We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tourist hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Saint George Lycabettus
Ranked #68 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
418 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Great tourist hotel”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This hotel is located in a mainly residential, hillside neighborhood, but affords stunning views of the city and, especially, The Acropolis (from a distance). Their breakfast fare is close to luxurious, and the dining site allows that great view of the city. Their restaurant is quite pricey, but there are a variety of inexpensive places nearby that cater to folks from the neighborhood and are great for people watching. One of Athens' high fashion shopping areas is within four blocks.

Room Tip: Request rooms on the city view side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PCmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    707
    371
    201
    88
See reviews for
254
829
163
451
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essen, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I was very much llooking forward to staying at this hotel as had read lots of reviews on here and other places. I will not be back purely for two reasons - the sound proofing of the rooms is the worst I have ever experienced and the breakfast, allbeit with stunning views, was varied but of a very poor quality - like low end supermarket quality. I had to change rooms the 2nd nite and then after 2 hours went back to my original room as the noise in the 2nd room was not better than the 1st - all this between 11pm and 2pm - great on a business trip when sleep is important.
Service from what I wished to experieince seemed to be ok.

Room Tip: Dont let them put you in the ground floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank steveprimrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I recently stayed at the St George Lycabettus for a 5 day conference. The view is, undeniably, incredible and the hotel is situated in a quiet, safe area of the city with excellent access to the centre of Athens (if you don't mind huffing and puffing your way back up a reasonably steep hill!). However, I can't help but feel the hotel was very, very overpriced. At 175 euros per night, I'd expect exceptional facilities. What I instead found was something that I suspect would be found in an average hotel in the UK. The hairdryer is beyond useless and the room didn't even provide a box of tissues. The TV service is limited, and the internet prices were extortionate at 18 euros for 24 hours access. In a hotel of this calibre, I'd expect the internet to be free. The hotel restaurant has an amazing view of the Acropolis and across Athens, out to the ocean. You'll be glad of the view though, as it is decorated as a disco ball, with mirrored tiles everywhere. The food and drink, too, were very overpriced with 9 euros for a small glass of wine, and a shocking 6 euros for a bottle of water. Prices for dinner started at 20 euros for spaghetti with a tomato sauce. The breakfast, although included in the price, was quite limited and had some odd choices, such as cocktail sausages for the cooked option and a selection of chocolate cakes. Weirdly, the room service breakfast seemed to have far better choices, with options such as pancakes not available from the buffet. The staff in the breakfast room were slow to offer tea & coffee, with several mornings passing where I just had juice without any offer of a hot drink.

I can't fault the service in the hotel itself. The staff were friendly and helpful, and simply couldn't do enough for you. I suspect it is the service that has earned this hotel their 5 star rating. They truly were excellent, and made my stay very comfortable and enjoyable.

In short, if you have money to burn and don't mind some dodgy decor, the St George Lycabettus is a great hotel, with excellent location and a truly stunning vista. Personally, I'll be spending less on the hotel and more on luxuries in future.

Room Tip: Definitely request a room on the right side of the hotel with a view into the city. This will afford...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This hotel has five stars and is quite expensive to stay there for the night, so my wife and I expected a place that could boast these items. However, the only thing that we found nice about the hotel was the view. It has a very impressive view of the city, Acropolis, and Lycabettus. Everything else about the hotel was not worth the money. 1) The air conditioning was not functioning in the entire hotel. When we asked about it we were provided a small table top fan, and told that the air conditioning would not return for another week. You would think that a 5 star hotel would have the ability to maintenance their air conditioning units. 2) The room decor was very old and musty smelling. 3) The bed was extremely uncomfortable and had very useless pillows. 4) The room furniture was starting to turn brown from use and age.

We thought that this was going to be the standard for Greece, but after staying in 5 different hotels during the course of our stay we realized that Saint George Lycabettus was just a bad hotel, especially for the price paid per night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Calem H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Having organized a couple of meetings at the ST George Lycabettus Hotel, I can now say that the hotel meets all the expectations no matter whether you travel for leisure or for business. Comfortable rooms full of light, spacious and clean. Additionally, the staff is very polite and always willing to provide the top of services in order to fulfill even the most demanding clientelle. It is located in the centre of Athens very close to Syntagma square and the metro station. The only suggestion I would make is that it looks a bit old-tired and needs a renovation in order to revive the glory of its older days.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George19802013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This hotel was suggested to me by colleaques involved with turist business. For one night stay is perfect. The rooms are clean and most of them have a great view to the city and acropolis.
Unfortunately I did not have such a room but I had breakfast on the sixth floor with such a nice view. The hotel has its own design concept and to me looked a little bit dark. The staff was very helpfull also. The position of the hotel is high on the hill but with a taxi (costs only 3.5) you can go to the center of Athens for all your business.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view are value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akulina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

It used to be a great Athens hotel for business or pleasure stays, in one of the most privileged locations in Athens. The location is, of course, there, but the hotel itself is pretty tired and in need of urgent and drastic renovation. If you do get a good rate, though, it's still worth experiencing sleeping and waking up to the most breath-taking view of the whole of the city of Athens, with the Acropolis in centre stage. Frame Bar, especially in the summer, is also a nice place to enjoy nice cocktails and lounge music in a central yet green and cool location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeLeGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Hilton Athens
#20 of 326 in Athens
3,625 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Divani Palace Acropolis
Divani Palace Acropolis
#67 of 326 in Athens
1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Divani Caravel Hotel
#58 of 326 in Athens
1,310 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Royal Olympic Hotel
#61 of 326 in Athens
3,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint George Lycabettus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint George Lycabettus

Property: Saint George Lycabettus
Address: 2 Kleomenous, Athens 106 75, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Kolonaki / Lykavittos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Athens
#41 Family Hotel in Athens
#43 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#61 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Saint George Lycabettus 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Bookgreece.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saint George Lycabettus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint George Lycabettus Hotel Athens
Saint George Lycabettus Athens
Hotel Saint George Lycabettus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing