We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable location, excellent facilities, lovely rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Athens Diamond Plus
Ranked #95 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2014

This hotel is conveniently located just a block away from Syntagma Square and the Parliament Building, which means that all the transport you will need is close at hand- trains, trams, taxis and buses. It has two buildings, one on either side of Voulis Street near the corner of Mitropoleus Street, which is one of the main thoroughfares heading away from Syntagma towards the Plaka.
The rooms are large and well appointed, with good air conditioners and terrific showers! Our bed was actually a king size- room 108 on the first floor. The decor is very nice and relaxing and the breakfasts are fresh, tasty and adequate to start the busy day of sightseeing! There is also a pleasant view from the 6th floor dining room in the other building where breakfast is served.
We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, only too pleased to solve any issues you may
have.
The only little bug we had was the lifts which are very small and hot, but better than stairs.
Loved this hotel and will definitely stay there again if/when we go back to Athens.

Room Tip: Our corner suite on 1st floor was large and sunny. Close the windows at night and you won't be d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tootone56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 200 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2014

The rooms are a very decent size, tired but have been glitzed up. Just don't look behind any curtains. We had two rooms, both had good bathrooms but one was a shower over the bath which can be awkward for some. Beds were not great, but we slept.
Prepare for the elevator - only just smaller than a telephone box, great way to get to know someone.
The smoking room, which is just below the reception, is quite overpowering when a couple of people are in there, let alone a crowd. Unpleasant for any non-smoker, who has to run the gauntlet on entrance and exit.
Reception staff were adequately attentive, no more, no less.
The big surprise is when you go to the rooftop for breakfast in the morning. It certainly sets you up for the day with a huge array of culinary fare. This was definitely a delight of the stay. I would book again just for the breakfast.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask about the shower/bath if stepping over the bath is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TheGryffon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We stayed here end of July. Very close to the airport bus (we only found this out for the return trip!) and really good location for central Athens and to explore.

No problems with the room. Shower was very good, bed was very comfy and the aircon was 100% - very important. Good big room.

For someone on a smaller budget I would advise this hotel. There are nicer hotels, but they are VERY pricey. We liked this place. Staff were very helpful and very friendly. Gets the thumbs up from me!

Breakfast was the top floor across the road, which was no problem, its just like going to any breakfast, but you had to cross the street!

Room Tip: We were in the Plus hotel - across from the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BrianC6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

This is a "strange" hotel in the sense that it occupies two renovated buildings on opposite sides of the same road. The reception and breakfast room on the one building serves both.

I must admit that the decoration was not to my taste at all. Very glitzy and superficially glamorous (fake diamonds on the ceiling, chandeliers, gold bedheads etc..). Especially as this was a family holiday, the setting felt a bit surreal. However my young one said that he felt like a king in there so the bottom line is that taste is purely a personal matter...

Pros: - Location is ideal, you are seconds away from Ermou Street, the main shopping street of Athens and very close to the main tourist attractions, Syntagma square, the Acropolis, Monastiraki etc. Everything is within walking distance and if not the metro station is.
- Service was very good, the personnel saw to our every need timely and with a smile on their face.
- Free bottled water in the fridge: a very nice move especially during the hot weather.
- Free wifi everywhere in the hotel.

Cons: - As this is an old building there are some structural issues. For instance there was a pillar in the middle of the bedroom.
- The rooms are not big enough for a family of three, we probably wouldn't have a problem going there as a couple, but the three of us felt like we were bumping into each other. Also there is not enough storage space (one closet- no drawers).
- Though I can't say anything bad on the cleanliness of the hotel, it didn't feel spotless. This probably has to do with the fact that it is an old building.
- Breakfast was ok. However going to breakfast (opposite building- taking the lift to the sixth floor) was a bit of a drag as the lift door would often stay open on one of the floors, thus delaying people going up or down...

To recap, I would probably stay again to this hotel and take advantage of its location and good price if going with my wife. I am not sure whether I would choose it for a family vacation though it is not a definite no-no.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank pioann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

stayed at the athens diamond plus for one night in athens. the location is just a few blocks from the syntagma square - very good location, and quiet - not too much going on outside of the hotel as it is just off the the main street feeding from the square. walking distance to the parthenon, plaka and monastiraki areas - all hot spots.

we walked to the parthenon - about 10 min walk; had dinner at a rooftop terrace overlooking the parthenon, and walked through monastiraki area where that seems to be where most of the young people congregate.

location is great, walking distance also to the metro or you can take the bus (pickup at the syntagma square as well) - if you want to go to the airport the bus x95 takes you there and leaves from the syntagma square, or hop on the metro there as well - a 5 min walk from the hotel

room was very clean - high vaulted ceilings, and very nice updated showers. free wifi and breakfast. i would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tom s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Arrived in Athens after 22 hours travelling. Took metro train from airport to syntagma station and hotel was 2 mins from station. Warm welcome. Lovely room (205) all white and pristine clean. Lovely big balcony. Free wifi. Close to Acropolis. Great for a sightseeing location. Highly recommended. Wished we were there longer. Breakfast was amazing. Greek yoghurt cut like cheese so lovely and local honey. DIY freshly squeezed orange juice- electric juicer provided!! Food fresh and typical Greek. All you could wish for.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robsonclan1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Great location at the boundary of the Plaka area, close to metro and the
main shopping street. In the new building everything is in white
and in mirrors, we liked it a lot. I had problems with the internet, but I am
not sure it was hotel's fault.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JakCv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Athens Diamond Homtel
Athens Diamond Homtel
#61 of 282 in Athens
656 reviews
Omonia
Mirabello Hotel
Mirabello Hotel
#94 of 282 in Athens
125 reviews
Syntagma
Athens Cypria Hotel
Athens Cypria Hotel
#67 of 282 in Athens
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#24 of 282 in Athens
757 reviews
Plaka
Best Western Amazon Hotel
Syntagma
Amalia Hotel
Amalia Hotel
#17 of 282 in Athens
1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Diamond Plus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Diamond Plus

Address: 23 Voulis & Mitropoleos, Athens 105 63, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: $82 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Athens Diamond Plus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Athens Diamond Plus is a stylistic boutique hotel in Plaka, the old town of Athens that opened its doors in May 2011. The theme of Athens Diamond Plus is white opulence with bold golden strokes. The style is eclectic and neo-romantic with details inspired by ancient Greece. Athens Diamond Hotel is designed to offer to its guests a unique experience of relaxation and reverie in an inspiring environment of beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Athens Diamond Plus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Diamond Plus Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing