We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and Family Friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Athenes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Novotel Athenes
Ranked #58 of 333 Hotels in Athens
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

2,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    1,083
    412
    87
    26
See reviews for
747
687
133
185
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

From a sociological perspective the neighbourhood is pure gold. Drug addicted immigrants and an edgy Kosovo meets Mogadishu "hood" offer real local flavor to international travelers. We liked it.

That said, the Archaelogical Museum is just a few blocks away and made for a very interesting and more cerebral afternoon.

The hotel itsel was a bargain. The Thai gig has a plutonium accor card which seems to offer preferential rates. On arrival we were given a modest upgrade to a room with a sofa, a feature that seemed a tad disappointing given the enthusiasm with which the news was delivered. Nevertheless it proved invaluable in the morning for sitting on whilst I put my shoes on. These Accor people really do think of everything.

The room was smallish, but it had a balcony and was ruthlessly lean and efficient in a kind of corporate way with just enough personality to keèp guests from thoughts of self harming.

Breakfast was a bit of a scrum, the food prepared by an accountant rather than a chef, I suspect. The alternative bar breakfast was better - fresh juice, choice of coffee, fruit and pastries sat at the bar.

The hotel staff are without exception friendly and very helpful. I liked that, no airs and graces just informal hospitality. That, the decent enough hard product and price made it an excellent choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patinya88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tzikas, General Manager at Novotel Athenes, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Hotel Guest,
We would like to thank you for having shared your comments on Tripadvisor.
You enjoyed your stay at the hotel and your personnal review is important for us.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at the novotel Athens hotel.
Sincerely, Evripides Tzikas, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Very nice hotel. Nice rooms. Very good food in breakfast and dinner. Nice games for kids. The staff was glad to assist in anything, in any way. There was one problem, that can happen anywhere else, with hot water that technicians tried to fix for two days.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GilSudai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tzikas, General Manager at Novotel Athenes, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Hotel Guest,
We would like to thank you for having shared your review in Tripadvisor further your stay at the Novotel Athens hotel. We were pleased to read your positive review and we're delighted to learn you enjoyed the hotel's services.We look forward welcoming you again during your next trip in Athens.
Sincerely, E. Tzikas, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felpham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

I booked this hotel through the Easyjet website with flights.

When we were readying about the area the hotel was in, in a travel guide we were quite unsure we wanted to stay there, however it was safe enough and the hotel was really nice.

We arrived by taxi from the airport, and when we arrived we were greeted at reception with polite and happy staff, who spoke good English. we then got our room keys and headed up.

The room was clean and good quality, although some bits of the paint work need touching up.

We ordered room service twice and it was quick to come and it was delivered by polite staff.

Breakfast each morning had a range of choices and it was all good quality. lets just say you wouldn't go hungry.

the only disappointment was that the pool, the outside bar and restaurant was still closed and the reception staff did not inform us of this when we checked in and that was one of the reasons we why we booked the hotel.

Overall we had a very nice stay at this hotel, it was clean, the beds were comfortable and the staff were all polite. Also it is a short metro ride from the main ruins and attractions.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MatthewB-I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tzikas, General Manager at Novotel Athenes, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Hotel Guest,
We would like to thank you for having shared your review in Tripadvisor further your stay at the Novotel Athens hotel. We were pleased to read your positive review and we're delighted to learn you enjoyed the hotel's services.We look forward welcoming you again during your next trip in Athens.
Sincerely, E. Tzikas, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Stayed at the hotel for two nights. The hotel is located at some distance from the Larissa metro station especially if are coming from the airport with some heavy bags. Suggest that you get off at Synyagma square and take a taxi from there which should cost around 8 euros. Otherwise, the hotel is a 7-10 min walk from Larissa station and is centrally located. We took a three day Athens pass and could get onto any metro using that. It is just around 10 min away in the metro from Syntagma, Monastiraki and Plaka.
The hotel itself is a smaller facility compared to other Novotels. It is also a bit run down.
The breakfast was pretty lavish and the view from the rooftop bar was amazing.

Room Tip: ask for a higher room with the view to the Acropolis
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSingla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tzikas, General Manager at Novotel Athenes, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Hotel Guest,
We would like to thank you for having shared your comments on Tripadvisor.
The metro is indeed a useful way of transportation when you wish to visit Athens.
You were pleased with the 7th floor since it offers a beautiful view to Acropolis and Mont Lycabettus among all.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at the novotel Athens hotel.
Sincerely, Evripides Tzikas, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
87 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

We were quite sceptical about the location of the hotel but fortunately all our fears were wrong. We didn't feel unsafe at any time. The hotel is a typical novotel chain hotel (double room with a sofa for the whole family) with excellent breakfast and tasty meal (we had HB ). The reception staff was very friendly and helpfull. We recomend this hotel for all the families who want a decent hotel with a reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank georgios123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tzikas, General Manager at Novotel Athenes, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Hotel Guest,
We would like to thank you for your preference at the Novotel Athens hotel.
We were pleased to read your positive review and we're delighted to learn you enjoyed the hotel's services.We look forward welcoming you again during your next trip in Athens.
Sincerely, E. Tzikas, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BANGALORE
Level Contributor
333 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

I stayed in this hotel when we visited Greece for a conference for 3nights, the hotel is located in a sort of residential area in a corner but close to the Plaka area where is the heart of Athens is located. The property is compact but nice rooms and functional but compared to other Novotel hotels the rooms in the property looked quite small(size of IBIS). The hotel is neatly maintained and the breakfast was quite good except that hardly there was any change in the menu.

Room Tip: The hotel is tucked with other buildings and did not have any great view from any side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARUN63512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tzikas, General Manager at Novotel Athenes, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Hotel Guest,
We would like to thank you for having shared your review in Tripadvisor further your stay at the Novotel Athens hotel. We were pleased to read your positive review and we're delighted to learn you enjoyed the hotel's services.We look forward welcoming you again during your next trip in Athens.
Sincerely, E. Tzikas, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#33 of 333 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,799 reviews
Athens Lotus Hotel
#51 of 333 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#30 of 333 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stanley Hotel
#82 of 333 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,387 reviews
Exarchia
BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel
BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel
#52 of 333 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Athenes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Athenes

Property: Novotel Athenes
Address: 4 - 6 Voda Michail, Athens 104 39, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Athens
#36 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#40 Family Hotel in Athens
#51 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#59 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Athenes 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a family holiday or a business trip, the Novotel Athens is designed for natural living. This 4 star hotel in the centre of Athens is close to Omonia Square, Larissis station and the National Museum and features spacious, ergonomic rooms for your comfort and well being. Get down to business with internet access and meeting rooms. Relax in our modern, open plan bar and restaurant with well balanced Mediterranean cuisine or at the rooftop bar and restaurant beside the pool. Free onsite parking. FREE wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Athenes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Athenes Hotel Athens
Novotel Hotel Athens
Novotel Hotel Athenes
Novotel Athens
Athens Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing