We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our room was not 5 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Saint George Lycabettus
Ranked #65 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Our room was not 5 stars”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Saint George Lycabettus. We booked thru a Hotwire.com so we didn't pay the usual price, which is good since our room (on the ground floor) was the smallest room I've probably ever stayed in. We had to push a night table half under the bed to open the door to the closet space. Because we didn't book thru the hotel we didn't get a buffet breakfast. Also the bed was way to firm for me.
We did go up to the pool area to see the city view and that is fabulous from this hotel, so if you pay for the room with a view you will probably be happier than we were.
We walked down the hill to see the sites, which wasn't too far (about 15 min.) but took a taxi back ....way to steep uphill for us.

Room Tip: Pay the extra $ if you want a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lycabettus, Owner at Saint George Lycabettus, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
We would like to thank you for your review as your comments are highly appreciated and noted according to our policy to accept all details in our continuous efforts to increase the quality of our services to the maximum.
We are offering on our Web Site much more affordable rates for all types of rooms. Also there are packages including the American Buffet Breakfast for a very low supplement. The line of our rooms is capable of fitting all guests’ desire. Our Frond Desk department is happy to serve all requests.
Our restaurant “La Suite Lounge” and our Swimming Pool/ Pool bar in Summer time offer magnificent views to Athens and Acropolis. The hotel is located in one of the trendiest and elegant districts in Athens being able to offer the best views in Athens just in walking distance from the centre of Athens.
We would be happy to welcome you once more to our hotel and accommodate you according to your requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    668
    349
    190
    83
See reviews for
233
785
153
433
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My girlfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay at the St George Lycabettus in the uber trendy Kolonaki area however I am questioning if I received a totally 5 star experience (however in retrospect I didn't pay 5* prices!).

You must pay the extra for a city view as there is something quite magical about having a coffee on your own private balcony whilst gazing at the Acropolis, if you had an interior view overlooking a courtyard you would feel disappointed. The bedrooms were lovely with incredibly comfy beds and effective air conditioning. The bathroom was spacious with a funky multi nozzle shower and even came with a rather bizarre pair of dumbells under the sink. The staff were also incredibly helpful and were more than happy to store our baggage until our evening flight.

A couple of small negatives to point out though. The WiFi was only available in the Sky Bar and the rooms were only serviced by an expensive ASDL line. Breakfast was also offered at an exorbidant 30 euros per person! Also if you are not happy with climbing up hills you'll not be best pleased if wallking back from the monuments in the city.

Room Tip: Get a city view and a room away from the lifts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank feldy1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lycabettus, Owner at Saint George Lycabettus, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We would like to thank you for your nice comments.
Our all day bar restaurant “La Suite Lounge” offers magnificent views to Athens and Acropolis at Breakfast time as well as the trendiest tastes for lunch and dinner.
Our staff and the management of the hotel are offering our guests the best possible service and standards ensuring a memorable stay.
We will be glad to welcome once more and provide you with more memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peaks Island, Maine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights...had a very pleasant room with plenty of space and a great balcony looking out to the Acropolis. We could see it as the sun rose in the morning and through the day until sunset. There were plenty of restaurants nearby, but it felt like a residential neighborhood. Nice small rooftop pool and bar. Good location and price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view of the Acropolis
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lycabettus, Owner at Saint George Lycabettus, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We would like to thank you for your nice comments.
Our staff and the management of the hotel are offering our guests the best possible service and standards ensuring a memorable stay.
We will be glad to welcome once more and provide you with more memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monemvasia, Greece
Level Contributor
144 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed for only one night in October. It was our second stay at the hotel, and we were treated very well indeed. The staff remembered us and were very helpful and courteous. Our room was spacious, with a balcony and fine view of the Acropolis and Central Athens (this must be requested). The location in Kolonaki, on Lycabettus Hill, means that the noise levels are lower than elsewhere in the centre, and still one has convenient access to the metro (Evangelismos station is only a short walk down the hill), excellent restaurants and shops, and peaceful parks. Just a short trip uphill and you have the top of the Hill, with its spectacular panormaic views of the city and the chapel to St. George.

The hotel has a very fine restaurant at the 6th floor, which has excellent food and service (the breakfast is extra, but worth it if you like more than a muffin in the morning). There is a swimming pool too, and I understand an attached spa, but we didn't take advantage of it this time (next time!). Another advantage is parking, for those guests who are driving themselves. The fee was reasonable, and the staff allowed us to keep the car in the lot after check-out while we ran some errands. All in all a very nice experience! Recommended!

Room Tip: If you don't mind spending a few extra euros, ask for a room with a balcony. This will ensure a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lycabettus, Owner at Saint George Lycabettus, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
We would like to thank you for your nice comments.
Our staff and the management of the hotel are offering our guests the best possible service and standards ensuring a memorable stay.
We will be glad to welcome once more and provide you with more memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The hotel is not as spacious as the pics portray, nor as grand. However, it's well maintained and the staff are quite courteous and welcoming. The complementary breakfast quite vast and sumptuous. But, the internet connection is quite pathetic. Even one of their paid connections can only get you up to DSL speeds.
Some of the rooms (balconies) have an excellent view of the Acropolis. It looks splendid at nights, all lit up!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prassanth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lycabettus, Owner at Saint George Lycabettus, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
We would like to thank you for your nice comments.
Our staff and the management of the hotel are offering our guests the best possible service and standards ensuring a memorable stay.
We will be glad to welcome once more and provide you with more memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

My husband were booked in to st George lycabettus for 6 nights. The first night we were put into a room with furnishings fit for the tip! The room had a dreadful smell and all in all this was certainly NOT a 5 star hotel by any means. We had to upgrade to a suite which had been refurbished but still not wonderful. I would not recommend this hotel. Great view but that's all!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lycabettus, Owner at Saint George Lycabettus, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
We would like to thank you for your review. Your comments are highly appreciated and taken into deep consideration in our continuous efforts to increase the quality of our services.
The hotel offers a wide range of room types and décor in order to satisfy each guest’s desire. Our Front Desk department is happy to serve all requests.
Apart from the great views from inside the rooms the hotel offers 5* quality service in all its departments including the “Sensia Spa” a modern and elegant spa with for free use a Gym and Hamam and the gourmet restaurant “Le Grand Balcon” on the 6th floor which boasts award winning French Greek fusion cuisine.
We aim to provide all our guests with the best of service , quality and value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed here overnight on our return from Santorini.
It's a nice hotel, but a good 4 star not 5. It was little things, no tissues, loo roll on stupid hanging beads so it kept swinging away from you, glass bathroom door I didn't like. Wifi was free in the lobby but I couldn't access it, in your room you had to pay 6 euros an hour, we found free wifi everywhere in Santorini.
What scores for this hotel is the amazing view from the 6th floor restaurant, we had breakfast outside on the balcony overlooking the whole of Athens and straight across from the Acropolis which was pretty special.
Dinner on the balcony would have been amazing but it's quite a small restaurant and we checked in at 8.30 and I think there were 3 events going on so I did feel there was no place for us to go. We ended up eating at a small street cafe which had amazing greek food.
The american buffet breakfast was very good, lots of choice and good quality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uk-Traveller300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lycabettus, Owner at Saint George Lycabettus, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our hotel.
The hotel is located in one of the trendiest and elegant districts of Athens, just walking distance from the city center and boasts spectacular views of Athens and the Acropolis.
Our award winning restaurant “Le Grand Balcon” on the 6th floor also offers magnificent views of the city of Athens from breakfast time as well as throughout the day for light lunch and gourmet dining.
All our staff and the management of the hotel is dedicated to offer our guests the best possible service and standards ensuring a memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,908 reviews
Divani Caravel Hotel
#48 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Royal Olympic Hotel
#59 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#11 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint George Lycabettus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint George Lycabettus

Property: Saint George Lycabettus
Address: 2 Kleomenous, Athens 106 75, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Kolonaki / Lykavittos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Athens
#40 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#41 Family Hotel in Athens
#61 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Saint George Lycabettus 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Saint George Lycabettus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint George Lycabettus Hotel Athens
Saint George Lycabettus Athens
Hotel Saint George Lycabettus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing