We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible, terrible, terrible and I never write reviews!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Olympic Hotel
Ranked #61 of 325 Hotels in Athens
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible, terrible, terrible and I never write reviews!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

I am so extremely disappointed with this hotel. I am currently staying in this hotel and I am so glad I have only wasted one night here.
Upon arrival we were offered no help with our bags. Checking in was very brief with little to no explanation of the hotel and area. Upon arrival into our non smoking room we discovered the terrible smoking odour, I would have normally requested a room change but arriving late at night I was to exhausted to enquire.
The bathroom is outdated and was not cleaned properly, I do love to find strangers pubic hairs on the floor!!!
Rooms overall were okay, very outdated and would have been good in the 80's.
We weren't provided the wifi password on check in which to me would have made more sense?
Lastly my partner and I got to enjoy two single beds pushed together when the request was made for a double. By this I mean two completely separately made up beds just pushed together.
Overall this was by far in my opinion no where near worth it's 5 star rating. We stayed at the 4 star Amalia hotel up the road about a week ago which included breakfast in the rate and was by far 100 times better than this place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tstew89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,006
    1,032
    527
    205
    134
See reviews for
487
1,419
111
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We arrived and to be fair, Greece was in a general strike for two days, however no advance notice was give, and on arrival those working appeared under duress to be there. As result not great atmosphere nor service, making it expensive for what it is. Also top area with views was not accessable as had let it to a 'corporate' and seemed totally unconcerned that we could not get on it, as the location and roof top restaurant was key reason to select it. Very poor staff on reception. Poor value hotel, living on its location and nothing else. Were happy to leave.

Room Tip: Look at others instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBC180766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga
Level Contributor
129 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

It definitely used to be a great hotel ~15 years ago. Everything is old and needs full refreshment.
However it has positive assets as well:
1) location is very convenient if you like Acropolis & Plaka. Lots of restaurants near by and area is safe for walking during the night
2) Bar, Garden & the swimming pool in the inner yard of the hotel are very useful when its hot.
3) Views from your hotel window & rooftop terrace are priceless
Cannot comment on breakfast since Hotel personnel was on strike and it was served instead of the roof terrace in the basement and choice was very limited -bread, salami, cheese, cold boiled egg and lots of jam :)

Taxi from the Airport to the Hotel 35EUR
Taxi from the Hotel to the Airport ~30EUR

All in all worth staying if the price is right.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a view of Acropolis or Temple of Zeus or if you like fresh air ask for the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arturs80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Although the view and location are good, youcant help get the feeling in this hotel you are being ripped off. The lack of availabiity of ironing boards and the attempts to torce custoers to pay 23 euros per ironing service are a con, as obviously if you are on business you have to at least iron your shirt! I made this point to the manager who said I had a choice, and did not have to iron my shirt for a formal meeting lol.

The location and views are good, but everything else is bad. The room I was in was dingy, had now view, no tean making facilities and the TV kept breaking down, I am just glad I was only there for a couple of days. Although the location is good during the day, it has to be said thatat night the hotel becomes ringed with pimps and bar promoters, ready to sting the unsuspecting, and getting out ot go anywhere means running the guantlet of these people.

In general, terrible hotel, rude & unco-operative staff, tired roms lacking the most basic faciliteis, very average food and a general feelin of "we are here to take your money,and we dont care how we get it, you should be glad we have allowed you to stay!" permeates the place. Avoid, avoid, avoid.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mutley5393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Avoid this place.
We had stayed at this place for 1 night 2 years ago, and thought the Panorama room we had was great. The view was really nice. This time we were staying 4 nights and booked the same type of room at 325 euro/night. The room we were given was not as nice as what we had previously. We discovered that they gave us 2 twin beds put together, instead of a king. Our request for a different room was denied, on the basis that they were full.

Next mornig we went to the included buffet breakfast. They were busy. There was absolutely no service.Tables were not set. Only sugar cubes at the tables. fetch your own napkins, forks knives, salt and pepper shakers, that is if they had not run out! The food was laid out so badly, that it could only be described as a cattle market. Items were constantly out and not replenished; Used plates were not cleared; hot food was cold. Several people were frustrated, including ourselves. I have been to cafeteria's that have had better food and service.

Next day we return to find that the internet was not working. Upon enquiring with the front desk, we were off-handedly informed internet was out and no idea when it would be working.

When my wife asked about using the gym, we were told it was under repair, and she could go outside to a room around the corner to use the temporary gym. Pool is in the middle of the hotel ground floor, with very limited sunshine, as the building obstructs all but the directly overhead sun.
Next morning, the breakfast was just as bad as the previous day. No internet. I asked to speak to the General manager and was given the front desk manager, whose response to the breakfast mess, was that it is not his department and that they could have put a king size mattress in for us, except for being too busy to do it.

We finally checked out two days early and went to the Astir Palace-Westin. Great place- 5 star.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tukwenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed for one night before flying home and booked here last minute on a reduced rate hoping it would be a nice luxury last night of our holiday. After staying in a great hotel on an island this was not as luxurious as I was hoping. The room was pokey and not that clean. No room service menu or restaurant menu in the room. Room service trays were left outside other's rooms from when we arrived to when we left the next day.

Breakfast is self service and although the views of the ruins are spectacular, the shortage of staff was also fairly obvious as they were trying to clear tables as quickly as they could but they were clearly under a lot of pressure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saltyseasalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Good hotel, central location for the sightseeing. Lovely views of the Arcopolis and Temple of Zeus at night illuminated and at breakfast. Good sized rooms, fridge. Hidden costs include ironing- no iron provided and they added E120 to the bill for ironing a few pieces-didn't know this beforehand. Also no pricelist for the mini bar but also v expensive. Pool a nice addition, they also do bar snacks. Taxis always available. Would recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diablo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,848 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,113 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,137 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Divani Palace Acropolis
Divani Palace Acropolis
#68 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Olympic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Olympic Hotel

Property: Royal Olympic Hotel
Address: 28-34 Diakou Athanassiou, Athens 117 43, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#43 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Olympic Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Olympic is a newly fully refurbished 5* hotel located just in the centre of Athens, at a walking distance from all major archaeological sites, points of interest and public transports of the city, and within easy reach to/from the airport. The 264 rooms, and especially the unique Athenian Panorama rooms with a breathtaking view over the temple of Zeus and other major sites of the city, the 18 state of the art meeting rooms, the roof garden restaurant & bar lying in front of the Acropolis, temple of Zeus and Lycabettus Hill, the swimming pool, create a luxurious and warm environment where personal touch, service and attention to every single detail are very well looked after.Should it be for leisure, corporate or MICE travelers, the Royal Olympic offers a unique and authentic Athenian experience that will remain unforgettable to each guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Olympic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Olympic Athens
Hotel Royal Olympic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing