakfast was a treat in the morning sun, accompanied by delicious Greek yoghurt & honey and an awesome view of the Akropolis.

We got a free upgrade to one of the rooms with a balcony, which was very nice. We stayed three nights and would definitely book here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwndolen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in March this year and sadly have to say it was pretty disappointing - the location really is the only saving grace..

Entering the lobby everything seems impressive, but as soon as you enter the bedroom areas it becomes clear this is the only area that is.

Our room was large and reasonably clean, but the bathroom was in desperate need of a refurb.. The main problem we had in our room was how hot it was, we had to have the window open all the time (apparently the air conditioning doesn't get turned on in the hotel until April!) and with the hotel being so central (on the side of a very busy main road where the traffic never stopped), we had hardly any sleep all weekend!!

The other thing that doesn't open until April is the pool! You can sit round it - just can't go in it....

The hotel also holds a lot of conferences where it appears the attendees are more important than the staying hotel guests..

Breakfast was also rather nondescript - in fact one of the mornings we had prepaid for breakfast we didn't bother going as it didn't seem worth the effort.. The view from the breakfast room however is fantastic, so would recommend checking that out..
Would we stay here again? Ummm, very probably not..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winch07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in April 2013, we pick this place as it is in walking distance of all the places we wanted to visit during our stay in Athens.

The first night our room is a little bit disappointing and the safe was not working, we asked to change room and it happened the next day. The new room is almost like the previous room although roomier and newer, we are happy with that.

We enjoy the roof top restaurant, it has a super view to the Acropolis day and night, highly recommended to take great night pictures as the Acropolis is illuminated.

We took the breakfast at the hotel, the menu is quite dull for this kind of hotel, we did not have dinner there as there are tons of good restaurants in Plaka district at walking distance from the hotel.

Wifi is working fine, no problem seen, the wife was doing her "facebook" at the end of the day.

The staff at the hotel are very polite no problem there.

Overall, my wife and I found no negative things to say and we are recommending this hotel to our family for their next trip to Athens.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Z273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location. We walked to Plaka, Acropolis and Montasiraki. The rooftop restaurant has a great view for breakfast. Could have had better service as we had to find a table and move chairs to the balcony because restaurant was full. By the time we got settled, the food was cold. However, the view and the sun on the balcony made up for it. The pool was nice, although the drinks were pricey ( $25. euro for 2 drinks)The room was nice and the bed was comfortable. The bathtub was a little narrow but shower was good. Free wi-fi in room. Overall it was great experience. It was perfect for our first stay in Athens.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,908 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,163 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,173 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Divani Palace Acropolis
Divani Palace Acropolis
#68 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Olympic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Olympic Hotel

Property: Royal Olympic Hotel
Address: 28-34 Diakou Athanassiou, Athens 117 43, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#43 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Olympic Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Olympic is a newly fully refurbished 5* hotel located just in the centre of Athens, at a walking distance from all major archaeological sites, points of interest and public transports of the city, and within easy reach to/from the airport. The 264 rooms, and especially the unique Athenian Panorama rooms with a breathtaking view over the temple of Zeus and other major sites of the city, the 18 state of the art meeting rooms, the roof garden restaurant & bar lying in front of the Acropolis, temple of Zeus and Lycabettus Hill, the swimming pool, create a luxurious and warm environment where personal touch, service and attention to every single detail are very well looked after.Should it be for leisure, corporate or MICE travelers, the Royal Olympic offers a unique and authentic Athenian experience that will remain unforgettable to each guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Royal Olympic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Olympic Athens
Hotel Royal Olympic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing