We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip-off prices for Wifi and drinks”
Review of Hilton Athens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Athens
Ranked #20 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rip-off prices for Wifi and drinks”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

I stayed two nights in the Athens Hilton on a business trip. I got a very interesting corporate rate. From the outside the hotel looks old, but inside it's another story. The room on the 8th floor was excellent. Very comfortable bed, good soundproofing, separate bath and douche cabin, iron and ironing board and last but not least a balcony with view of the Acropolis in the distance. The real let down was the fact that there was no free Wifi in the room. I was supposed to pay 20 EUR a day which I did not do out of principle. As a consequence I missed some important messages. Even in the lobby Internet was not free. You only had free wifi in the bars and restaurants where a beer costs 10 EUR! This really spoiled the experience for me. Hilton apparently does not understand that online presence and enjoying a drink without feeling ripped off is part of the experience. A real shame. Next time I will be in Athens I will look for another hotel. And Bart, don't tell me you will take this into consideration, just do it.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank WvG_KM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable review.

Your comments about our internet service and drinks charges have been noted and discussed with my team. We are truly sorry for the way you feel.

We hope to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,750
    1,164
    381
    138
    75
See reviews for
603
1,197
210
1,014
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (656)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Hilton does keep up with it basic high level standard . Its location is good enough although somewhat off town centre . It offers more of a business conference than an all round atmosphere . I would certainly consider coming back to this hotel if not the right-in-town-centre Hotel Grande Bretagne .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Benito K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Athens.

Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and we are delighted to learn that you enjoyed all the facilities and services rendered as well as appreciated the hotel's convenient location.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not distant future.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Ideal location for business travellers but the staff seem to be allergic to smiling or generally making any effort to make you feel welcome. Extremely expensive, and no real value for money in terms of service. Nice rooms, great baths.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Madame,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and share with us your experience in our property.

All the points you raise, about our staff' s attitude and the service provided, will be discussed with the respective department heads and rest assured that necessary actions will be taken.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back and prove that we can serve you better.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

The building is very good and spacious as was our room. The bathroom had a walk-in shower as well as a bath tub. That is where the good news ends. The staff were distant and on leaving we were not asked if we enjoyed our stay. I can only think that is because so many people reply in negative terms.

We stayed for a week and during that time we had to ring down to ask for additional pillows, toilet paper and soap. also there were no cups for cleaning teeth. Every evening my wife had to clean the bath before using it. On one day when we had to leave early we decided to make some coffee only to find that there were only two very small containers of milk. As my wife likes milky coffee this was not possible. Very mean. As we arrived at 2.30 am we decided to have breakfast in the hotel a few hours later. We were given a discounted price of euros 20 each but were too tired to try an alternative. The buffet was large with a very good variety but exactly at 10.30 the food was removed despite several people not being finished. The price was excessive and on subsequent mornings we found plenty alternatives at a fraction of the price.

The location is quite good and not too far from a metro station but we later saw plenty of good hotels much closer to the centre.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ater42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.

It was with concern to read that you were not quite satisfied with your stay here, in particular with the quality of services offered. Your valuable comments have been taken into consideration and reviewed with my team. Please rest assured that immediate corrective actions will be taken where this is needed.

Hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back and prove that we can serve you better.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
218 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Every time we escape for a short break in Athens either if my husband travels alone for bussiness or with me or with friends for a nice short break we always choose Hilton! Modern and minimal, lovely cleaned and bright rooms, great service, spacious hotel , lovely ambiance in breakfast area and a beautiful walk to kolonaki at this time of season! And not to forget the awarded and awsome restaurant in it, the world famous & known Miloi ! A Must for those who havent dine yet!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kikola12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Madame,

Many thanks for posting your comments.

It is with pleasure to read your valuable and positive review, which has been shared with my team and has been appreciated.

Look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Athens in the near future. Thank you for your loyalty to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We travelled to Athens in October 2012. We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. The hotel is modern, rooms are decent sized, service is great. Their rooftopn bar is again smashing with a fabulous view of the Acropolis. The hotel is about 20 mins away from Plaka and the city centre. Its easy to get taxis near the hotel and the metro is walking distance. The only flipside i found was there was no wifi. For a hilton property to have no wifi in the rooms ws a bit of a disappointment. Apart from this everything else is really nice and worth the money!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nivriti15985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you very much for being our guest and for reviewing the Hilton Athens on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is important to us.

With pleasure we read that you enjoyed your stay and were satisfied with the majority of services rendered. In reference to the in-room wifi service, this is provided at a cost, however it is offered complimentary in all the restaurants and bars of the hotel.

Look forward to welcoming you back and extend once again the warm hospitality that our guests have come to expect from us over the years.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asini, Greece
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

amazing outside pool, good one inside too for the winter, well equipped gym and restaurants for all the occasions. the galaxy bar on the rooftop gives out great cocktails and the rooms are all you were expecting for from a luxurious hotel. best position in town near metro. dont order from the hotel room service doesnt worth it.better go dine in one of the three restaurants.

Room Tip: the executive room is all you need from space view and an extra bath tab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dimitris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to post your feedback.

With pleasure we read your positive evaluation about the comfort of your room, the gym/pool facilities, all services provided. Your kind input has been shared with my team and has been truly appreciated.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
2,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Electra Metropolis Athens
#11 of 325 in Athens
307 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#10 of 325 in Athens
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Athens

Property: Hilton Athens
Address: 46 Vassilissis Sofias Avenue, Athens 115 28, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Athens
#16 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#18 Family Hotel in Athens
#18 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#25 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Athens is not just a hotel. It’s a legacy in Athens. Consider the fact that a whole area is named after the Hilton and you’ll start to understand the immense name this hotel has had the past 48 years. Socialités, fashionistas, local and international celebrities, you see them here!An architectural marvel, the Hilton Athens has been fully renovated in 2003 to be able to cope with the next episode in its ever interesting life. The hotel boasts 506 spacious rooms and some of the best city views available. You can almost touch the Acropolis! Art is abundant and local artists are used throughout the hotel. Hilton Athens has the largest outdoor pool in the city center and features four restaurants and two bars. The Byzantino restaurant offers Mediterranean cuisine in a renowned atmosphere. At the Milos restaurant, you can taste gourmet Greek cuisine at its best. Aethrion Lounge is where local celebrities and politicians meet for a coffee and the rooftop Galaxy Bar Restaurant truly is the most glamorous Athenian hangout to start out or end your night, to see or to be seen. Remember; people like to dress up here! Be the VIP you are while enjoying a citywide view. The hotel is just 25 minutes away from the airport by direct subway. It features 22 meeting rooms for 2 to 1300 people, a 24-hour Business Center and an Executive Lounge with Acropolis view. For a spa getaway or some pampering time away from the real world, you can visit the Hiltonia Spa, featuring an indoor pool, a fully equipped fitness room, a Pilates studio with natural light and an endless array of health and beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Athens Hotel Athens
Hilton International Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing