We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay”
Review of Novotel Athenes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Athenes
Ranked #63 of 326 Hotels in Athens
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One night stay”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Really nice staff - very friendly and helpful. Good sized room, which was non-smoking but nevertheless had a faint aroma of cigarette smoke. Breakfast a little chilly as doors open to accommodate smokers, but that's life in Greece! We booked a long time ahead and got a deal so it was very good value. It was convenient to be able to park in the hotel's underground car park.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank 44Maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tzikas, General Manager at Novotel Athenes, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Client,
We would like to thank you for your positive review and hope to welcome you again at the Novotel Athens hotel!
Sincerely, E. Tzikas, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    1,146
    438
    91
    32
See reviews for
791
732
138
208
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The hotel is OK inside. The rooms are clean and neat. The breakfast is not bad either. The hotel staff is nice and helpful.
BUT: The hotel's surrounding is dirty and bad. All the taxi drivers said to us that it was a very sensible part of Athens with a lots of problems with immigrants. The metro station is walking distance even with kids but I wouldnt go there in the evening....I think for this price, you can find better in Athens. Nothing is around of the hotel...or u r not willing to go there...
They also have an elevator problem. Our kids got stucked in it. ANd it seems that they had problems with the elevator beforehand and afterwards as well...For our next trip I wouldnt choose this hotel to stay in....too bad cuz the rooms r clean and OK.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Beatrix T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tzikas, General Manager at Novotel Athenes, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. All our clients' remarks are important as they allow us to improve our ouselves. We hope to welcome you again at the Novotel Athens hotel.
Sincerely, E. Tzikas, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Spent a few a days in Athens for our wedding anniversary in April 2013. The hotel was approximately about an hour away from the airport by Taxi. Room was good though it could do with a new carpet, and the bathroom was very clean. Problems with the safe not opening twice but it was fixed promptly as the cause was a "flat" internal battery. I was very surprised that they didn't provide proper cutlery in the room for tea/coffee and instead gave paper cups !!!! what an insult to the guests. The staff were very accommodating and helpful but felt that somehow certain company policies were restricting their progress. They all work very hard despite the recent press reports about the economic gloom and doom.Close to the Larissa Metro station and it proved convenient to travel anywhere in the city within 25 mins. The provision of FREE Wi-Fi was welcome and handy. Only had breakfasts at the hotel which was very nice, hot, well cooked, and good variety. Roof-top swimming pool & bar but was closed due to it not being the season, however, it has a beautiful view to the city and the Acropolis. The gym was good too. Overall, good hotel and it was value for money and service. Thank you to all the wonderful staff and keep up the good work.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tzikas, General Manager at Novotel Athenes, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for having shared you review on Tripadvisor.
We took good notice of your remarks and shared them with the entire team.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at the Novotel Athens hotel.
Sincerely, E. Tzikas, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. When you first walk into this hotel it looks just lovely. But the rooms are a big disappointment. The fridge wasn't working with a flashing light going. We asked for someone to come up and fix it 3 times before someone finally arrived. Then the safe had problems and we couldn't open it. They came and fixed it but again we had to call for someone as it wouldn't open. The room was at the end of the hall so the water pressure was no good. You had to stand against the wall to get any water. When the water went down the drain in the sink it overflowed from the drain. I've stayed in Novotel hotels before but this was not up to that standard. Plus the area it is in is not close to any of Athens attractions. One thing tho is Taxis are cheap so it is easy to get around. But next time I would rather stay closer in town. Breakfast wasn't that good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank watts54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tzikas, General Manager at Novotel Athenes, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Client,
We would like to thank you for your review.
We value all our clients' comments as they help us to improve our services.
Therefore, we'll keep a closer look to the mentioned remarks.
We thank you once more and look forward receiving you in the future.
Sincerely yours, E. Tzikas, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

You generally know what to expect with a Novotel - this was really no different. For 6 nights we got very good deal. Generous sized family suite (2 x adults, 2 x kids) which was clean, comfortable and had free wi-fi. Lobby games centre and computer access is also a nice touch. Breakfast is good selection - nothing special - but for €12 per adult (kids eat free) is a good way with known quality to start the day. Unfortunately pool was not open for us but the top deck does offer some excellent city views. Staff at front desk were excellent and always helpful. One drawback is the location. Being north side of town you get a feeling of being a little away. However it is right in middle of 4 x metro stations (Larissia, Metaxagou, Omonia and Victoria) which are between 450-600m away. This is not really a worry unless you have a desire to be right on top of public transport and at the foot of Palaka. To be honest not really necessary. Would recommend Victoria (nice area to see local shops) or Larissia (closest). We encountered no crime / pickpocket problems but were a little wary after rerading numerous posts on this - follow normal safety and common sense and Athens is a very safe city with generous and charming people. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vgkLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tzikas, General Manager at Novotel Athenes, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Client,
We would like to thank you for your message and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again! Sincerely yours, E. Tzikas, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

In my opinion -Basic and bland and not good. Something I had looked forward to but sadly let me down. Room floors were filthy(stains on the floors and sticky patches too), heating could not be turned off(apparently this is normal for the whole hotel according to Receptionist) and the bathrooms so needed a bleach clean ( dust and hair balls in the corners). We had a room above the smoking area, which is outside from the restraunt and as we had to open the window to cool the room, it rapidly filled with cigarette smoke. I have to be fair and say that the room size for Europe was fair.The hot food at breakfast was kept warm under a normal light bulb and was luke warm at best, however the fresh fruit was fresh and very nice. The Lady at the gift shop was lovely. The staff at the bar , which was clean, bright and cheerful, were friendly and helpful.
The area while run down was fine as long as one kept a look out and paid attention to surroundings - not somewhere you would walk at night alone or even as a couple. The supermarket about 1/2 a block from the hotel was nice and friendly. Taxis came to the hotel quickly and were cheap to use to get to and from the Plaka. About 6 euro each way.
Would I stay there again- No

Room Tip: I do not know if there is a good room in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blondecat61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tzikas, General Manager at Novotel Athenes, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Client,
We would like to thank you for having posted your review on Tripadvisor.
All our clients' opinions are valuable for us as they help us to ameliorate both our services and our amenities, since your satisfaction is the key to our work.
We thank you once again and look forward receiving you again. Sincerely yours, E. Tzikas, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in room 402 which faces out from the back of the hotel. The room was spacious with a seating area, comfortable bed and glass, tile and chrome bathroom. There is a fridge and kettle as well as wi-fi access. At 55 euro for advanced, no-cancellation booking this was a bargain. The buffet breakfast was 11 euro p.p. and did have bacon and scrambled egg as well as the usua cold stuff. It is not so cheap but it is convenient and worth paying for.

The area is "not Kolonaki" - the best part of town. Situated between the Larissa station and Omonia Square the streets are a bit run-down and dusty. But you only have to walk through them to and from the hotel: so it is no big deal and the cheapness and comfort of the hotel more than off sets this.

Plaka, the area with all the restaurants and tourist night-life, is an easy half hour walk away. There is a small pool on the roof of the hotel with views of the Parthenon and Mt Lykabetis. In early April the pool was filled and the water swimable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank retiredvacationers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tzikas, General Manager at Novotel Athenes, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Client,
We would like to thank you for having shared your comments on Tripadvisor further your recent stay at the Novotel Athens hotel.
My team and I were pleased to learn you enjoyed our services and you had a nice time in our hotel.
We hope to welcome you you again in the future.
Sincerely, E. Tzikas, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#33 of 326 in Athens
1,980 reviews
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#34 of 326 in Athens
2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stanley Hotel
#93 of 326 in Athens
1,510 reviews
Novus City Hotel
#36 of 326 in Athens
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Athenes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Athenes

Property: Novotel Athenes
Address: 4 - 6 Voda Michail, Athens 104 39, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Athens
#39 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#40 Family Hotel in Athens
#51 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#59 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Athenes 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a family holiday or a business trip, the Novotel Athens is designed for natural living. This 4 star hotel in the centre of Athens is close to Omonia Square, Larissis station and the National Museum and features spacious, ergonomic rooms for your comfort and well being. Get down to business with internet access and meeting rooms. Relax in our modern, open plan bar and restaurant with well balanced Mediterranean cuisine or at the rooftop bar and restaurant beside the pool. Free onsite parking. FREE wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Athenes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Athenes Hotel Athens
Novotel Hotel Athens
Novotel Hotel Athenes
Novotel Athens
Athens Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing