We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Refurbishment? A must!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saint George Lycabettus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Saint George Lycabettus
Ranked #64 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Refurbishment? A must!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Although i stayed only for several hours since i was between flights, general feeling is a bit lukewarm. Excellent location right in the hip part of the city, amazing views of the city from the room, but that's about it with the positives. The room was spacious, comparing for instance to London hotel rooms, everything inside worked as expected, but it felt and seemed old. The mattress was more than pleasant, along with other amenities, but i am afraid the room was not very clean. Various areas were full of dust, something that could easily be amended by paying the minimum attention.
Moreover, sound proof is not sth the hotel rooms can brag about. I will not comment on the fact that during our stay there were being some renovations on the hotel that caused disturbance. But i will focus on the fact that if some neighbor was too loud, then you could honestly participate in the conversation without actually being in the same room.
Because, lets face it, the hotel location is simply amazing. You cannot let your guest down after you offer them such magnificent views.
Breakfast buffet was simply ok, but was a bit indifferent since breakfast was server on the top floor of the hotel and lets face it, once again, the views compensated for any mishaps in either breakfast variety or quality.
Would i recommend it? i think i would because its well situated in the city center, while being on a relatively quiet part of the city, but i think the hotel management should pay more attention on the cleaning service and some details within the rooms that easily alter the image of a hypothetically 5* hotel!

Room Tip: the rooms with an Athens view are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lycabettus, Owner at Saint George Lycabettus, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. Please allow me to address the points you highlight. We are glad to know you liked our location, view and room size. The housekeeping department has been alerted to your observations; all feedback is acted upon at the St George Lycabettus Hotel to ensure that each and every guest is offered the best hospitality. The refurbishment program is carried out in an unobtrusive manner taking our guests' requirements into consideration at all times. The buffet breakfast which features our special Greek display offers a huge range of items chosen by our Executive Chef - and the best view in the city! We do hope that you will choose us for your next visit to Athens,
Kindest regards,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    656
    342
    186
    80
See reviews for
224
764
150
419
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Tis hotel hosted our company conference very well; great food, great service and an awesome view from the balcony lounge bar! The staff is helpful; printing plane tickets or calling a taxi and those sort of things. Minibar was excellent too.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joost V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lycabettus, Owner at Saint George Lycabettus, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted to know your conference went well, and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hooe to have the pleasure of looking after you again in the near future,
Kindest regards,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khalif City
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

I request for a baby cot but they want charge me I refuse to pay because how come 5 star hotel request for payment of baby cot it should be complemantary

Second thing, some of the reciptionist dont know english and they are rude in the way they talk

Last thing is the quality of food is terrible .. one day I ordered a pizza hut because hotel food not tasty and terrible

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mohamed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lycabettus, Owner at Saint George Lycabettus, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your observations. Please allow me to address the points you highlight. We always work to accommodate our valued guests' requests, and to this end, the baby cot requested was complimetary. Our front of house team is carefully selected based on customer service skill and of course linguistic ability. The quality of the food featured on our varied menu is that of the highest standard carefully selected by our Executive Chef. We have of course passed on your comments to the Food & Beverage Department. We do hope to have the pleasure of looking after you again in the near future,
Warmest regards,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

5th floor rooms are unfortunately very noisy due to being directly underneath the 6th floor Balcony Bar - hence the poor sleep quality rating!
Other than the location of my room, the hotel is beautifully appointed, with very good quality, comfortable rooms and the staff were among the most helpful I have ever encountered!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lycabettus, Owner at Saint George Lycabettus, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your observations. We take sound proofing very seriously at the hotel and include all available steps to reduce sound transfer during each refurbishment. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the staff helpful.
We look forward to looking after you again in the near future,
Kindest regards,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como, Italy
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

I think this hotel is in the best location: far from the caothic streets but 5 minutes walking distance from Syntagma square.
Regular double rooms are small and have very basic equipments (I stayed in room 526 and the TV inside is so small that it can hardly be seen from the bed - sure I am not traveling to Athens to watch the TV but I would not expect this poor equipment in a 4 star boutique hotel).

The restaurant on the top floor is breathtaking. The view on the Acropolis and on the entire city is great. This restaurant is also dedicated to the morning breakfast; the view and the food (delicious) can make you forget the poorness of the room.

At the end of the day this is decent hotel but still I find it too expensive for the average room they offer. In addition there is no internet connection in the rooms unless you pay an extra fee for it (5 euro/day).

The view and the position are not enough to justify the rates.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Elena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lycabettus, Owner at Saint George Lycabettus, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your observations. We are pleased to hear that you liked our location and our view. The rooms and suites at the St George Lycabettus Hotel are checked continuously for hygiene and maintenance. The room sizes vary in the hotel, and are listed on our website. We have noted your observation with regard to the television, and this has been actioned by our technical team. We offer free wifi in the public areas of the hotel, and our in-room charge has been reduced by 75% to 5 euros per day which offers our valued guests greater value and convenience. We do hope you will choose to stay with us in the future,
Kindest regards,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Its not "THE" hotel but it does the job for making you comfortable, and cozy.
The rooms are designed this way that the customer will enjoy the recidence.
The cleaning in the lobby is good, but in the rooms not so good as i thought in the first place.
The food is normal.
INFO: We stayed for 3 days on February 2009.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lycabettus, Owner at Saint George Lycabettus, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your observations on trip advisor. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Please allow me to address the points you highlight. The hotel is continuously checked for hygiene and maintenance, which is of paramount importance to my team. Your comments have been actioned by our highly trained housekeeping department.
We always work towards providing a quality hospitality product, and meeting the demands of each valued guest. We hope to have the pleasure of looking after you again in the near future, Warmest regards,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

This hotel markets itself as a luxury hotel, and it is located in a posh neighbourhood. But the standard of the room is more like an Ibis than a luxury hotel. There was a stale smell in the room (fortunately there is a balcony, so I was able to air out thoroughly); the TV did not even have CNN or BBC World service; the internet worked OK but was not free except in the lobby and on the 2nd floor (heaven knows why); the carpet was dirty; the electric kettle in the room leaked; the gym was very basic, with one leg press, one exercise bike and one running machine. The bar on the 6th floor, while it had great views of the city, was incredibly overpriced--9 Euro for a watery Greek beer!!! On the plus side, the staff was friendly and helpful, but this was not enough to make up for the many deficiencies of this place. I was here on business, but I would not dream of spending my own money at this hotel.

Room Tip: I guess a room on the 2nd floor would be best, since internet is free there. But really, I would rat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lycabettus, Owner at Saint George Lycabettus, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your observations. Please allow me to address the points you highlight. The hotel meets the Greek Tourist Board criteria for its class, and is constantly checked for hygiene and maintenance to provide a quality hospitality product. The rooms are aired and cleaned to a high standard to ensure a comfortable stay. The televisions provide selected cable channels, and we are always happy to assist with requests during your stay. Internet is free in all public areas, and there is a nominal charge for in-room service. Thank you for highlighting the kettle leak - it has been addressed by our experienced team. The gym studio features equipment to match the demand in the hotel, aiming to provide a high standard at all times. We are glad you enjoyed the view from the bar, and found our staff helpful. The pricing strategy in the hotel aims to provide value for money and satisfaction. The Greek products we serve are carefully selected to provide a high standard and a true taste of Greece.
We hope this assures you of our commitment to all our valued guests,
Warm regards,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,802 reviews
Divani Caravel Hotel
#48 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royal Olympic Hotel
#58 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,865 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#6 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint George Lycabettus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint George Lycabettus

Property: Saint George Lycabettus
Address: 2 Kleomenous, Athens 106 75, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Kolonaki / Lykavittos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Athens
#39 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#41 Family Hotel in Athens
#61 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Saint George Lycabettus 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Saint George Lycabettus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint George Lycabettus Hotel Athens
Saint George Lycabettus Athens
Hotel Saint George Lycabettus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing