We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service, wonderful rooms; very accomodating to our early arrival.”
Review of Periscope Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Periscope Hotel
Ranked #72 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great service, wonderful rooms; very accomodating to our early arrival.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was a wonderful hotel: small, luxurious, great location. very modern and comfortable rooms. Just around the corner from a local taverna where we dined two of three nights in Athens. Yes. I would visit again. This trip was Sept. 2007 actually.

Room Tip: some street noise at night. Window treatments still let in some light. Wonderful breakfasts and coff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    124
    35
    6
    3
See reviews for
30
171
35
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Went here last year and room was well finished, desk were helpful with directions etc. Its in Kolonaki which is a great area best for shopping! Decent hotel for your money and good location. Breakfast was average for price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I totally recommend this hotel. It is not only in the heart of Athens but also in a perfect and safe location. The neighborhood seems unaffected from the financial crisis and is full of great shops and restaurants.

Moreover, the rooms are extremely clean and the breakfast is tasty. Congratulations to the excellent (!) and very very helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicola A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I liked very much the minimal design of the hotel.Moreover it is found in a nice location, really close to anything that someone would like to visit. In addition it is close to the subway. I was impressed by the excellent service and the staff was really kind.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I decided to book Periscope, for its location. I have stayed there before back in 2007. The service is excellent, as well as the cleanliness of the room.
The serious problem is that there is no lobby and you have to sit in the dinning room if you want to have a cup of coffee or meet with a bussiness associate.
Another problem i had, was the connectivity of my mobile...there was NO SIGNAL in my room, and this gave a big headache as i had to get out in the corridor to call abroad or localy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with trip.ru

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This hotel is a little gem, sittuated in a gorgeous, trendy part of Athens, full of great shops and restaurants. There is an authenticity to this part of Athens (the Kolonaki District) which you don't get in the more touristy parts of the city. Staying in Kolonaki we felt like we got an insight into the real Athens, which for the record is a fantastic city with friendly, passionate people. The hotel itself is attractive and clean with impeccable customer service. We loved every minute of staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyBugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Hotel Periscope is a very modern hotel in an ancient city. Located in the Kolonski area with cafes and restaurants, the location could not be better for exploring Athens on foot. Also, the location being in a quiet street means little noise at night after a full day out. The restaurant on the ground floor served an excellent breakfast and dessert and drinks late at night. The staff was wonderfully accommodating. We especially enjoyed the panoramic photo of Athens at night above our bed .

Room Tip: Try for a room on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Philadephiatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Duty Manager at Periscope Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments on Periscope Hotel. Our aim is to offer our guests a "home-away-from-home" experience and comments as yours keep us motivated towards our goal. We are happy that both our team members, services and location contributed in creating a wonderful memory on your last visit in Athens and we will be happy to accommodate you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Irini Antoniou
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Kolonaki / Lykavittos
Coco-Mat Hotel Athens
Coco-Mat Hotel Athens
#14 of 326 in Athens
232 reviews
Kolonaki / Lykavittos
Saint George Lycabettus
Saint George Lycabettus
#69 of 326 in Athens
1,966 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#10 of 326 in Athens
1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#35 of 326 in Athens
1,979 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,200 reviews
Syntagma
Athens Diamond Homtel
Athens Diamond Homtel
#64 of 326 in Athens
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Periscope Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Periscope Hotel

Property: Periscope Hotel
Address: 22 Haritos str., Kolonaki, Athens 10675, Greece (Formerly Athenian Inn)
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Kolonaki / Lykavittos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Athens
#26 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#44 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Periscope Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Periscope is a minimal city hotel with an impressive urban architecture, located on a quiet street, minutes away from Kolonaki square. The hotel draws its name from its electric periscope, a fantastic way to visit Athens from a distance! In the Lounge Bar, guests can find a remote control for a periscope located on the roof of the hotel. With a 360 degree range, the periscope's views, which guests select, are shown real time on a big plasma TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Periscope Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Periscope Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing