We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great neighbourhood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Periscope Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Periscope Hotel
Ranked #60 of 335 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great neighbourhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Hotel Periscope is a very modern hotel in an ancient city. Located in the Kolonski area with cafes and restaurants, the location could not be better for exploring Athens on foot. Also, the location being in a quiet street means little noise at night after a full day out. The restaurant on the ground floor served an excellent breakfast and dessert and drinks late at night. The staff was wonderfully accommodating. We especially enjoyed the panoramic photo of Athens at night above our bed .

Room Tip: Try for a room on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Philadephiatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Duty Manager at Periscope Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments on Periscope Hotel. Our aim is to offer our guests a "home-away-from-home" experience and comments as yours keep us motivated towards our goal. We are happy that both our team members, services and location contributed in creating a wonderful memory on your last visit in Athens and we will be happy to accommodate you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Irini Antoniou
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    113
    27
    5
    3
See reviews for
26
158
34
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Osos, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

First of all, the Kolonaki area of Athens is posh and understated, and full of great restaurants, cafes, bars, bakeries, and shopping. From the Periscope Hotel, it takes minutes to walk to the beginning of one of the best hikes in town, Lycabettus/Likavittos Hill, with stunning views of the city from the Acropolis to the port of Pireas (most will take the tram up the hill, but do yourself a favor and walk). Breakfast is delicious, fresh, and creative. The rooms are spare and understated, but comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeMorningstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Duty Manager at Periscope Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments. We are happy that our hotel's location facilitated your visit in Athens. We consider breakfast to be a very important service to be offered and we are glad that you enjoyed it. Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Irini Antoniou
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Great, cool, modern, hip hotel in a perfect location. Breatkfast was delicious and the staff were so helpful. Loved this hotel located in the very cool (safe and posh) neighbourhood of Kolonaki. Restaurants, bars and all city sites easily naviagted by foot. Thumbs up.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nosda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Duty Manager at Periscope Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind comments both on Periscope Hotel as well as our team members, services and location. We are happy that your stay was an enjoyable experience and we look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit in Athens.
Kind regards,
Irini Antoniou
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel is located in the heart of Kolonaki, in close proximity of bars, restaurants and shopping, yet secluded in a smaller street giving you quiet. The rooms are modern and minimalistic. There is no parking within the hotel so you are better off walking or taking a taxi. Also, the restaurant on the ground floor named Pbox is well worth a visit and popular among the locals.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marietaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Duty Manager at Periscope Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your kind comments. It was a pleasure having you as a guest at Periscope Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Best regards,
Irini Antoniou
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We visited Periscope Hotel after having read some of the reviews in TripAdvisor. The hotel is ideally located in Kolonaki, one of the most upscaled neighborhoods of the city, with very nice bars, restaurants and shops whithin 5min. walk from the hotel. Although in the city center the street where the hotel is located s very quite and only 5-7min walk from the metro station. The rooms were not very big but were functional and clean, with fully renovated bathrooms. Staff was very polite and updated, offering different proposals for restaurants and events around town.
Breakfast includes freshly squeezed orange juice as well as all hot items (eggs, bacon etc) cooked a la carte!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JR0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Duty Manager at Periscope Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments on Periscope Hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed both our hotel services and location as well as our staff's efficiency. Our aim is to meet and even exceed our valuable guests' expectations and such encouraging words keep as motivated. We will share your comments with the rest of our team and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Irini Antoniou
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Great location right by Lycabettuss for awesome views. Easy into town and good selection of local restaraunts. Safe neighbourhood.
Fab breakfast, great service too. As the hotel wasn't full was allowed to keep my room until 4pm foc. Modern style, small and friendly with cool rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Manager at Periscope Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your kind review as well as your kind words. We are glad that you enjoyed our hospitality as well as our services and location. On behalf of our staff and myself I would like to thank you for your kind comments and it will be our pleasure to accommodate you again on your next visit in Athens.
Kind regards,
Irini Antoniou
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The hotel is located right in kolonnaky area, the best in town. The hotel is pretty but very little. Personnel is very kind and professional. Breakfast is not really abodant but overall quite good. It seems that the restaurant is quite good, but unfortunately I've never see customers there

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YesHotels, Duty Manager at Periscope Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review on Periscope Hotel. We always value our guests' opinion since we believe they are a great tool to be used towards improvement. We shall share your comments with the rest of our staff and we look forward to accommodating you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Irini Antoniou
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Kolonaki / Lykavittos
Coco-Mat Hotel Athens
Coco-Mat Hotel Athens
#15 of 335 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Kolonaki / Lykavittos
Saint George Lycabettus
Saint George Lycabettus
#59 of 335 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 1,550 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#7 of 335 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#22 of 335 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 1,711 reviews
Golden Age Hotel Athens
#39 of 335 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Periscope Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Periscope Hotel

Property: Periscope Hotel
Address: 22 Haritos str., Kolonaki, Athens 10675, Greece (Formerly Athenian Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Kolonaki / Lykavittos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Athens
#26 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#34 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Periscope Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Periscope is a minimal city hotel with an impressive urban architecture, located on a quiet street, minutes away from Kolonaki square. The hotel draws its name from its electric periscope, a fantastic way to visit Athens from a distance! In the Lounge Bar, guests can find a remote control for a periscope located on the roof of the hotel. With a 360 degree range, the periscope's views, which guests select, are shown real time on a big plasma TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Periscope Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Periscope Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing