We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,624)
Filter reviews
2,625 results
Traveler rating
585
1,346
534
113
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
585
1,346
534
113
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool nice hotel larissa station sofa bed omonia square minute walk taxi driver breakfast buffet late at night top floor central athens neighborhood xbox metro acropolis taxis immigrants
Filter
Updating list...
949 - 954 of 2,625 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2012

I stayed in the hotel from 26th to 27th of May. The hotel staff is really kind and helpful. They did really care about us! Normally you need to check out at noon but we got one of our three single rooms booked longer in order to leave our stuff in one of the rooms.
The bar and pool on top of the building in the 8th floor is really cool. It is great view and the staff again is very nice - great service!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank U-TheSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tzikas, General Manager at Novotel Athenes, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your comments at Trip Advisor.

It is a pleasure for us to hear that you have enjoyed our Hotel in general and specifically our spacious rooms, the Children corner and the breakfast.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at our hotel and would like to assure you of our best personal attention to your future stays at the Novotel Athenes.

Sincerely yours,

Evripides TZIKAS
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tzikas, General Manager at Novotel Athenes, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Our stay at the Novotel Athenes was exactly what one would expect from a big chain hotel - with an added bonus of the rooftop pool. On a hot day, the rooftop pool was a good place to relax and cool down. It also has a decent view of the Acropolis and the rest of the city. The rooftop bar was not in operation during our stay (due to what looked like rennovations), but this wasn't a problem as you were able to bring your own.

Quick Summary:

Rooms - Clean, tidy and comfortable. Shower pressure was good and the airconditioning worked well.

Gym - Clean, tidy, free towels available. Well air conditioned, few machines i.e. treadmill, exercycle, cross-trainer, no free weights - but there is an all-in-one weights machine.

Positives:
- They allowed us to have a late checkout (2pm) given that our flight wasn't till late at night.
- Front of desk staff were very helpful and knowledgeable.
- XBox 360 Kinect was set up in the lobby, which, even as adults, we were drawn to play with.
- Quite a few Greek bakeries and local mini-markets nearby; and as we didn't choose the breakfast option, we found this was a good way to have something to eat in the morning. However, there isn't much else around the neighbourhood.

Negatives:
- The hotel location is not so convenient, BUT, the Larissa Metro Station is about 10 minutes walk away and gets you around Athens easily. It's also not a bad location to taxi from, especially if you get the taxi driver to run the meter. We were able to get to Gazi (bars and restaurants) and Arianou St (restaurants) for around 4 Euros.

Tips:
- A quite cost-effective way to getting to the airport instead of a taxi is to take the Metro (blue line). From this hotel, you can take a 3-4 Euro taxi to a nearby metro stop and then pay less than 10 Euros for the trip the airport.

Other:
- There have been quite a few reviews stating that hotel area is dodgy, but to be honest, we felt quite safe during our night outs and had no problems walking from the Larissa Metro Station to the the hotel.
- Watch out for pick-pockets on the Metro's. Although quite safe, we had a run-in with a group that unsuccessfully tried to steal one of my friend's wallet. When confronted, they were relatively harmless, but we ourselves were a big group.
- We booked this hotel via LastMinute's Secret Hotel promotion and paid less than 35 Pounds per night to stay in a Superior room.

Overall, an enjoyable, worry-free and comfortable stay. Would definitely return here again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank visit50percent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tzikas, General Manager at Novotel Athenes, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many greetings from Novotel Athenes.

I would like to reply to your comments on this website and thank you for sharing your positive feedback about the hospitality of our team members. I was happy to know that we have succeeded to exceed your expectations in regards to the service delivered.

We put on a lot of effort to maintain the highest standards of service our guests would expect from Novotel Athenes and we do appreciate a lot your kind recognition.

We will be looking forward to welcoming you back to Athens and to Novotel Athenes in a very near future, please do not hesitate to contact us at any time.

Best Regards,
Evripides TZIKAS
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

Clean, friendly service, great roof pool. Bed was uncomfortable and not a fan of glass bathroom swing doors. Note pool bar only open from June - big disappointment as it is really nice on the roof. Area is a bit rough

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peteoxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tzikas, Manager at Novotel Athenes, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

On behalf of entire Novotel Athenes team I would like to thank you for this excellent feedback on Trip Advisor site.
I was happy to read your comments in which you praise hotel’s products and services. My greatest pleasure was to know that a bit of personal care provided by our team members did make you feel truly relaxed and comfortable during your stay.

I will be sure to share your comments with all members of staff .

We will be happy to welcoming you back at Novotel Athenes in a not a very remote future.

Sincerely yours,
Evripides TZIKAS
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Hi, this is a good hotel in City, basic hotel with good facilities to a traveller. The Staff are very friendly and helpful especially the GM who has gone out of the way to help us.

Room Tip: Free wifi available
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shriramd74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tzikas, General Manager at Novotel Athenes, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for sharing a positive experience that our team managed to create during your vacation.

My absolute pleasure was to know that our team members have managed to deliver a bit of personal care as it’s our goal to provide an extra service to our guest and to let them feel most relaxed and comfortable while staying with us. I will surely pass your feedback to all my colleagues and personally to those persons, who you have mentioned in your letter. We put on a lot of efforts to achieve and maintain the highest standards of service to satisfy our guests requires, thank you for your kind recognition.

I am looking forward to welcoming your at Novotel Athenes in a near future.

Best regards,

Evripides TZIKAS
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews