We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,601)
Filter reviews
2,601 results
Traveler rating
577
1,336
528
113
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
577
1,336
528
113
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolnice hotellarissa stationsofa bedomonia squareminute walktaxi driverbreakfast buffetlate at nighttop floorcentral athensneighborhoodxboxmetroacropolistaxisimmigrants
Filter
Updating list...
1,004 - 1,009 of 2,601 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2011

The hotel is great, and offers a lot great swimming pool on the roof with a view on the Acropolis, great gym, free wifi, and pleasant lobby. Restaurant on the roof has a stunning view, but don't expect too much from the food, just medium.
Superiors rooms are clean, and functional, but nothing special.

Location is very good, close to city center, but the immediate surrounding is quite threatening at night: you need to walk till Omonia place to feel secure. It is better to take a taxi (pretty cheap), vyou can order it at the reception. I do recommend that hotel anyhow for short stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monaco_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

The hotel was nice, the rooms were clean, very good breakfast. Nice staff. Everybody was very helpful everytime. They quickly changed our room when we complained about the air conditioning. Althought it is very near the subway, we never took it because so many people advise us not to walk around the hotel area because it was not safe. It was not a problem for us: we just took cabs all the time, and considering cabs are so cheap in Athens, it was very convenient for us. The hotel also have a nice pool, which was nice, since you do need something to cool off after walking around Athens during an entire hot day.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erinleite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We stayed at the Novotel August 2011 with 2 families before moving on to a sailing holiday in the Saronic Gulf. This is a great hotel for the family. The children loved the rooftop pool and bar which has beautiful views across the city and to the Acropolis. My son had an accident in the pool (his own fault) and I cannot speak highly enough of the Manager and staff who were very attentive and went out of their way to ensure we were OK. We were taken to hospital, stitched up and back within the hour. The rooms are comfortable and modern, and breakfast buffet was great with very personable service. The local metro around the city is only a short walk. Would recommend if you are in Greece for the first time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaHutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed there 2 nights August 11 & 12. We appreciated our stay.
THE PROS
- Hotel and rooms are clean
- there is air conditioning that can easily be managed (it is not always the case)
- room looks pro as expected for this kind of hotel
- we can stay at 4 in a room (2 adult & 2 young children on a sofa bed that can be opened)
NB:when open the room is naturally only partially accessible
- there is a swimming pool & an outside restaurant on the roof with city and Acropolis view
- there is a gym
- underground parking for free
REMARK
- huge french customer population
THE CONS
- location is in the city but not downtown. There is a walk distance of around 10 minutes from the metro (Athens metro is just great!) but at night there is no metro (in Greece people live late at night). Unless you have a car, in order to go the hotel from downtown, you will have to walk through a large area where there is prostitution and junkies taking drugs in public. We found it shocking. It is not recommended to walk there with kids.
Recommendation
There was no hotel shuttle in this hiotel, however you can ask a lady at the front desk if she knows someone. We had Viktor (nice russian guy) that picked us up (there was a taxi strike) at a reasonable price

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olivier001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

The hotel is fine like most Novotels: modern, simple, clean, efficient. However, it is easily the very nicest building in the neighborhood, which says something: you;ll hve a nice hotel, but the experience in an out won;t be as great. The neighborhood, although not unsafe, is just your average working middle class neighborhood. Lots of midrise buildings from the 1960s and shops catering to locals. The walk to and from Omonia or Larissa stations is boring and bland. Doable with luggage (streets are flat and most curbs have handicapped ramps for easy luggage access) but still unpleasant. The walk in an out of the hotel is best described as 10 minutes of bland boredom. Taxis are cheap, though, so we learned that taking a cab from Monastiraki for 3.16 euro (yes, reliably 3.16 euro each and every time) was the way to get to the hotel. Monastiraki is a delightful area for lunch or dinner, it's right on the edge of the Plaka and the Agora, so a good base for exploring Athens. With this hotel 3 euros away by taxi, the hotel becomes perfectly nice. The room was modern but minimalist. Clean and sleek and modern, but not a single drawer or shelf, only hanging space. The front desk staff was super helpful with tips and directions and any requests.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptainMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews