We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Athens Hilton from a Hilton employee's point of view”
Review of Hilton Athens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Athens
Ranked #16 of 285 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Large, spacious hotel with excellent swimming pool facilities.
Rooms large. Missing foot mat near the bed.

Unmatched breakfast, or should I say Brunch (serving till 11:00am). Consistent quality food over the years. And I'm talking from a vegan point of view!! The variety of food is incredible.

Centrally located.

Room Tip: Choose the view on the Acropolis side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mauriziosimran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We really appreciate your positive feedback and your comments on our breakfast/brunch quality and variety. Please accept our apologies for the lack of the bedroom foot mat, this has been addressed to the Head Housekeeper in order to take immediate action.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With Best Regards
Bart van de Winkel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,901)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,035 - 2,041 of 3,901 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2013

We arrived on a hot day in August appearing out of the subway station into hazy fog and scorching sun that can bring anyone to their knees. Our hotel of choice was the Hilton Athens situated in the Kolonaki district.

Location:

The hotel is very central within walking distance to the upscale shops, bars and restaurants of the Kolonaki neighborhood. The Evangelismos metro station is situated across from the hotel allowing for easy access to the major tourist destinations.

Rooms:

The hotel itself is everything you would expect from an upscale hilton. Great, friendly service with top notch facilities. We were generously given an executive suite overlooking the Acropolis from our room and access to the elegant Executive Lounge, with private check-in/out, in addition happy hour drinks and snacks available until late evening.

The bathroom was extremely clean and crisp with white and grey marble lining the counters and walls. Local Greek wine and a basket of fruits were waiting for us on our arrival. A top to bottom window opened up to a balcony overlooking the Acropolis in the distance. In the evening, the view turned magical with the golden lights of the acropolis reflecting from the distance.

Facilities:

In the heat of the summer, guests can also relax by the outdoor pool before freshening up and heading to the penthouse for drinks at the ever so fashionable Galaxy Restaurant and Bar.
Dining:

The rooftop Galaxy Restaurant and Bar at the Hilton Hotel is a must for anyone who is staying at the hotel and all others who are looking for a night out on the town eating haute international cuisine. The indoor-outdoor bar/restaurant is split into two sections: the bar and on one end the restaurant. We opted to dine at the Galaxy Restaurant during our short trip in Athens and were not let down. In fact, it was one of the best meals we had during our trip in Europe. Wining and dining under the Athenian stars with a view to kill, things could not get better. (See Review on Galaxy Restaurant).

The next morning we enjoyed complimentary continental breakfast enjoyed in the large Byzantino restaurant. It was one of the largest breakfasts we had and featured both local greek flavours and international food. Service was as always immaculate and friendly.

Downside: EXPENSIVE internet. In this day and age it does not make sense for a hotel like the Hilton to charge its guests for internet service. It was extremely expensive and just a pain and hassle to get. Hope they change their policy soon.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the Acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tala V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback.

We were all pleased to read your detailed review and learn that you had a truly enjoyable stay here. Your positive comments have been much appreciated and communicated to the team. Your constructive point about the internet cost has been noted.

Do look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

The hotel is located not far from the main sites. You can take the subway from the nearest station to the hotel to anywhere and directly to the airport. The hotel is very clean, the main dining room serves a large and varied selection of dishes. Great breakfast. The most important factor in this polite staff and overall service given by the hotel staff. Lounge staff did everything he could answer all our questions and help us with anything. As a Recurring guest, diamond, of the HHONORS I would like to thank the staff in the lounge and found it commendable. No doubt they made the difference and they are the reason that we will return to the hotel. Yassoo

Room Tip: Take the acropolis view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear Sir/Madame,

We would like to thank you for being our guests and for posting your review.

It is such a great pleasure to note that you had a truly enjoyable stay here. Your comments have been shared with my team, in particular with our lounge colleagues, and have been much appreciated!

Look forward to welcoming you back soon!

With kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Great hotel in good place, 15 min walk from Stadium, and Parliament. Galaxy bar on the top is must visited place - tasty coctails, good music, and awesome view. Room was clean, view was good, welcome fruits&wine were nice surprise :)

Room Tip: Ask the room with the view on Acropolis :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Venka26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for having taken the time to post your comments about your stay here at the Hilton Athens!

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your visit, the service and facilities offered, the convenient location. Your positive feedback has been shared with my team.

Do look forward to welcoming you back in the not distant future!

With kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I have traveled the world widely, but the standard of this hotel is unbeatable in every respect! It can be used to exemplify the word PEFECTION! And to top it all off, the sight of a lit Acropolis right across from my room window was something I will behold for a long time to come. It certainly is worth the extra $$ for such a room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Theo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Sir/Madame,

Many thanks for being our guest and for taking the time to post your feedback.

With pleasure we noted that your expectations were met and we had the opportunity to contribute to a memorable stay! Your positive input has been shared with my team and has been greatly appreciated.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and extend once again the warm hospitality that our guests have come to expect from us over the years.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Nice hotel.
Comfortable, big rooms, but on street side little bit too noisy. Internet was very expensive (when will Hilton start offering free wi-fi in rooms?) . Breakfast choice was excellent (one of the best I ever had).
I would like to stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank efgaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Sir/Madame,

We would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel for your stay and for taking the time to post your valuable input.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your visit and were satisfied with the majority of facilities and services offered.

Do look forward to welcoming you back during your next trip to the city of Athens!

With kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

This is a very nice hotel let down only by the poor quality of service at the reception. Staff ignore you completely until they are ready in their own good time then don't even say 'good evening' - just take your card. On two visits now I have experienced the same behaviour. All the other staff from the polite chap on the door to the restaurant and room service staff are great. Perhaps the receptionists are in the wrong role.

Room Tip: Various rooms facing different streets etc. Depends whether the view is important to you, if so I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theperformanceguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for posting your comments on your stay with us.

I am glad to note that the general impression of your visit was positive. However, concerned on your comment about the attitude of our reception team. First and foremost, please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused to you. Your input has been taken into serious consideration and shared with the respective department heads. Necessary corrective action has been taken in order to prevent similar incidents from recurring.

Do hope we will have more opportunities in future to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 285 in Athens
3,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 285 in Athens
2,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Athens

Address: Vasilissis Sofias 46, Athens 115 28, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Athens
#11 Family Hotel in Athens
#13 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#14 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#20 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $222 - $550 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Athens is not just a hotel. It’s a legacy in Athens. Consider the fact that a whole area is named after the Hilton and you’ll start to understand the immense name this hotel has had the past 48 years. Socialités, fashionistas, local and international celebrities, you see them here!An architectural marvel, the Hilton Athens has been fully renovated in 2003 to be able to cope with the next episode in its ever interesting life. The hotel boasts 506 spacious rooms and some of the best city views available. You can almost touch the Acropolis! Art is abundant and local artists are used throughout the hotel. Hilton Athens has the largest outdoor pool in the city center and features four restaurants and two bars. The Byzantino restaurant offers Mediterranean cuisine in a renowned atmosphere. At the Milos restaurant, you can taste gourmet Greek cuisine at its best. Aethrion Lounge is where local celebrities and politicians meet for a coffee and the rooftop Galaxy Bar Restaurant truly is the most glamorous Athenian hangout to start out or end your night, to see or to be seen. Remember; people like to dress up here! Be the VIP you are while enjoying a citywide view. The hotel is just 25 minutes away from the airport by direct subway. It features 22 meeting rooms for 2 to 1300 people, a 24-hour Business Center and an Executive Lounge with Acropolis view. For a spa getaway or some pampering time away from the real world, you can visit the Hiltonia Spa, featuring an indoor pool, a fully equipped fitness room, a Pilates studio with natural light and an endless array of health and beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Athens Hotel Athens
Hilton International Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing