We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Views!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Olympic Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Olympic Hotel
Ranked #59 of 336 Hotels in Athens
Chania Town, Greece
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic Views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I was recommended this hotel by friends who have recently stayed at the Royal Olympic and was not disappointed. The room - a 'double de luxe' has the most amazing view overlooking the Temple of Zeus and the Parthenon. The room was very luxurious, had its own little dressing room and a magnificent bathroom. The staff were so helpful and friendly each day that nothing was too much trouble. The restaurant on the top floor was absolutely wonderful with views to die for. It was so lovely up there that it was hard to leave the breakfast table! Breakfast was excellent too. Lovely swimming pool and spa, as well as a reading room with comfy armchairs and sofas and even a computer room. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the city. The only downside was that the area around the hotel has many very busy roads which are sometimes difficult to cross, as taxi drivers and motor cyclists often ignore the red lights. Also the Plaka area and Monastriki area are within walking distance, but the Plaka has become very touristy now, and the food there is, on the whole, rather expensive and nondescript. But there is always an opportunity to take a mini cruise to the nearest islands - that was a great day out, and the Acropolis Museum is a must. The other things to watch for are taxi fares which fluctuate - the hotel reommended the prices that should be charged which was helpful - and to watch bags because of pickpocketing in the current economic climate. Otherwise it was a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Try and book a room with a view over the Temple of Zeus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    827
    866
    453
    175
    112
See reviews for
403
1,194
95
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying here for 4 nights. Our room was beautifully decorated, full marble bathroom and a view of The Temple Of Zeus from our window. The room was impeccably clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is served on the rooftop garden overlooking The acropolis. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel. Great location. Would definately stay here again next trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Temple Of Zeus
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

You couldn't ask for a better location, bang opposite the Temple of Zeus (although onkynsuites benefit from this view, the rest of the bedrooms overlook the small pool and brick walls!). Very close to the many restaurants that you can find in the streets of athens. The hotel's restaurant is expensive but, located on the roof, this is also where you have breakfast (decent selection of fruits, hot and sweet) and have the best view of the Acropolis and Parthenon ...spectacular.
Staff are fantastic at reception, a little lack lustre at the pool.
The only let down wasnthe rooms. My first had a mould bathroom. They were very accommodating and offered me another room...same problem. So, the third room was satisfactory and had a softer bed (the first 2 were rock hard!). Drinks are also very expensive but being so close to centre, I just went out for meals.
All in all 3-4 stars would be fair.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lambo-Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

An excellently run hotel, beautiful rooms, some overlooking the Temple of Zeus, in a good location for the tourist sites & Metro from airport. The pool is a real bonus for a dip & quiet drink after a long day hitting the streets & shops ! Only problem is that some of the hotel booking sites use very hazy maps - it is actually on a main street ( but still quiet )

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Great location - walking distance to acropolis and plaka, good rooms with comfy beds and decent sized bathrooms, and the restaurant/bar has the most incredible view

Only downside was the attitude of some of the staff. At breakfast we went to a table which was being cleared, the waitress could see we were just starting (full plates etc) and we waited for her to come back with knives and forks. When she didn't we went to try find some, and when we asked her for them her response was oh I didn't think you would need them. Similarly when we arrived at the bar (we were a small group aged between mid 20s to early 30s) there seemed a reluctance to have us there. Fortunately we had a wonderful waiter who was excellent at selecting cocktails for us to try, however we did feel that there was a bit of a you seem too young/casually dressed etc to be here.

But otherwise a fabulous place, would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Medicallyblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in September. We weren’t happy to get our room with two singles instead of a double. They would not change rooms for us but we were told that it would be changed to a double, what they did is put a thin double mattress on top of two pushed together singles. Well is this standard practice for 5 star hotel???? Not a great start to arriving at the hotel after a very long flight to Athens when we are both very tired and had to wait for them to change our room.

OK, we may not of booked the most expensive room in the hotel but I honestly thought our room would be nicer than what it is for a 5 star hotel. The foyer area on the ground floor looks somewhat flash with chandliers and fancy furniture but our room is nothing special. I don’t know what the others rooms are like. Also breakfast wasn’t overally impressive for a 5 star hotel. There is enough to choose from but the quality of the hot food is not very good. The mushrooms, bacon, eggs, omelettes are always cold --- I think the ‘hot food’ are placed on top of a very luke warm plate but the food is always cold. Once again this is not what I would of expected from a 5 star hotel. Also another thing is the wifi connection here is not great at all. It keeps cutting out and its very slow. You have to put in your pin number numerous times. Very frustrating!

I was so looking forward to coming to this hotel and having some luxury. Its not terrible but its not luxury either. For me, this hotel was somewhat disappointing as we have stayed in better hotels around the world and majority have been less than 5 star. So I am really convinced this hotel does NOT deserve a 5 star rating.

The good points of this hotel is that it is very close a lot of places to visit -Temple of Zeus right across the road, the Acropolis is very close, Plaka and all major sites in walking distance.

We are going to return to Athens again to fly out of Greece but I will definitely stay elsewhere this time. There are plenty of hotels in the Plaka area and will give another hotel a go.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Butterflygirl54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico, Spain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

An oasis in the heart of Athens! We stayed two nights and had a fantastic room with the classic elegance and comfort you expect from a hotel that calls itself The Royal Olympic. Even if our room faced a busy street it was almost completely sound proof. A luxury in busy Athens.
Having breakfast on the top floor with a breathtaking view of the Acropolis - what a great way to start your day.
The hotel is a short walk to almost everything. A perfect location both for shoppers and lovers of history. The new Acropolis museum is just around the corner.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BjOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 336 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 2,397 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#14 of 336 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 1,749 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Divani Palace Acropolis
Divani Palace Acropolis
#63 of 336 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#9 of 336 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 3,310 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Olympic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Olympic Hotel

Property: Royal Olympic Hotel
Address: 28-34 Diakou Athanassiou, Athens 117 43, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#43 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Olympic Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Olympic is a newly fully refurbished 5* hotel located just in the centre of Athens, at a walking distance from all major archaeological sites, points of interest and public transports of the city, and within easy reach to/from the airport. The 264 rooms, and especially the unique Athenian Panorama rooms with a breathtaking view over the temple of Zeus and other major sites of the city, the 18 state of the art meeting rooms, the roof garden restaurant & bar lying in front of the Acropolis, temple of Zeus and Lycabettus Hill, the swimming pool, create a luxurious and warm environment where personal touch, service and attention to every single detail are very well looked after.Should it be for leisure, corporate or MICE travelers, the Royal Olympic offers a unique and authentic Athenian experience that will remain unforgettable to each guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Olympic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Olympic Athens
Hotel Royal Olympic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing