We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Saint George Lycabettus
Ranked #66 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Big hassle checking in. Paid ahead for premium room with a view, and they tried to stick us in a standard. After lots of discussion and only because I had a printed receipt with a description of the room did we get somewhat satisfied with a view, but certainly not the premium room described. Too much work to transfer for the second night so we just stuck it out but the whole experience left a bak impression. This is an average hotel and not worth paying any premium price

Room Tip: Get a view room, but make sure you bring a receipt if you pre pay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwr66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lycabettus, Owner at Saint George Lycabettus, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear dwr66 Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your observations on trip advisor. Feedback from our valued guests is always important to my team and me. The St George Lycabettus Hotel, a family run establishment for three generations, prides itself on providing a high standard of service in each and every department from guest room reservation to check out. We are delighted to take thousands of bookings each month without a hitch. My team and I always take prompt action to meet the requirements of our guests, and this occasion is no exception. In addition to this response, I have sent a personal letter which I hope you will feel deals with your concerns directly and with the privacy and respect each of our valued guests deserve.
Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    658
    344
    187
    82
See reviews for
230
770
151
423
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Good location- can walk to kolonaki square. Rooms were extremely dated and old looking. Prices reflect a modern hotel and this is not the case. Service wasnt great and prices on rooftop cafe were extremely over priced and not great quality.
Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Croskell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lycabettus, Owner at Saint George Lycabettus, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear User Croskell,
Thank you for posting your observations on Trip Advisor; it is always useful to my team and me to receive feedback from our valued guests. Please allow me to respond to your observations. The hotel is a family run business, and we have always prided ourselves our high quality product and friendly, approachable atmosphere. The housekeeping and maintenance departments are on call to underpin these standards, and of course refurbishment projects are introduced in an unobtrusive schedule to assure our guests of our commitment. The refurbishment program is always engineered in such a way that bedrooms are redesigned in carefully planned stages as we never wish to disrupt a peaceful stay.
The pricing strategy in the hotel restaurants is in line with the high quality produce the chef uses freshly sourced in Greece. It is of paramount importance that our guests feel that we have provided a value for money product; to this end, our menus have a wide price range to suit every taste and budget. This is also the case in our room rates which offer a range of prices from the Presidential Suite to the Interior added value rooms.
My team and I would be delighted to accommodate you on one of our early phase refurbished rooms upon your next visit to assure you that at the St George Lycabettus Hotel the guest always comes first.
Kindest regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in July. W have stayed in many a 5 star hotels before, unfortunately this does not compare. The rooms appear old, and there is no free wifi in the room. The cleaning can be better and one of the days our towels were not replaced and we had to request it from reception.

Breakfast was very good and the views of the acropolis was spectacular from the breakfast venue.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ckvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lycabettus, Owner at Saint George Lycabettus, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Ckvy,
Thank you for your observations on Trip Advisor; we are always keen to receive feedback from our valued guests. The rooms at the hotel are constantly checked by our Housekeeping and Maintenance Departments, to ensure that every standard is met. Our "Green" Management program allows guests to choose to use linen & or towels for longer - I have alerted Housekeeping to the fact that you had to request new towels by telephone - I apologise for the misunderstanding.
The hotel has free WiFi in all the public areas to give our guests value for money and up to date services. The charges are for high speed Internet packages which represent a large financial outlay for this family owned business, and are in line with similar hotels in Europe.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the view at breakfast, and hope that this response assures you of our dedication to our valued guests having a restful and enjoyable stay with us, Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed here for two nights after a wonderful Windstar cruise from Istanbul. Our room had an outstanding view of the Acropolis and a small balcony. I was pleasantly surprised by our room. It was lovely and much nicer than I had expected. The breakfasts were good, and our dinner at their rooftop restaurant was delicious. Some members of the staff were very welcoming and helpful, while others were not. In the end, though, all our needs were met. You learn to know who to ask for help. The hotel is in a lovely, safe area, an easy walk to nice little restaurants and shops. It is also an easy walk of about a half hour to the Acropolis Museum and the Acropolis. You may want to take a taxi back up the hill, though!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dpierce5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

If you are looking for staying at a family hotel in a green area in Athens, you cant get it wrong here ! Be aware that the hotel is situated on a hill (lots of trees and shade for the hot summer months in Athens) so better have your walking shoes ready! Our city facing room was very comfortable and you have to have dinner at the top restaurant.The view from overe there is awesome, the bill was pretty high but totally worth it !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Best view in Athens on the highest hill in the city! Considered a "5-star" boutique hotel 15 minutes from the downtown core of this ancient metropolis. Pricey but comfortable and very chic, with a fabulous restaurant with a view of Athens.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony so you can have a private view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aldythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lycabettus, Owner at Saint George Lycabettus, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Aldythe,
My team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We look forward to looking after you again in the future.
Warmest regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Nice hotel not far from Athens major shopping and restaurant district. The climb to the hotel (by foot) is a bit steep but well worth it when you get there (take taxi when coming back from shopping).

The dinner at their rooftop restaurant will be the highlight of your stay, just picture yourself having dinner right next to the Acropolis with an undiminished view of the Athenian skyline.

The Maitre de (an Australian gentleman) was professional, polite, helpful and courteous.

Our sleeping room at first seemed a little small but after comparing other hotels in Europe it was a normal size standard room, if you stay in this hotel ask for a room with an Acropolis view (much nicer).

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank jim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lycabettus, Owner at Saint George Lycabettus, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Jim s,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the hotel. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your visit. I am sure the Maitre will appreciate your positive feedback.
We hope you will choose to stay with us again when you are next in Athens,
Kind regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,850 reviews
Divani Caravel Hotel
#49 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Royal Olympic Hotel
#61 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#7 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint George Lycabettus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint George Lycabettus

Property: Saint George Lycabettus
Address: 2 Kleomenous, Athens 106 75, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Kolonaki / Lykavittos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Athens
#40 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#41 Family Hotel in Athens
#61 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Saint George Lycabettus 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saint George Lycabettus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint George Lycabettus Hotel Athens
Saint George Lycabettus Athens
Hotel Saint George Lycabettus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing