We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,601)
Filter reviews
2,601 results
Traveler rating
577
1,336
528
113
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
577
1,336
528
113
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolnice hotellarissa stationsofa bedomonia squareminute walktaxi driverbreakfast buffetlate at nighttop floorcentral athensneighborhoodxboxmetroacropolistaxisimmigrants
Filter
Updating list...
773 - 778 of 2,601 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2013

If you are reading this review, I hope you are keeping an open mind regarding the location, as some reviews on here suggest the hotel is situated miles from anything. I was slightly put off by the description of the reviews, but took the gamble- which paid off.

I stayed here for 2 nights in order to explore Athens. It will take around 1 hour to reach from the Airport on the metro. The nearest station to the hotel is Larisis, taking around 5 minutes to walk there. The main attractions are just a few stops away on the metro with most things then being walk able.

I stayed here for 2 nights in a twin room. The beds are just two single beds with a small sofa in the corner. The room had a TV (although just the 1 English speaking channel, although I am of the opinion that you don't go on holiday to watch TV). The room was slightly small but fine for my needs. A small writing desk was also in the room. No tea or coffee facilities. The bathroom was of a good size, but had no bath, just a walk in shower. Shower gel was provided.
Air conditioning is installed, however was not very effective during the first night and was reported to reception who offered to move us into a different room, which made for a much better environment. I accept things do not work 100% of the time and as the hotel rectified my issue, I can't hold this against them.

Breakfast is served on the ground floor and was an American hot style buffet. On both mornings, food was hot and well stocked.

There is a roof top pool and bar, offering views of Athens towards the Acropolis.

If I return to Athens, I will certainly consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank metromuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tzikas, General Manager at Novotel Athenes, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Hotel Guest,
We would like to thank you for having shared your feedback on Tripadvisor.
You enjoyed your stay at the Novotel Athens hotel and we were delighted to read your warm words of appreciation.
We look forward receiving you again in the future.
Sincerely, E. Tzikas, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

we had a good quality room and bathroom with an American buffet breakfast which I enjoyed very much.Rooftop terrace was the reason ( apart from great price ) we booked and had a good view with very comfortable sunbeds. Drinks were expensive on the roof though.The lounge bar had some good offers for happy hour cocktails to start the evening off. The main advice I would give is to not let the area put you off. There are a few dodgy looking characters around but if you are city savvy you will be fine. We walked to Exharia at night for a great choice of bars and restaurants every night for 5 nights and we were never hassled or felt threatened. I would say - know where you are going, walk briskly with purpose and do not stop to look at maps at night. If you are comfortable in a city you will be fine.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenlovestravellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tzikas, General Manager at Novotel Athenes, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Hotel Guest,
We would like to thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Novotel Athens hotel.
You enjoyed your stay and we thank you for your positive feedback.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again.
Sincerely, E. Tzikas, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I would say we had a very pleasant stay at the Novotel Athens hotel. We enjoyed the breakfast every morning. The staff were friendly and the rooms were comfortable. However, I would like to mention that we would have liked our towels in our bathrooms to be changed everyday. We did place them on the hooks which were meant for change of towels. Also, we noticed that the showers didn't drain properly which made it a bit uncomfortable to take a shower. Overall, we did enjoy our stay and would definitely use the hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Allwyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tzikas, General Manager at Novotel Athenes, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Hotel Guest,
We would like to thank you for having shared your feedback with us.
We were delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay at the Novotel Athens hotel and wee took into great consideration your remarks regarding the towels and the shower drain.
Regarding the towels, the hotel participate to the "Plant for Planet" program which allows to donate an amount to plant trees for each towel not changed!
The remark for the drainage was shared with the maintenance department and they will bring the necessary solutions.
We hope to welcome you again at your next trip in Athens.
Sincerely, E. Tzikas, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed there a few weeks ago. We had $1,000 cash in our room. We should have put it in our safe, but we figured that since it was a luxury hotel, we would be safe. We were WRONG. Someone came into our room and stole our money. They had to have had a key, so it was probably an inside job.

We called the hotel and informed them, yet they did nothing. They said they would call us, but they never did. This hotel should be ashamed of themselves. I am planning on going to the police and the embassy.

You should be careful if you stay here, but frankly, I wouldn't feel safe here. I will never return to any Novotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shanaz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tzikas, General Manager at Novotel Athenes, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Hotel Client,
We would like to thank you for having made your comments also through Tripadvisor.
Once you called the hotel to inform us about your loss, we immediatly took all the security measures and we made all the investigations related to a loss. Therefore we didn't find anything alarming and this is the reason we didn't came again back to you.
Since it has already happen, clients may have forgot things or money and once we found them we deliverated at once to their owner.
Please kindly be reassured that well keep our investigations and if we have anything new, we'll contact you directly.
Sincerely Yours, E. Tzikas, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

normally we come back from Agistri to the UK in one go- which does make it a long trip- but this year we decided to stop off at the Novotel and visit the Parthenon. The hotel is relatively easy to find but well worth a short trek from the nearest tube station (one change from Pireaus). The room was comfortable, the rooftop pool was simply extraordinary with an incredible view of the Parthenon/ Acropolis- and the service was good and very friendly. The food in the restaurant was just what the doctor ordered and the price was pretty reasonable too. We were also able to leave our bags at the hotel while out the following morning (if visiting the Parthenon get there at 8am as it opens) and even managed to get a taxi to the airport without being fleeced. we will certainly visit again. btw the measure of a good hotel is the buffet breakfast- this one was pretty special....

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tzikas, General Manager at Novotel Athenes, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure to read your positive feedback further your stay at the Novotel Athens hotel.
We thank you for your warm words of appreciation and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again while your next passage in Athens.
Sincerely, E. Tzikas, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews