We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Novotel gathers what you look for”
Review of Novotel Athenes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Athenes
Ranked #56 of 285 Hotels in Athens
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I'm not going to mention the destination. I'm going to write about the hotel itself. First, the building is quite modern compared to Athens general. Room was spacious with a double bed and a sofa. It was clean enough. There are tea and coffee with a kettle. Two free 1/2 lt.s water is also included. Free wi-fi is also available. Staff is warm and quick. I definitely recommend Novotel Athenes to both business and family trips.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tzikas, General Manager at Novotel Athenes, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for having shared your review on Tripadvisor further you stay at the Novotel Athens hotel.
Your comments were shared with the entire team and it was a pleasure to learn you enjoyed your stay and our services.
We hope to see you again at the Novotel Athens hotel while your next trip in Athens.
Sincerely, E. Tzikas, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

772 - 778 of 2,401 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

We paid an incredible special rate of EUR62 for a double including breakfast and secure underground parking. Terrific value - the room was clean, quiet and bed comfortable. Only criticism is that the shower pressure was mediocre but at this price you can live with it and to be fair it was not too bad and I did not report it as a fault. The hotel is well located within a EUR5 taxi fare of most central locations. The area is currently suffering from the economic crisis and I would not advise walking at night in this area - however there are many taxis available directly outside the hotel on the main road, so no worries and the hotel is very secure. The free secure parking was great as you can normally expect to pay EUR10 min per day. The breakfast had everything you could wish for (full American) and it was no trouble for the chef to fix an omelette and poached eggs as a special order. We had a decaf cappuccino too but the blend was awful (undrinkable).
Overall though brilliant - at this price! Excellent helpful front desk.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Analyste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tzikas, General Manager at Novotel Athenes, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Client,
We would like to thank you for having shared your feedback on Tripadvisor.
We value our clients' comments as it is a way for us to ensure the quality of our services and our amenities, since your satisfaction is the key of our efforts.
All the Novotel Athens team thanks you and hope to welcome you again.
Sincerely Yours, E. Tzikas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
Tirana, Albania
Reviewed February 25, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tzikas, General Manager at Novotel Athenes, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paragpatel
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tzikas, General Manager at Novotel Athenes, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I had originally booked in this hotel for six nights, but initially ended up not taking it at all because of all the negative reviews on Trip Advisor and Booking.com. However, after 3 nights in Plaka and another 3 nights in Mykonos, we had a spooky one night stay in Hotel Art. I shifted the very next morning to Novotel, which proved all the critics wrong.

The hotel was fabulous, starting from the reception staff, who were so welcoming and helpful. The rooms were very neat, comfortable and cozy, with all the facilities that one could ask for. Me and my son even enjoyed playing the x-box kinetic console which was placed near the lifts. My son also enjoyed the kids corner on the other end of the hotel too.

The breakfast was delicious with a lot of variety. The swimming pool was not open, which could be understood as it was winter. However, the gym and spa rooms were very neat and clean too.

All the reviews complaining about the location of the hotel is utter rubbish. In my 3 nights and 4 days of stay there, i never felt uncomfortable even once. I did venture out at night to see for myself what was all the negative reviews about. But there was no prostitution or drug issues at all. Nothing in the near vicinity.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to one and all if you need a relaxing stay. It is really worth the money i paid for.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AbdulMuneer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tzikas, General Manager at Novotel Athenes, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear Client,
We would like to thank you for your positive comments.
There is no better reward for my teams and myself to learn that our guests, both adults & children are absolutely satisfied with our services and our amenities.
It would be a real pleasure to receive you again at the Novotel Athens hotel while your next stay in Athens.
Sincerely Yours, E. Tzikas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at Novotel Athens for three nights at the end of August 2012. It is located in an area that is very convenient with access to public transportation, near the historic center of Athens. It was a great experience. The room was very clean and comfortable. The front desk staff was polite and very helpful. The view from the swimming poll deck was breathtaking, nice view of the Acropolis and a magnificent sunset. Breakfast was was great too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tzikas, General Manager at Novotel Athenes, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.
All the teams were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay at the Novotel Athens hotel as our major target is to provide you our best services .
It will be our pleasure to receive you again during your next stay in Athens.
Sincerely Yours, E. Tzikas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Was a great experience, nice staff very kind and helpful, the only restaurant open was the one in the lobby, the one on the top was closed (winter). The room was clean, nicely decorated, the minibar was empty...(?) and a spacious bathroom. The views from the top of the hotel are magnificent (specially at night). The hotel is located at 10 min. walk from Omonia square, which in the past was a good place in Athens, but in the last years had come to worse. The surroundings of the hotel are not very modern (old buildings), but I felt safe at all times. I realized this when I found that the hotel door is open 24hrs and confirmed it when the taxi which picked us up to the airport came at 4:00am. and the driver was sitting in the lobby while the car was fully open in the street. (Novotel Madrid Puente de la Paz closes the hotel door at midnight, so if you come after that hour you need to wait for the security guys to open it for you). The guys at the front desk were very attentive. We had dinner twice at the hotel restaurant, the food was great but both times the options were limited (not all the meals in the menu were available), but the service was great. The hotel is close (few blocks away) to the Larissa metro station and the Archeological Museum (where is a stop for the hop on hop off citysight tour bus).

Room Tip: Get Rooms 620 to 623 for great views of the Acropolis (rooms in the smoking area)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nestor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tzikas, General Manager at Novotel Athenes, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Client, I would like to thank you for having chosen the Novotel Athens hotel for your stay in Athens and for sharing your experience at Tripadvisor.
The teams were delighted to learn that their efforts have been appreciated and remembered, as our primary goal is our clients' satisfaction.
We thank you once more and hope to receive you again at the Novotel Athens hotel.
Sincerely Yours, E. Tzikas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#34 of 285 in Athens
2,194 reviews
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#28 of 285 in Athens
2,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrotel Hotel
#20 of 285 in Athens
1,217 reviews
Novus City Hotel
#36 of 285 in Athens
775 reviews
Stanley Hotel
#85 of 285 in Athens
1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Athenes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Athenes

Address: Michail Voda 4, Athens 104 39, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Athens
#26 Family Hotel in Athens
#38 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#46 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#50 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $97 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Athenes 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a family holiday or a business trip, the Novotel Athens is designed for natural living. This 4 star hotel in the centre of Athens is close to Omonia Square, Larissis station and the National Museum and features spacious, ergonomic rooms for your comfort and well being. Get down to business with internet access and meeting rooms. Relax in our modern, open plan bar and restaurant with well balanced Mediterranean cuisine or at the rooftop bar and restaurant beside the pool. Free onsite parking. FREE wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Novotel Athenes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Athenes Hotel Athens
Novotel Hotel Athens
Novotel Hotel Athenes
Novotel Athens
Athens Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing