We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No free WiFi!”
Review of Hilton Athens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hilton Athens
Ranked #20 of 327 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“No free WiFi!”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed there for 4 nights while attended a conference.
Staff went friendly and breakfast was AMAZING with so much to choose from.

Although there was a spa this was at extra cost and so was Wi-Fi which is ridiculous considering how much you pay to stay there.

I had a pool view on the 3rd floor which was great.

Hotel is also close to two metro stations and walking distance to many attractions.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Sir/Madame,

We would like to thank you for being our guest!

It is a delight to learn that the overall stay has been satisfactory and you appreciated the friendliness of our team members, the quality and selection of breakfast served.

Your points about the spa and in-room wifi charge have been noted and taken into consideration.

Look forward to welcoming you back and extend once again the warm hospitality that our guests have come to expect from us over the years.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,753
    1,168
    382
    138
    76
See reviews for
606
1,200
210
1,017
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (658)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Excellent hotel in a good central location. Staff extremely professional and courteous. Excellent restaurant with great view of the Acropolis. Smoking rules in Greece are different to what you may be accustomed to so expect the best views to be reserved for smokers!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Calummurdo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for posting your comments on your stay with us.

We are glad to see that you were satisfied with your visit, in particular with our courteous and professional team members and the excellent service provided.

Look forward to welcoming you back again very soon!

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was my first visit to Greece. I was delighted to stay at The Athens Hilton. I was upgraded as a gold HONORS member to a junior suite and had the use of the executive lounge. I was very grateful for this courtesy. The lounge was an excellebt standard and the views of the Acropolis from the balcony was superb!

The room was one of the best I have ever had. Beautifully appointed and maintained.

I wold have no hesitation to recommend this hotel to anyone.

The proximity to the Metro station was really good for getting around and the train to and from the airport which was really easy to navigate.

Room Tip: A view of the Acropolis is a real bonus and worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickwood50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to share your impressions with us!

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and the overall experience has been to your great satisfaction. Your positive input about all services rendered, the executive lounge amenities and professional attitude of the team as well as the comfort of your room, all this has been brought to the attention of my colleagues and has been truly appreciated.

Do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

The hilton athens is one of those older hotels, built in a time when architecture was in losing the battle to efficiency. The hotel appears dated, and while the cost is reasonable, expect to pay very high prices for anything extra. 15 euro ($20) to use the gym. 8 euro ($11) for a small water in the room. 8eur ($11) delivery fee for any in room dining. 20 euro per day for internet access, with a slow router.

The gym itself is quite nice and the sauna was comfortable. The showers were not that clean, so I didn't use them. The room itself was fine, pretty much standard corporate hotel design, except for an ancient TV.

The location was ok, About a 25 minute walk to major attractions.

Room Tip: ask for one that faces the acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank biztraveler71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for taking the time to write and post your review of our hotel, which is appreciated.

We are sorry to learn that the hotel's amenities and services were not to your satisfaction. All your comments have been noted and reviewed with my team. Thank you for having brought your concerns to our attention.

Do hope we will have another opportunity in future to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I was in Athens last month for a workshop, which was held in Hilton.
The location of the hotel is quite good, just two stops from downtown. The next metro station to the hotel is Evangelismos and if you take Line 3, in minutes you will in Monastraki.
The breakfast was good, the staff was friendly and the service in general was excellent. But for sure the room, I stayed was not a 5* one. It was clean but worn out a lot and needs an urgent renovation. The mini-bar prices and the drinks in the roof bar were one of the most expensive ones among 5* and deluxe hotels, I have stayed worlwide.
I hope, they plan a renovation in near future and correct the mini-bar and drink prices in the roof bar.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Athens on your last month's visit to the city.

We were pleased to note that you were satisfied with the service provided and our team. Your positive input has been communicated to them.

Your points regarding a future renovation of the hotel as well as our mini bar and roof drinks prices have been taken into serious consideration and reviewed with my team. Please be advised that we are in a constant process of upgrading the main key areas of our hotel, including the rooms. As for our bar/drink prices, although our pricing policy is in line with other deluxe hotels of Athens, your concern has been noted, thank you for having brought this to our attention.

We really hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

The room was very nice and clean however the bed was very firm. The room rate was acceptable as we got it on special offer but normal room rates are far too expensive. The Club upgrade was worth it however the light snacks early evening were not much to rave about. A few dips, rolls, little squares of quiche,etc a bit poor for this standard of hotel. Dress code was also a bit too casual at times.

It is a shame as from the 1st November the pool was closed as the weather was really hot and it would have been nice to have a dip. Wifi cost expensive at €20 per day but nothing tops the mini bar prices in the room - Pringles at €13.50, water at €7.50, etc. etc. Why ??

My biggest disappointment were the reception staff in "club" were not over friendly. Hardly a smile and sometimes a bit abrupt. A friendly smile to people who have paid substantial amounts to be there would go a long way. Would I vist again ......... there are other places to try !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrT16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Sir/Madame,

Many thanks for being our guest and for taking the time to post your comments.

Your input has been reviewed with my team, as it was a concern to note that you were not quite satisfied with some specific services provided. Your point about our Club facilities as well as the attitude of our Club team members has been noted. Please be advised that corrective action will be taken.

Once again, thank you for having chosen our hotel for your stay. Look forward to welcoming you back and prove that we can serve you better.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

> Stayed for athens marathon. > Good location for buses / metro > Too many people smoking in hotel bars so it spoils view - therefore you cannot take advantage of it. > I dont expect to pay extra for a pool in the hotel when i'm getting up at 5am to start the race i want it quiet at 10pm, this was not the case you could hear traffic and disco noses. After a long journy to the hotel i dont expect to pay for bottle of water in the room and not 7 euro - either.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank jamesthebruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at the Hilton Athens.

All your comments have been noted and discussed with my team in order to correct any shortcomings, where needed.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. Do hope we will have more opportunities in future to welcome you back.

With kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#16 of 327 in Athens
2,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Electra Metropolis Athens
#11 of 327 in Athens
311 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#9 of 327 in Athens
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Athens

Property: Hilton Athens
Address: 46 Vassilissis Sofias Avenue, Athens 115 28, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Athens
#16 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#18 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#18 Family Hotel in Athens
#25 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Athens is not just a hotel. It’s a legacy in Athens. Consider the fact that a whole area is named after the Hilton and you’ll start to understand the immense name this hotel has had the past 48 years. Socialités, fashionistas, local and international celebrities, you see them here!An architectural marvel, the Hilton Athens has been fully renovated in 2003 to be able to cope with the next episode in its ever interesting life. The hotel boasts 506 spacious rooms and some of the best city views available. You can almost touch the Acropolis! Art is abundant and local artists are used throughout the hotel. Hilton Athens has the largest outdoor pool in the city center and features four restaurants and two bars. The Byzantino restaurant offers Mediterranean cuisine in a renowned atmosphere. At the Milos restaurant, you can taste gourmet Greek cuisine at its best. Aethrion Lounge is where local celebrities and politicians meet for a coffee and the rooftop Galaxy Bar Restaurant truly is the most glamorous Athenian hangout to start out or end your night, to see or to be seen. Remember; people like to dress up here! Be the VIP you are while enjoying a citywide view. The hotel is just 25 minutes away from the airport by direct subway. It features 22 meeting rooms for 2 to 1300 people, a 24-hour Business Center and an Executive Lounge with Acropolis view. For a spa getaway or some pampering time away from the real world, you can visit the Hiltonia Spa, featuring an indoor pool, a fully equipped fitness room, a Pilates studio with natural light and an endless array of health and beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Athens Hotel Athens
Hilton International Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing