We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traveling salesman”
Review of Hilton Athens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Athens
Ranked #20 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Gurnee, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Traveling salesman”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Checked in today. Paid for Executive floor and received nothing extra. Diamond member over ten years and already 60+ nights in 2013. Rooms nice but a little disappointed after reading about all the perks from others. Sharing that my wife and I are celebrating our 25 year anniversary didn't do anything for us. I guess we didn't get the right person to check us in on the executive floor?
The hotel is nice as others have stated. The clerk said she would call me back with Internet code in five minutes, and after a half hour I tracked it down on my own?
Next week is the Waldorf Astoria in Rome. I hope it's a better reception even though I paid cash for the room in Athens. My room in Rome is 350,000 points/ night.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to post your comments.

We are sorry to read that your overall experience has not been satisfactory. All your valuable input has been brought to the attention of my colleagues and relevant department heads in order to show extra care in future and prevent similar incidents from recurring.

Do hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back in future and prove that we can serve you better.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,788
    1,181
    383
    142
    79
See reviews for
621
1,218
212
1,032
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (667)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We were the honeymoon couple so they gave us the acropolis view room with no additional charge.and they also send a bottle of Champagne and a fruit plate. The receptionist was helpful and kind.the room was clean and big enough.the hotel is not in the centrum but very close to the metro station.because it was easter, for 3 day stays there was % 33 discount so it was very cheap for this kind of 5 star hotel.thanks again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orpel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for selecting the Hilton Athens for your honeymoon, and congratulations on your wedding.

It is with great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is very rewarding to receive such positive feedback from our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards
Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed two nights at the Hilton Athens in April 2013. As diamond Hilton members, we received an upgrade to the Executive floor, which included access to the Exec lounge, and free wi-fi. The exec lounge offered a free breakfast (continental + scrambled eggs and sausage), free pastries in the afternoon, and an evening happy hour. Even better, it offered incredible views of the Acropolis.

Our room was located on the far corner of the hotel. It was clean, well-maintained and very quiet. The doors to the balcony appeared to be made of double thick glass, and were very effective in sound-proofing our space. Bathroom had a separate tub and shower, and was very well appointed. Shower was a bit small and did get warm very quickly. TV was also a little small.

Because we were on the Exec floor, we checked in with the team upstairs. The staff was more than happy to help us with any questions, and more than happy to give clear directions and ideas for sight-seeing. They were gracious, and courteous. They also stored our bag for the week we were on a cruise, even though we weren't staying a night on the backend.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would happily recommend this hotel to our friends (even the picky ones).

Room Tip: The exec floor rooms are loaded with perks. Splurge for the rooms with the Acropolis view if you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wmk191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at the Hilton Athens.

It is with great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay, the services and the facilities of the hotel. Your comments on the Executive floor staff are valuable and rewarding and we will certainly share those with the team!

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will visit us again soon!

Best Regards
Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have been stopping at this hotel on and off for 10 years. It had a luxury feel before but now feels a little tired on the room front. Staff are excellent especially the reception and the lady who speaks 5 languages ! My last visit was a disappointment with the outside pool closed and one of the cafe bars also roped off. The roof bar is great for views but why do they charge 10 euros for a bottle of beer ? Its the same in the rooms. It just feels like they are taking the p@ss a bit. Charge me 6 euros and i drink 3. At 10 euros i just go to the bar round the corner.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel and for your loyalty to our property over the last 10 years.

We appreciate your positive comments on our team members' performance, these will be shared with them.

with regards to the outdoor pool being closed, we apologise for the inconvenience, however these are necessary maintenance works that need to take place prior to the season operation. Regarding the bar prices, please note that these are in line with other deluxe properties locally and internationally.

Again we thank you for your comments, these will be brought to the attention of the Management.

We look forward to continue having you as a loyal guest!

Regards
Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Hilton Athens last week. What a fantastic hotel! The room was comfortable, decent size, and had an amazing view of the Acropolis. We were also fortunate to get upgraded the executive floor, which meant we got free breakfast and dinner, which had an excellent selection. The hotel staff all speak excellent English. Wifi required sitting near the door to get a good signal but we weren't in Athens just to surf the internet so it was okay. The hotel is about a 3 minute walk from the metro which is very convenient.

We will definitely stay at the Hilton again if we return to Athens.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honeybee313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on your stay at the Hilton Athens.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our Executive floor facilities exceeding the standards. We will share your comments with the team, as these are valuable and rewarding.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards
Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I stayed at the Hilton Athens in Jan/Feb 2013 for 5 weeks for work. I had a room that was spacious, bright and modern. The staff were helpful. I was on the executive floor and the lounge was of an above average standard compared to similar Hilton's I have stayed. If you have a choice, make a request for a view of the Acropolis, its an amazing view to wake up to. I would definitely stay at the Hilton Athens again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay in our property.

It is with great satisfaction to read that you enjoyed our services and facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Best Regards
Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is a sizeable, clean, well-managed, and well-maintained hotel in Athens. It is also in a good location, on a metro line, and easily accessible by road. The spa was among the bests I have ever seen, and the staff at the lounge was very courteous and helpful. This all came at a very reasonable price for a five start hotel.
What was potentially ruining my stay was the discotheque on the top floor that played loud music even weekdays up until midnight. Luckily I asked and was given another room fare from the noise and then it was fine.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the top floors: there is a discotheque on the top floor that plays loud music even week...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinvives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athbart, Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Sir

thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent experience at the Hilton Athens.

It is pleasing to read that your enjoyed your stay and that the Spa facilities were to your satisfaction. Your comments on the Lounge team members will be shared with them, we thank you for that feedback.

With regards to your experience on the noise from the roof top Galaxy bar, we regret for the inconvenience caused. Your comments are noted and will be discussed with the management team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards
Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 326 in Athens
3,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Electra Metropolis Athens
#11 of 326 in Athens
361 reviews
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Athens

Property: Hilton Athens
Address: 46 Vassilissis Sofias Avenue, Athens 115 28, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Athens
#17 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#18 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#18 Family Hotel in Athens
#25 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Athens is not just a hotel. It’s a legacy in Athens. Consider the fact that a whole area is named after the Hilton and you’ll start to understand the immense name this hotel has had the past 48 years. Socialités, fashionistas, local and international celebrities, you see them here!An architectural marvel, the Hilton Athens has been fully renovated in 2003 to be able to cope with the next episode in its ever interesting life. The hotel boasts 506 spacious rooms and some of the best city views available. You can almost touch the Acropolis! Art is abundant and local artists are used throughout the hotel. Hilton Athens has the largest outdoor pool in the city center and features four restaurants and two bars. The Byzantino restaurant offers Mediterranean cuisine in a renowned atmosphere. At the Milos restaurant, you can taste gourmet Greek cuisine at its best. Aethrion Lounge is where local celebrities and politicians meet for a coffee and the rooftop Galaxy Bar Restaurant truly is the most glamorous Athenian hangout to start out or end your night, to see or to be seen. Remember; people like to dress up here! Be the VIP you are while enjoying a citywide view. The hotel is just 25 minutes away from the airport by direct subway. It features 22 meeting rooms for 2 to 1300 people, a 24-hour Business Center and an Executive Lounge with Acropolis view. For a spa getaway or some pampering time away from the real world, you can visit the Hiltonia Spa, featuring an indoor pool, a fully equipped fitness room, a Pilates studio with natural light and an endless array of health and beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Athens Hotel Athens
Hilton International Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing