We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice come back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Saint George Lycabettus
Ranked #65 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We arranged with my friend a romantic visit to Saint George and Athens and I was surprised from the last reviews. Despite the fact that the hotel is aging I find this hotel still a unique experience in Athens. Is a classic beauty and the Acropolis view is lovely. The rates and the service was also enough satisfing to my needs. A next visit during Summer on our way to the island is a must.

Room Tip: Rooms with Acropolis view are lovely
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akulina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lycabettus, Owner at Saint George Lycabettus, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Guest Akulina Z,
Thank you for your most appreciated feedback on trip advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having the pleasure of looking after you again in the summer.
Kindest regards,
The management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,102)
There are newer reviews for Saint George Lycabettus
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,303 - 1,309 of 2,103 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

Highly over rated, this hotel needs updating. We were grateful we only had to spend one night here before beginning our tour. There has to be better alternatives. The one saving grace was the view of the Parthenon from the hotel's restaurant on the top floor.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimSTL1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lycabettus, Owner at Saint George Lycabettus, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Guest JimSTL1021,
Thank you for taking the time to post your observations; we are glad you enjoyed our breathtaking view. Please let me assure you that at the St George Lycabettus Hotel, our valued guests come first. The hotel employs a continuous, and unobtrusive refurbishment program to ensure that each and every guest has a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Our highly trained team is continually assessed to make sure our guests feel welcome and well looked after.
Kind regards,
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

The hotel is undergoing refurbishment, but the management team have taken no action to minimise disturbance for guests. Fittings inside the room have started chipping away, but this may be why a number of areas are being redone. Service lacked basic manners and we even heard a couple of the staff exchanging swear words outside at the hotel entrance. Last, breakfast was incredibly poor for a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dimitrios F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lycabettus, Owner at Saint George Lycabettus, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Guest Dimitrios F,
Thank you for posting your comments. All feedback is of great importance to my team and me. Please allow me to assure you that every step of our refurbishment program is taken after due care for our valued guests. The maintenance and of course cleanliness of the hotel is of paramount importance, and is continuously assessed. Our well trained staff are always only too delighted to be at your service. Our breakfast buffet features Greek produce plus, continental breads and pastries as well as American breakfast items - each has been specially selected- and the fabulous view of the city in included. It is very important to us that every valued guest feels well provided for.
Kind regards,
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Given to me by present by a friend we stayed for 3 nights there.if i was choosing i will taking a sirious thought to go there. YOU have the best view in athens you are 5 minutes walk from kolonaki squere where you find anything you want but at the same time away from the fussy streets of athens its like you are staying in a nice neibourhood. BUT un exceptable breakfast really seems you buy them from macdonalds take care more attetion to your glasses from how many people passed and nobody saw the broken glass!! Ghange the cakes quickly try something greek and homemade! Ghange the bathrooms and pay more attetion when you clean them! No isolation at all you hear everything from next door no privacy. Old aircontion machines, small tvs no option of channels only 9?change the remote control they seem so cheap. AGAIN you have the best view an ecxellent smiling stuff! but the hotel its not supporting that! I know its crisis and nobody make investements but god sake you are a 5 STAR hotel act like one!!! Be carefull dont touch the mini bar you will not like the suprise!36 euros for two normal small water two small sodas and one small coke?

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dimitris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lycabettus, Owner at Saint George Lycabettus, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you for your detailed post; it is of such importance to us to receive feedback from our valued guests. We are delighted to hear that you liked our fantastic location, and wonderful view. Please let me assure you that the breakfast items are selected because they are produced in Greece. We are very proud of our heritage in this historic city. Our staff are always pleased to serve you, and breakages are dealt with under strict controls to avoid injury. The hotel is continuously checked for hygiene and maintenance - we always wish to provide a quality service. The pricing strategy at the hotel is carefully designed to provide value for money and a wide range of services to suit many budgets. We hope this assures you of our commitment to each and every valued guest,
Kind regards,
The management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

The other reviews, which we should have read first are accurate. The room seemed clean but the room was very aged, even rusty weights on the bathroom floor. Restaurant had a beautiful view, nice server, but did not understand how my friend was gluten free, they confirmed the dishes ordered was just that, but she had a reaction... One shared dinner and two drinks was $93 euros.
There was to be a protest in Athens and the protestors were protesting against Americans and near this hotel, hotel knew we were Americans and never advised us or were concerned about our security. Other friends had advised us of what was going to happen and we left the hotel early. $25euros for overnight parking, just to keep the bill rising.

Room Tip: We had room 301. Seemed we had one of the few rooms with opening doors and small balcony, other room...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMF521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lycabettus, Owner at Saint George Lycabettus, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Guest JMF521,
Thank you for posting your observations on trip advisor. Please may I address your comments. The St George Lycabettus hotel is a family owned and run concern, and we take all feedback very seriously. We are glad you found the cleanliness of your room satisfactory, and that you enjoyed our wonderful view. The rooms and suites are all checked for high standards of hygiene and maintenance regularly, an we employ a continuous refurbishment scheme which unobtrusively targets all areas of the hotel as required. The Food and Beverage department is made up of experienced professionals who are adept at assisting with any dietary requirements our valued guests may request. Thank you for bringing your observations to my attention; it is of paramount importance that we provide each and every guest with a relaxing and enjoyable stay.
Please allow me to assure you that peaceful protest in Athens does indeed take place, and may pass the American Embassy en route for the city centre. This in no way threatens the safety of our valued guests, and is not targeted towards the American travellers we welcome so happily to our city. In the unlikely case of security issues ( our location is one of the safest in the city) our staff are thoroughly trained in employing each and every procedure to ensure the comfort and safety of our valued guests.
We offer underground valet parking at the hotel; this is a huge benefit as parking is at a premium in the city centre. Our tarrif is updated to remain in line with pricing in the city.
All of our rooms and suites have air-conditioning and heating - the room tarrif is based on extra provision of a balcony, room size and view type. The range of rooms we offer is competitively priced to provide for a number of budgets.
We hope this response assures you of our commitment to our guests,
Kindest regards,
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Just back from a vacation/business trip in Athens where I stayed here.

The Welcome
My wife and I arrived off the red eye flight at 4:30am and we were greeted by the night staff who were appreciative of our situation. They checked us in and corrected some of our booking details without question. the whole process took around 10min and we were in our room preparing to catch a few hours sleep.

The Room
We were in a Panoramic Double. The view was indeed Panoramic with clear views across the city. the Parthenon and the Temple of Zeus as well as the original Olympic stadium.

Location
The hotel is perched near the top of the hill with St Georges Church looking down from the top. literally 2 minutes walking distance down hill takes you to the nearest street cafe. The area is extremely safe and everyone is very friendly. Athens has great night life and we found a 5min walk from the hotel there was a pedestrian street packed with coffee houses and great crepes. our favourite location of an evening became the Sweet Inn which is open 24 hours a day and very reasonably priced.
All the major attractions of Athens are easily within 30min walking distance including the Agora ancient market place ruins at the foot of the Parthenon and the Acropolis Museum.

Recommendations
Have dinner in the Sky Restaurant in the hotel. it is on the 6th floor and has fantastic views across the city at night. the food is very nicely prepared and if you get a window table i'm sure it is a very romantic experience. We are only able to rate this as Very Good as we were unable to have a window table and when we requested to be reseated the staff were unable to oblige. This did not effect our overall stay but did leave us wanting a little more.

If you are reading this then you are likely planning a trip to Athens in the near future. I wish you the best of luck and a very entertaining trip.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lycabettus, Owner at Saint George Lycabettus, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Guest Iain C,
Thank you for your kind review. We ares slighted that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to look after you, and we hope to see you again in the future.
Kindest regards,
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The view from the roof of this hotel is absolutely amazing, and our hotel room was quite nice. That said, this hotel tries extremely hard to be high-end, and it just doesn't quite get there. The elevators are lined with black plastic and have these cheesy lights embedded - it reminds you of a disco. Location is very good - Kolonaki is a fun, hip area with fun restaurants and bars, and we were able to walk everywhere. Staff is nice, but not over-the-top nice as you might expect from a hotel that is this expensive. Walls are VERY thin. More like a three-star hotel with five-star prices.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJones202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lycabettus, Owner at Saint George Lycabettus, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear Guest KJones,
Thank you for posting your observations on trip advisor. We hope you enjoyed a wonderful honeymoon in Greece. My team and I are glad to hear you were impressed by our view and our exclusive location. Please allow me to address the other points you highlight. The St George Lycabettus hotel is a family owned and run establishment which takes a great pride in putting the guest first. We are always pleased to receive feedback to assist us in providing the best hospitality product. The decor in the lifts has been specifically chosen for its design, durability and above all safety of our valued guests. My team is made up of highly trained professionals, who are only too pleased to make each and every stay as enjoyable and relaxing as possible. Thank you for noting the sound-proofing issue; this is of primary importance, and is a feature of our continuous refurbishment program which ensures the comfort of all our guests.
Warmest regards,
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Hilton Athens
#17 of 282 in Athens
3,700 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Divani Palace Acropolis
Divani Palace Acropolis
#67 of 282 in Athens
1,617 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Divani Caravel Hotel
#54 of 282 in Athens
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint George Lycabettus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint George Lycabettus

Address: 2 Kleomenous, Athens 106 75, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Kolonaki / Lykavittos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Athens
#36 Family Hotel in Athens
#42 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#52 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $104 - $474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Saint George Lycabettus 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saint George Lycabettus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint George Lycabettus Hotel Athens
Saint George Lycabettus Athens
Hotel Saint George Lycabettus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing